Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Format: DVDChange
Price:$8.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2013
Few movies have inspired me to live a better life. Few others have made me meditate and reflect in what I believe. And very few others aim to entertain without taking focus off the story.

I applaud the producers, actors, director and everyone involved in this project. Beautifully made! Bravo!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
This movie got panned by some (?) critics. Wife and I watched this and loved it. It is a part of Mexico's history I had heard about many many years ago in high school. I heard about the brutality of their government but never knew, or understood, the details. Its all there. We think its a must see.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2015
"For Greater Glory" is an excellent movie about the little known Cristero Rebellion (1926-1929) It's surprisingly subdued, considering that the director Dean Wright did the special effects for The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King Extended Editions) [Blu-ray] and that the composer, the late James Horner (1953-2015) did over the top soundtracks for Titanic and Avatar [HD]. "For Greater Glory" could've easily degenerated into melodrama, with the Catholics as cardboard saints and the federales as comic book villains. Andy Garcia's character, Gen. Enrique Gorosetia, is nuanced; he wants his daughters confirmed; he's conflicted about his faith, but he wants people to be free to practice theirs. There are the "Catorce" (the 14) who are vengeful and bloodthirsty, to the point they have no problems with hanging federal troops in churches; they respond to blasphemy with blasphemy of their own. We briefly see the St. Joan of Arc brigades who aided the Cristero soldiers. We see the heroism of the Cristeros, especially embodied in the martyrdom of the boy Jose. Enrique (Garcia) befriends a priest who's conflicted between his faith and serving on the battlefield. There are genuine character arcs and conflicts.

This movie has been compared to Lawrence Of Arabia [HD]. After all, it has Lawrence himself as the Irish Fr. Christopher. O'Toole is superb in his brief role. Eva Longoria (Desperate Housewives - The Complete First Season) and Ruben Blades (The Counselor) are great in their small roles as Gen. Enrique's wife and Mexican president Plutarco Calles. The movie has an important, powerful message about freedom- be it of conscience, religion, and worship- and delivers it well. It's a counterpoint to "Frida" with Salma Hayek&Alfred Molina- Frida Kahlo&Diego Rivera considered themselves atheist/agnostic socialists. "For Greater Glory" illuminates a still hidden aspect of Mexican history.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2012
The Bible teaches us that we must be willing to sacrifice all we have for the greater glory of God. Jesus taught this meant that we should be willing to give up all our worldly possessions and if someone should strike you, it is better to turn the other cheek, but the Catholic Church has taught us that armed struggle is allowable as a last resort in the case of prolonged tyranny. At the end of the Mexican Revolution of 1910, the Mexican Government attempted to silence the opposition of the Catholic Church by confiscating their property and exiling all priests from Mexico. The people and the Catholic Church answered with the Cristero Rebellion, For Greater Glory is a very well made movie that explores the Cristero Rebellion in Mexico between 1926 and 1929. The Rebellion is a little known chapter in Mexican history and is even lesser known in the United States. A growing Latino and Catholic population makes Greater Glory a timely and important movie. The photography and the story line of For Greater Glory are excellent. The movie concentrates on the causes and history of the rebellion and the actions of General Gorostieta who was hired by the Catholic Church to lead the rebellion. The question of weather a true Christian should fight the government with non-violence or with an armed rebellion is brought up throughout the movie. This theme is also explored in two other well made movies, Padre Pro and There Be Dragons (both excellent movies worth comparing to Greater Glory).
In the movie the principal cause of the Rebellion is a socialist Mexican government that wants to end the dominance of the Catholic Church in Mexican culture and customs. The socialist government, in the form of President Calles (brilliantly played by Rubin Blades), sees the Church as reactionary and holding back the growth and modernization of Mexico. He wants to destroy the Mexican Church by force; the physical destruction of Churches, the expulsion of foreign priests, and the torture and execution of anyone who refuses to stop their religious practices (public or private). Greater Glory mostly follows the General of the armed rebellion (played by Andy Garcia). The movie ends with the Mexican government and the Roman Catholic bishops reaching an agreement to stop funding the rebellion in exchange for a non enforcement of the Calles laws forbidding the public practice of religion.
The Cristero Rebellion is a complex subject, in order to understand the Rebellion and the movie For Greater Glory one needs to understand the history of the Catholic Church in Mexico. Most of us know that the church worked hand in hand with the conquistadors who vanquished the native Mexican population in the 16th and 17th centuries and replaced their culture and religion with their own European culture and religion. In exchange for their support and legitimacy the Church was given large tracts of land and the local control of civic affairs in villages and small towns. The Church in Mexico realized that to win over the Native population they had to encompass many of the Mexican customs into the Catholic Church. This included the Church acting as a protector of the Natives and their property rights. A few clerical leaders interpreted this to mean that they had a duty to put the welfare of the Native Americans over that of the European Church leaders, a form of Liberation Theology. The first revolution against Spanish Rule in 1810 was led by local Mexican priests (Father Hidalgo and others) and liberals but condemned by the Roman Catholic Bishops; their opposition was due to the fact that the revolution's goals included the redistribution of foreign owned lands to include Church property, and removing the Church from education and other civil functions. This explains why the Church opposed the Revolution of 1910 and supported the Cristero Rebellion in 1926. The Cristeros were successful at first due to the support of the Catholic Church with arms, ammunition, and money. Once the government saw that they could not defeat the Church and the Cristeros, they then began to negotiate a peace with the Bishops allowing the Catholic Church to continue their spiritual work by not enforcing the laws against religion; in exchange Bishops withdrew their support of the Cristeros. The Mexican Catholic Church fell in line with the dictates of the Vatican, but some local priests continue the struggle to help the poor with their material needs as well as their spiritual needs.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
This movie uncovers a piece of history that has been hidden for nearly a century. It is incredibly powerful. I watched it three times then did some research on the event finding that the movie clearly stuck to facts. It was impeccably done. Excellent, excellent movie. Everyone needs to see it.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2012
This film gives a short account of the Mexican war on Catholics. It can feel a bit disconnected the first time but the story comes together for a finale which brought us to tears. What makes it all the more remarkable is that every character in the movie was a real person in history.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2013
I loved the movie in the theater so had to have it on DVD. I loved the message of fighting for religious freedom and see how parallel it can be to today. Sad to say. It's also incredible to think that these things really happened, as this is based on a true story.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2013
This movie demonstrates the need to constantly defend our God given right to believe in Him and to protect
the most basic need of humanity. Unless one is able to believe and ACT/LIVE according to God's will society
will not thrive. An absolute must see.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
If you are at all concerned about the loss of religious freedom, or want to know more about the plight of Mexicans in times past, this movie lays it all out for you. Unforgettable and frightening. Wonderful actors, and accurate historical depiction. Five stars!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2012
THE MOVIE WAS GREAT. A PART OF OUR FAMILY'S PAST HISTORY. MY GRAND PARENTS CAME TO THE U.S. FROM SPAIN THROUGH MEXICO AND ACTUALLY EXPERIENCED LIVING THROUGH THIS PERIOD IN MEXICO'S HISTORY. MOVIE WAS PRETTY CLOSE TO THE STORIES MY GRAND PARENTS TOLD US.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.