Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Forbidden Dance is Lambada
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 9, 2004
The Forbidden Dance is a fun movie; badly acted, horribly directed and cheesy, yet strangely engrossing and loveable. It tries to be serious, but fails for the most part because everything about it is so dated. Yet, it is energetic and lively, with upbeat songs and very HOT dancing. You'll ultimately find yourself addicted, without knowing why. Fans of Laura Harring (Mulholland Dr.) should definitely seek this out to see her in an early role. It is much better than the similar Lambada, released in theaters on the same DAY in 1990!!! As fun trivia, Lambada producers sued successfully to have the word "lambada" removed from "The Forbidden Dance"'s official title, though only "The Forbidden Dance" uses the song "Lambada" which launched the short-lived dance craze. The title is now used for the DVD release.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2004
I love this movie. I seen it when it first came out in 90 and fell in love with it. So I bought it. The music itself will make you get outta your seat and start dancing right then and there.

But the Lambada dance itself is enticing and will have you craving for a dancing partner at the very moment.

I give it 4 stars, also it sends out the cheezy cliche message about "if you want something bad enough, go and get it"
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2004
I LOVE this movie. The songs are so sultry. The dancing is so full of passion. When you watch this it puts you in THE MOOD-for real. If you want to jumpstart your relationship, watch this movie!! The music makes you want to dance which in my case led to more.. Does anyone know how to get this soundtrack???
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2005
When I think of this movie I think of Excitement! I have a great passion for dance, all types but when I first saw this movie I had to be about 12 years old,(I'm 21 now)and then I knew it would be my favorite for a while. Sure Save the last dance, Dance with me, and Dirty Dancing will all be classics to mine, but this movie is different, Nisa was so passionate when she danced, and Jason had the same passion, and when they danced together they released a sense of warmth. I really love this movie, for any young couples who love to dance watch it at night by the fire place, and appreciate a good dance movie!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2000
Many small-minded film reviewers have dismissed this as a simple dance movie. Wrong, wrong, wrong. In fact, the Lambada, as used our protagonist, the Princess, is an inverse metaphor for Brazil and, indeed, the struggles of the Third World.
Whereas Brazil has brought economic stability, and the favor of the IMF, through unpopular interest rates, the Princess finds ecological stability, and the approval of seedy Los Angeles dancers, through the Lambada. The finale alone -- featuring corporate executives, DJs, Amazon Indians, drug dealers, Anglos, the Los Angeles/Brooklyn Dodgers, members of Poison and their entourage and Princess -- proves to be the most compelling symbolism in American cinema, post-1975.
Yet unweaving this richly textured quilt brings more colors. Princess' love affair with Boy, and seconded by the Boy's Crazy Aunt's equally romantic entanglement with the Amazon's Chief, proves a prescient warning about the dangers of IMF/World Bank power -- and provides a possible blueprint for repair. Although Boy/Princess, as two consenual adults, find true happiness radiating from the mutual pelvic thrusts of the Lambada, Amazon Chief/Crazy Aunt's relationship, marked mostly by misunderstanding and lamp-breaking, ends sadly and without resolution. The message is clear. Greydon Clark (director of the equally sublime "Angels' Revenge") was, truly, raging against the machine, years before these questions were first raised.
The climax of the movie comes in a breathtakingingly choreographed Marxist critique, with the Princess (losing her Brazilian accent, which, I believe, shows the truly transformative power of political awareness and this exotic dance) declares that "The killing of the trees must be stopped." The rising, nearly-proletarian rage of the assembled Martika lovers shows that we, too, may be called to rise against the powers that be.
Unfairly maligned by corporate media, THE FORBIDDEN DANCE is a haunting, thoroughly political drama of scantily clad women with big hair, on par with "Seven Days in May." The battle cry of the next century will not be "Workers of the World, unite," but "Lambada, hey."
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 1999
I Loved the movie, the dancing alone was beyond words. I bought the soundtrack and had lost it and have been trying ever since to find it again. With no luck i might add. Please if anyone knows how to get it again, please let me know!
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
While the acting may be a little cheesy, I think the music is great and really I bought the movie for the music and dancing. I saw this on TV a few years ago and was excited to stumble across it while searching Amazon for another movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2015
One of those cheesy fun movies that you somehow still enjoy in spite of the obvious cheap low budget style and story, what else can be said accept sit back grab the popcorn don't take it too seriously watch have fun lol not worth too much thought just silly fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2006
A real GOOD feel and entertaining movie that has everything in it. Mind you the acting isn't all that great but the music and dancing sure does make up for it. You get to see how the "Lambada" should actually be danced.....no wonder they call it the forbidden dance!

Get a copy of the movie and check it out yourself. You will not be disappointed. I had the VHS version which was getting worn out and was keeping my fingers crossed waiting for DVD version to be released.....WoW and it has been.....so do what I did...just BUY it. AAA for value!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2013
Back story is great: the Princess Nisa (Laura Harring) attempts to save her people's habitat in the Brazilian jungle by heading to L.A. to stop the dreaded PETRAMCO, a nefarious American company cutting down the forest trees. Yet her only talent seems to be her ability to dance the Lambada like there's no tomorrow. But forgetting about the decent dance songs and so-so dancing, with its sub-plots the movie degenerates from there. She hooks up initially "dance-wise" with the son of her employer (yes, Princess Nisa has to take a job) then after a falling out with Jason (Jeff James) ends up at some dance hall/brothel to continue to earn cash to live (shades of Sweet Charity). But when they equate her lambada dancing for money as though she is actually committing acts of prostitution, it's just plain silly. Sillier still is how the protagonist Jeff James so easily makes up with his so-called friends when they've supposedly done him wrong by dancing with Nisa (and I mean dancing), one ex-friend-friend commenting "that wasn't me that was my evil twin". Worst than that, every one seems to want her, even the head of PETRAMCO and how anyone would believe that the two love birds appearing on a TV program hosted by Kid Creole and the Coconuts would stop the dreaded PETRAMCO continuing to destroy the Rain Forest is beyond ridiculous. There are more sub-plots: Jason's ex plotting against him with PETRAMCO, a shaman who is supposedly there to protect Nisa, Nisa later being kidnapped just before the big dance off and just before it Jason injuring his ankle which is miraculously healed by the Shaman. What hooey, but if you like the occasional B-movie it's a hoot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.