Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: For a Few Dollars More
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 17, 2003
For A Few Dollars More is, in my opinion, by far the best of the "Man With No Name" trilogy! In "A Fistful of Dollars," director Sergio Leone bowled the viewers over with Clint Eastwood's character being a gruff gunslinger of few words and lots of action. In this sequel Eastwood's character has a lot more depth and even a little bit of humor. I am highly impressed with the script and acting in this particular film, especially in comparison with its predecessor. One can even consider it funny but useful that a few of the villains from the first film that were quite dead at the end of that one, are back now with new names! Magnificent performances by both Clint Eastwood and Lee Van Cleef serve to enhance this movie's style.
The premise:
This movie has a wonderful beginning as we are introduced to Lee Van Cleef's character while he's in the performance of his role of a bounty killer. We are then treated to the reintroduction of Clint Eastwood's character, which actually does have the name of Monco, while he is taking care of his business as a bounty killer as well. Once the director has shown these two acts, he deftly shows how they end up on the same path as they both find out that they can score it big by killing Gian Maria Volonte's character, Indio and his gang. From there, we're taken to El Paso where the film's intrigue and suspense kick into high gear as both Eastwood and Van Cleef's characters meet.
If you've never seen this movie or its predecessor, I highly suggest you check these movies out as they're basically the mold for many of the westerns that followed. Prior to this movie and "A Fistful of Dollars," westerns were much tamer, which lends to the popularity of these movies which have a lot more grit and realism to them.
Special Features:
Just like "A Fistful of Dollars" this movie is jam packed with hours and hours of special features, documentaries etc... This DVD is all about what it's supposed to be, the movie! It does include a great theatrical trailer and an exceptional 8 page booklet that gives a lot of great information about the movie and the people involved. {ssintrepid}
22 comments|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 15, 2012
There is much discussion elsewhere on this film in terms of plot summary, meaning, and value so I won't get into that. My reviews are strictly regarding the transfer from Standard Definition to Blu Ray. I did not have the Standard Def version so this is not a comparison between the two.

I've given this movie 4 stars because it is a good film....it would be 2 stars based upon the quality of the Blu Ray transfer alone.

When I first put in the DVD I went to 'Set Up' as always. You are given a choice between the original mono mix and the DTS HD 5.1. I went with the DTS tho that might have been an error on my part. It is also the first time I discussed the audio transfer prior to the video. The audio clearly was not given much of a remix. Rather the editors simply would pan to the front left or right depending upon who was providing the dialogue and where they were on the front stage. The audio pans were very obvious as the volume would also jump at the pan for a moment. While the movie score, so famous by now, was decently spread across the front channels, there was literally no use of the LFE channel except for one small moment when they blow up the bank. Otherwise, your sub will be sleeping through the movie. The rear channels were very rarely used. If I am wrong, and they really did remix the audio, it must be the worst case of mixing I have ever heard. On a positive note, the dialogue was, for the most part, clean and clear and the audio levels balanced.

The film starts with a lone horseman being shot off his horse as the opening credits come on. When I first saw this, I thought I was in trouble because there was a ton of grain in the picture as well as banding and wavering in the sky and desert. However, as soon as the credits were completed and the rest of the movie began, the imaging cleared up substantially. While this 1965 film retains some of that old film grain, I did not find it intrusive and I saw no artifacting or aliasing for the rest of the film. That is, until the very final scene where Clint is taking the bodies back to town as the final credits appear. Then the grain grew larger but not as bad as the opening scene.

Since I do not have the Standard Def version I can't make a recommendation that this is better than the Standard Def , but experience tells me that if you have the Standard Def version that this Blu Ray will not be that much of an upgrade.

All my movie reviews are of this nature and focus only on the quality of the transfer to BluRay so check them and see if they are of help as well.
Hopefully, this review has been of some help to you in determining your purchase, hope I am on the correct path with a review of the transfer quality as opposed to providing plot summaries.
Thanks
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2003
Federico Fellini is often credited as "the Greatest Italian Director." For me, however, Sergio Leone earned those laurels. More than deSica or Fellini, Leone's movies were Italian to the core: Grandiose, operatic, melodramatic, full of vendetta and vengeance. The irony is that Leone's most memorable movies took place not in Rome, the Abruzzi mountains or Sicily, but in the Old West.
With his epic "Once Upon a Time in the West" and "The Man With No Name" trilogy, Leone not only resuscitated the Western genre, but set a new standard. His first Western, "A Fistful of Dollars," was basically a retelling of Akira Kurosawa's "Yojimbo"; a Samurai tale transplanted south of the border in old Mexico. With "For a Few Dollars More," Leone really opens up as a screenwriter and director. Gone is the claustrophobic town of "Fistful," replaced by the full sweep of the great American Southwest (for which the drier regions of Spain provide a reasonable facsimile for those of us who know that Tucumcari is hardly so dry and El Paso nary as mountainous).
Leone also begins staking out his territory as director with this one, too. "For a Few Dollars More" bears more traces of Cecil B. deMille than Kurosawa, as Leone starts trending toward an epic production that reaches full fruition in "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly" and "Once Upon A Time in the West." However, Leone's *style* of Western could never be confused with John Ford -- rather, it hearkens back to the more violent moments found in Westerns such as "Winchester '73" (Anthony Mann), "High Noon" (Fred Zinnemann) and "Rio Bravo" (Howard Hawks), and looks forward to the gritty, realistic violence from directors influenced by Leone, such as Sam Peckinpah, Francis Ford Coppola and Martin Scorsese.
"For a Few Dollars More" is a tale of three men, and their respective missions: Indio, played by the great Gian Maria Volonte, is a sadistic, psychotic, killer and bank robber. His performance reminds me of Toshiro Mifune's best roles -- big, tough, and foreboding. Clint Eastwood plays one of the men who try to hunt Indio down, a bounty killer named "Manco," reprising his role from "Fistful" as a mercenary for hire who plays by rules from his own book. But it's Lee Van Cleef as Colonel Douglas Mortimer who really steals the show. If you think Clint's squinty-eyed visage fills men with fear, then you ain't seen Van
Cleef -- his eyes are steely, intelligent, intense; you can tell when Mortimer has somebody's number that he isn't bluffing.
The opening scenes set up the story beautifully: Indio and his gang are planning a big robbery at the Bank of El Paso and both Manco and Mortimer have set out to round up the bad guys. After a couple barroom scenes establishing the bounty killers' credentials as ice-cold killers, Manco and Mortimer pair off in a battle of wits, a showdown during nightfall in the streets of El Paso.
After proving to each other what deadly accurate shots they are, Mortimer proposes they team up to go after Indio and his gang, backed up by the realistic observation: "When two hunters go after the same prey, they usually wind up shooting each other in the back."
So working "one on the inside" (Clint) and "one on the outside" (Van Cleef), the two manouever Indio and his gang after they dynamite the bank and steal the safe. The scenes on the streets of Agua Caliente (Spanish for "Hot Water," which Manco and Mortimer will soon be in) are eerily silent. Indio' gang has free rein in the town, the hoofbeats of their horses a harbinger to windows slamming shut on the whitewashed adobe houses.
Though Clint plays a wise guy, over the course of the movie he discovers wisdom beyond his own years in the person of Mortimer. Clint may be cool, but never as cool-headed as Van Cleef, who sees through all of Clint's ruses and double-crosses. Van Cleef rides them out, cutting Clint way too much slack it seems. But by the final scene, a showdown between Mortimer and Indio, all the patience and faith Mortimer has invested in Manco pay off. For the showdown is rigged entirely in Indio's favour, but -- having learned a thing or two at the feet of a real man of integrity -- Manco shows up to make the playing field even for Mortimer. It's a beautiful scene, to see that Manco has dropped his cynical pose and accepted Col. Mortimer as a father figure.
The quintessential Leone Western (I won't degrade it by calling it a "Spaghetti Western"), "For a Few Dollars More" is filmed and cut a lot tighter than "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly," though it still comes out over two hours long. Ennio Morricone's soundtrack really melds seamlessly with the action onscreen. Morricone was to Leone as the great composer Bernard Herrmann was to Alfred Hitchcock: Leone's movies were only 60 per cent complete before Morricone laid down tracks just as pungent and larger-than-life as the story and actors on the screen. Today's composers, who are so busy trying to write "understated" scores for today's boring fare, could learn a thing or two from the beautifully bombastic Morricone.
The DVD widescreen presentation is much better than the fullscreen VHS. However, the colours are pretty washed out. I understand that MGM/UA has restored "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly"; I hope "For a Few Dollars More" is slated as well for restoration or preservation.
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 1999
A great presentation,lovely quality,well packaged.But why didnt they use a uncut trasfer?The scene where Eastwood and Lee-Van-Cleef,are beaten up.Is not complete.Check out the Laser disc version.Perhaps if enough people complain,they can rectify this.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
This is one of the best of the series.The introduction of Lee VanCleef the best bad guy ever.The combination of Clint Eastwood and Lee Van Cleef is phenomenal and one never to forget.I watched it with my son 15 and although it's an old movie he said it was awesome lots of action.I wanted him to watch this to learn what real cool is now he knows.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2000
Yes - I know it's dubbed, etc. But something bad has happened to this film's transfer to DVD. The speech is so far out of synchronisation from the video that it is almost unwatchable. I have a VHS version of this film and the problem does not exist there. I also have DVDs of 'Fistful of Dollars' & 'Good, Bad & The Ugly', they don't suffer from the same problem. Can MGM (or somebody) get this sorted out?
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 9, 2011
"The man with no name" returns in this sequel to A Fistful of dollars in which he forms an uneasy alliance with another bounty hunter to kill the head of an outlaw gang while they hatch a scheme to rob the most heavily guarded bank in the territory. For A Few Dollars More is not considered the best of the series by many, but I personally prefer it to the (damn good) original at least. It feels far more like a true Leone film, is better paced and boasts not one but three commanding presences in the form of Clint, Lee Van Cleef's steely eyed and clinical assassin, and Gian Maria Volonte's sinister bandit. The interplay between the three is fantastic and there are many classic Leone moments including his trademark framing of weathered, characterful faces against epic landscapes. There is more depth to the story as the heist and undercover elements involve layers of deceit and betrayal leading to an extremely atmospheric finale. Add to that Ennio Morricone's score which is once again wonderfully memorable and you have all the ingredients for an all time classic western.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2014
For a full description of the plot, etc., read other reviews. Just some quick thoughts on this second installment of the Man With No Name trilogy...

In my opinion, For A Few Dollars More (1965) is the better of the first two movies of the Man With No Name trilogy (the first movie was A Fistful Of Dollars (1964)). Actually, I like it quite a bit better. This spaghetti western is once again directed by Sergio Leone. The music is excellent, even better than the music in the first movie. I find that the musical scores in these spaghetti westerns really add to the movies in a positive way and give these movies their own distinct identity and feel. I think a regular, run-of-the-mill score would bring these movies down a notch. The acting is good throughout For A Few Dollars More and the action and suspense is plentiful throughout as well. This is one of the trailblazing movies that set the tone for future Clint Eastwood westerns.

I highly recommend it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
Every great movie needs an excellent bad guy and this man is great! Certainly violent, and a rape and suicide, but nothing graphic. Eastwood should have done only westerns for his Dirty Harry years were a total waste. Not as epic as Good, Bad, Ugly and certainly better than Fistful of Dollars, this is very well done. Transfer to HD is good; not the best ever, but still good.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2016
The second of the 'Man With No Name' movies, although he actually had a name in all of them, it was only mentioned once or twice in each film. I was impressed by the quality of the color in this BD it looks great and doesn't seem to be as saturated as the original film. You can see the graininess of the original as well. If you have seen the original in the theater you will know that this is part of the film and not a bad digital transfer. But I saw a lot more of what I didn't realize was backscreening, although I think some are just artifacts of the digitlal transfer. The movie itself is great with Klaus Kinski and Lee Van Cleef giving stand out performances. And of course another of Ennio Morricone's haunting soundtracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse