Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Doc Ford Country
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 25, 2014
I loved Doc Ford country as it was a great insight into all of the adventures.... ANYTHING Randy Wayne White writes is such an awesome adventure. His Doc Ford character and all of the other regulars in his books just makes you feel as though you are living in their adventures in their world and always guarantees a nice escape from your every day hum drum .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
Loved the inside look at other cultures, and the humorous way it is presented, even in the dangerous situations. For those who like to travel, and probably never will, this is a great read. Thanks for the "ride".
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
Randy Wayne White's non-fiction travel essays are simply wonderful. He provides detailed and accurate descriptions of parts of the world I have visited. He makes me want to visit many new places. He keeps me entertained with his hilarious, self-deprecating humor.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2016
If you like RWWs descriptive passages, but are a little put off by the violence of the later Doc Ford novels, this is the book for you. These are the stories of his trips on his own to interesting places around the world. He goes usually with the intention of fishing, but is easily distracted. It becomes obvious that he is not a fishing guide who has turned to writing, but a writer with a fine eye for his surroundings, who is friendly and can extract the life stories from those he meets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
As a longtime reader of the Doc Ford series I have wondered who the denizens of Dinkins Bay Marina were based on. This book more or less answers those questions. Unfortunately it recycles stories from "Bat Fishing" If you already own it, you own it twice. That said, RWW is a great story teller and always an interesting read. He has lived a life many of us would like to emulate but lack the funds. opportunity or cojones to do so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2016
I've enjoyed a handful of the Doc Ford books. My parents live in the area of SW Florida so it is fun to read about these adventures in places that I know or have been to. This book give a nice background to the basis of many of the stories and makes for a good light read. Good stuff while hanging out on or headed to the beach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2014
Gave a very insightful view of Randy Wayne White and how he developed the character of Doc Ford.
I would highly recommend this book for fan's of Doc Ford.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
Jean Claus

Succinct humorous pictures of exotic places from a fisherman's point of view. Makes you look with different eyes at places you thought you knew something about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2014
Not sure i liked it in total. Since I had read the majority of his books, I could see where he got the background info for the books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
This is good insight into who Randy W White is. Good humor and travel brochure thrown in for good measure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.