Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from www.firrkids.com, November 19, 2009
This review is from: For Just One Day (Hardcover)
Some of my favorite books are those that plant an idea into the mind of a child and really get the imagination racing. I love to see the wheels turning and hear the wild thoughts that burst forth. After reading this, every child will come up with half a dozen animals they would like to be transformed into!

The entire book is built on a simple premise with great execution. Just one question with nine unique responses: If you could be an animal for just one day, what would you be and why? The answers are produced in both beautiful and comical illustrations.

The little boy telling the story has one heck of an imagination. If he could swim the Nile, he would be be a creeping crocodile. But not just any croc, you know. This one wears a tiny red hat and has the sharpest, snapping smile.

Many of the animals pictured have taken on some of the human characteristics or appearances. The rabbit hops along in a striped shirt and green overalls, while the porcupine lazes back, writing in her journal. The illustrations are bright and clever, and altogether very enjoyable.

The only question remaining after reading this book is - what will your kids come up with? In addition to the animals mentioned here, ours wanted to be a gorilla, a one-humped camel and a slow-moving turtle. The very last page includes a little surprise - a shiny mirror that reflects back the most special someone in the whole world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Classic, November 24, 2009
This review is from: For Just One Day (Hardcover)
A sweet, empowering story of imagination and self-esteem. And best of all - the fantastic artwork of Marc Boutavant. A classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for group sharing, March 8, 2010
This review is from: For Just One Day (Hardcover)
This book is perfect for story time. A group of children take turns imagining what animals they would be for just one day. The rhyming is great and gives a good opportunity for group participation because of it's predictability. Each page ends in an ellipse and you have to turn the page to discover what that child wants to be. It doesn't take long for the group to catch on to the pattern and the rhymes are easy enough that you are sure to get some right answers among older preschoolers. The message is well delivered without being preachy. It's great to pretend, but the best thing to be is yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have! Great story with beautiful artwork!, July 10, 2014
By 
Ben G. (Sunnyvale, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: For Just One Day (Hardcover)
This book is an instant classic. The story is fun, with an uplifting message, and is told with a wonderful cadence that is perfect for reading aloud. And the artwork by Marc Boutavant is gorgeous. I've read this book hundreds of times with my daughter and am not sick of it yet (the highest compliment I can give to a children's book). We even bought a stack of extra copies to give as shower gifts! It really is wonderful -- get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy to have this one!, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Just One Day (Hardcover)
I saw this in a book store but I knew I could get a better price on Amazon. Its so imaginative and beautifully done. Perfect for young kids. Would you be a rattle snake? A bear? A porcupine? I absolutely love the illustrations- my key factor in choosing a book, but I like everything about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Just One Day (Hardcover)
Kids will love this wonderful, positive story that is beautifully illustrated. Great for teaching that every child is special and unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Just One Day, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Just One Day (Hardcover)
Great illustrations by Marc Boutavant and a lovely yet simple story. Service was fast and good. The book arrived safely with two others. My child likes to look at this book over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift!, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Just One Day (Hardcover)
Great Book. We have been reading it to my son since he was born. He loves the illustrations and the message in the book is a great one for all children to hear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great modern art and fabulous for reading to kids, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Just One Day (Hardcover)
Excellent book for babies and children alike. A fun read for the young modern parent, great rhythm, pacing, and modern art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The cutest book ever!, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Just One Day (Hardcover)
I got this book from the library for my son and it is hands down the cutest book I have ever seen - I had to buy it right away!
Marc Boutavant's illustrations are amazing - and the writing is perfect. My son is 4 and he loves it. We've read it so often he's memorized the words on each page - and he loves to read it with me. The kids on each page of the book each imagine they are a different type of animal - so cute and fun. I highly recommend this book - it's adorable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

For Just One Day
For Just One Day by Laura Leuck (Hardcover - August 19, 2009)
$16.99 $12.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.