Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for pre teen girls
I bought this book for my 10 year old daughter, and she LOVES it, it gives tons of Info, on all things girl, from Makeup to sports, career moves, and passing notes in school, I bought it for her in December, and she has not given it up, she is always going back to it. This book actually sparks dinner time conversation, It was a great way to find a little extra to bond...
Published on March 28, 2009 by S. A. Behm

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could be better.
Here's what I think: This could be so much better than it is! Compare it to the boys version. The boys version is so cool and adventurous. This book is telling girls that what they really want to do is paint toenails and have slumber parties. Why? Girls can wrestle alligators and find buried treasure...I feel like this book is reinforcing stereotypes and encouraging girls...
Published on November 27, 2011 by Mark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for pre teen girls, March 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 10 year old daughter, and she LOVES it, it gives tons of Info, on all things girl, from Makeup to sports, career moves, and passing notes in school, I bought it for her in December, and she has not given it up, she is always going back to it. This book actually sparks dinner time conversation, It was a great way to find a little extra to bond with her through this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girls only . . . is gr8!, July 18, 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl (Hardcover)
I got this book a few weeks ago. I loved it!I really enjoy the laura dower books. When I was nine and ten, I read the Madison Finn series. I loved the authors creative test and her style of writing. I was phsyched when I heard she was writing this book.

ABOUT THE BOOK

This book is informative, but at the same time, fun!
I am always surprised at whats on the next page.I never get tired of reading it.
It has really cool ideas, too.
The "How-to`s" are one of my favorites.
Learn how to paint toenails, read about women in sports, or start your first career. This book will satisfy any girl from the tomboy to the girly girl.

SOME FRIENDLY ADVICE
Okay, so your convinced into getting the book. When you get it, don`t sit down and read the thing IN ORDER from cover to cover! Save a little for each night. Look forward to it. Pick a number between one and 300 and start reading. Most of all, MAKE IT FUN.

HERE`S TO YOU, LAURA DOWER

Thanks for writing this great book for girls. We all appreciate it, that`s for sure. It`s witty, interesting, and just plain amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could be better., November 27, 2011
This review is from: For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl (Hardcover)
Here's what I think: This could be so much better than it is! Compare it to the boys version. The boys version is so cool and adventurous. This book is telling girls that what they really want to do is paint toenails and have slumber parties. Why? Girls can wrestle alligators and find buried treasure...I feel like this book is reinforcing stereotypes and encouraging girls to be sedentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different and interesting, August 23, 2009
By 
Reading On "JAS" (Egg harbor Twp, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl (Hardcover)
I bought this for my 12-yr-old granddaughter who is an advid reader. She found the book interesting and involved her whole family in one of the activities mentioned in the book. It was a good choice for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for my 11 yr old niece for Christmas...she LOVES it, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl (Hardcover)
The book touches on such a wide variety of topics, it's hard for someone not to find something of interest! My niece has not put this book down since she opened it ( a couple of days early). From the game suggestions, to the great women of history, she is learning something new each day. I highly recommend this for ANY pre-teen to tween!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, January 15, 2013
By 
JM (Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl (Hardcover)
My daughter was probably turned off by the sloppy table of contents. But then she looked in it again and she couldn't put it down. She even shared some of it with her 6th grade classmates!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, February 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl (Hardcover)
This is one of those books you have around for years. Buy it when she is 9 or 10 and she'll go back to it for years. It has a lot of fun "slumber party" type activities and ideas in it. How to.. type info. Great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book is a hit!, May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl (Hardcover)
This book is wonderful. I purchased it for my classroom and it is a hit. My students can't wait to get their hands on it to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and insightful, November 16, 2013
By 
A. Chavez "crazyread" (chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 9 year old daughter and she really loves it, its an easy read that girls can enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good find, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl (Hardcover)
My daughter keeps it by her bed. she reads it daily. She loves showing me stuf that is in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl
For Girls Only: Everything Great About Being a Girl by Laura Dower (Hardcover - June 24, 2008)
$15.99 $12.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.