Qty:1
  • List Price: $18.00
  • Save: $1.80 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Force of Spirit has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Good condition! Slight wear on cover; otherwise item is in good condition. Name on first page/inside cover.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Force of Spirit Paperback – September 18, 2001


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$16.20
$8.76 $1.45

Frequently Bought Together

The Force of Spirit + The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition
Price for both: $23.13

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Beacon Press (September 18, 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0807062979
  • ISBN-13: 978-0807062975
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.6 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #493,684 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Sanders's voice is honest and witty and rich with the joy of storytelling; he confronts gently, but with determination, many of the dilemmas of our time and the enigmatic nature of our worlds. The Force of Spirit urges the reader to sit back, to enjoy the pleasure of reading, then to consider and reconsider carefully. -Pattiann Rogers, author of Eating Bread and Honey

"In the tradition of Montaigne, Thoreau, Wendell Berry, and Annie Dillard, Sanders has established himself as one of the few masters of the personal essay." -Tom Montgomery-Fate, The Boston Globe

"Sanders is the writer I turn to when I feel the need to slow down, pay attention, ponder the blessings of life and acknowledge them with due respect, apprehension, joy. His newest gathering of essays . . . only enhances my admiration for his values, vision, and eloquence." -Jim Mustick, A Common Reader

"One of America's finest essayists. Sanders writes with a rare grace and sensitivity, befriending the reader by being so human himself." —Phillip Lopate

"Sanders's voice is honest and witty and rich with the joy of storytelling; he confronts gently, but with determination, many of the dilemmas of our time and the enigmatic nature of our worlds. The Force of Spirit urges the reader to sit back, to enjoy the pleasure of reading, then to consider and reconsider carefully." —Pattiann Rogers, author of Eating Bread and Honey

"In the tradition of Montaigne, Thoreau, Wendell Berry, and Annie Dillard, Sanders has established himself as one of the few masters of the personal essay." —Tom Montgomery-Fate, The Boston Globe

"Sanders is the writer I turn to when I feel the need to slow down, pay attention, ponder the blessings of life and acknowledge them with due respect, apprehension, joy. His newest gathering of essays . . . only enhances my admiration for his values, vision, and eloquence." —Jim Mustick, A Common Reader

About the Author

For his personal nonfiction, Scott Russell Sanders has won the Lannan Literary Award and the Great Lakes Book Award. His books include "The Paradise of Bombs," "Secrets of the Universe," and "Staying Put." He lives in Bloomington, Indiana.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Cynthia on July 8, 2006
Format: Paperback
Scott Russell Sanders speaks to and through all of us with his poignant collection of universal experiences. His voice contains an authentic and quiet dignity that is increasingly difficult to hear in the cacophony of modern life.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Cal Emery on September 11, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
"Sanders is the writer I turn to when I feel the need to slow down, pay attention, ponder the blessings of life..." I've lifted that from the dust jacket because I can't say it any better.

The Force of Spirit is a collection of essays on the existence of, and belief in, a spiritual center to life. Through personal anecdotes and musings Sanders approaches the topic from a dozen directions, gradually making a case for his own belief but never dictating yours.

I'm far from a fan of precious memoirs (see my review of Marley and Me), and I don't share Sanders' belief in any sort of true universal spirit. But there are iconic experiences, and maybe primordial instincts, that can guide us away from life's frantic effemera toward a sense of calm, perhaps even centeredness, which seems to be its own reward. Sanders gently walks a path around and through some of the places and experiences in his life that have brought him a kind of peace and perhaps understanding, and I find that his observations quietly encourage me to value similar essentials in my own life.

You don't have to believe in God to understand that a solitary meander beside a woodland stream can do you a world of good. This book is a subtle and eloquent reminder "to slow down, pay attention, ponder the blessings of life."
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?