Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie.
Great movie! Whoever designed the sets must have been some sort of sexy genius. Must own for anyone who loves movies.
Published 14 months ago by mitchewix

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ONE WRONG TURN AND YOU CAN CRASH
Izak (Yehuda Levi) and Yuni (Joshua Biton) are young cousins in Israel with big plans. Yuni has a brother Levi, who robs banks. Izak's family owns a bar that allows illegal gambling in the back room with unsavory characters. When their lives are threaten in Israel,by a hothead named Tommy (Edward Furlong), they head to the LA to live the American dream. While in America,...
Published on June 24, 2012 by The Movie Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ONE WRONG TURN AND YOU CAN CRASH, June 24, 2012
This review is from: For the Love of Money (DVD)
Izak (Yehuda Levi) and Yuni (Joshua Biton) are young cousins in Israel with big plans. Yuni has a brother Levi, who robs banks. Izak's family owns a bar that allows illegal gambling in the back room with unsavory characters. When their lives are threaten in Israel,by a hothead named Tommy (Edward Furlong), they head to the LA to live the American dream. While in America, they manage to step on the toes of a drug czar, Mickey (James Caan) while fixing his car. When Levi gets out of prison and rejoins the family, his criminal ways haven't ended.

The film is based on a true story, and during the final credit run they show us actual photos of the characters with spellings such as "Izak" as opposed to the traditional "Isaac." I found that the story bordered on being exciting, but lacked the Hollywood glitz and drama style to put it into that thriller category.

The movie holds your interest, but just when you think it will grab you, it lets go. My biggest complaint is the cliche title. This is the best they could come up with? This is a 2 star film. I added a star for the soundtrack and their attempt to match the music with the era, although they played late 60's music for the 1970s because face it, the music was better.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, nudity (Leilani Sarelle) no sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I expected a little more bang, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It wasn't what I expected. I would love to see a good Jewish Gangster Flick but haven't found one yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie., December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Money (DVD)
Great movie! Whoever designed the sets must have been some sort of sexy genius. Must own for anyone who loves movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars For the love of the money, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Money (DVD)
I guess it was ok, but not as exciting s it sounded. If you have not seen it, haven't lost anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good story line, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Exciting thriller with a lot of action. Not too gory but has a good ending. Would rent it again for the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad movie but a little slow in some parts. Tried to hard to put an organized crime aspect in. I say B-, July 1, 2012
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: For the Love of Money (DVD)
"A wise man once said the love of money is the root of all evil." Izek (Longo) is a young boy growing up in Tel Aviv. He is introduced to a life of organized crime at a very young age and has grown accustomed to it. After a member of his family becomes to involved in the world the family decides to movie to Los Angeles. Izek, looking to leave the world behind begins his new life and a quest to live American dream. I have to admit that if a movie is about organized crime in anyway I will watch it. When they are done right they are great, but the problem is that too many try to be "Goodfellas" and end up falling flat. While this movie isn't terrible it is also nothing amazing either. I think the biggest problem I had with this is that it didn't know what it wanted to be. Even though it is a true story it seemed like it was trying to hard to have the organized crime aspect (even having James Caan in it) but it didn't really fit in with the rest of the movie. I don't know how to explain what I mean but watch it and you will see. This is not a bad movie but it tended to drag a little and I was starting to lose interest in some parts. Overall, not bad but also a pretty flat movie that had more potential. I give it a B-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All around good movie, September 19, 2012
This review is from: For the Love of Money (DVD)
Great movie/cast amazing that this was a true story.

Highly Recommend, had a great movie night with all the family and friends.

"Sometimes doing the right thing can land you in a whole pile of trouble"

Great quotes from the movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars For the love of money, October 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was way over rated. The idea was fun and a few of the characters were ok but overall wait for Netflix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You don't expect any fast paced action from an old, September 15, 2012
By 
roaeja "Hey you!" (Nowhere, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Cain. He throws water on a naked woman? Because she is showing
it all.....I thought his acting was what you would expect, good and
realistic. He need to take anger control management. To bad he
wasn't up to more acting. Getting to old and looks like he has a bad
back. He is a fighter, that is for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

For the Love of Money
For the Love of Money by Ellie Kanner-Zuckerman (DVD - 2012)
$19.98 $12.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.