Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Subscription Length: 1 year|Change
Price:$49.00+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 12, 2008
This periodical contains useful articles by and for the U.S. foreign policy community (as well as concerned citizens). From a range of authors, but often preeminent scholars and policymakers, the essays usually provide a good, solid foundation and context on recent historical issues and then put forward prescriptive policy options - i.e., providing suggestons for what current or future policy should be.

I also like the book reviews contained at the end. Written by established and preeminent scholars in foreign policy, they survey the recent foreign policy literature by category and provide good, cogent, and useful reviews and summaries - useful for further reading.

Due to the recent Iraq war, issues concenring the Iranian nuclear program and uranium enrichment (and the UN, US, and EU responses - economic sanctions so far), and the ongoing conflict in Afghanistan, turmoil and unrest in Pakistan, Lebanon, and the ongoing Israeli and the Palestinian conflict, it would be good if more Americans familiarized themselves with the complex issues in international relations. This periodical is a start (along with, perhaps, Foreign Policy - another magazine).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 15, 2008
"Foreign Affairs" presents a gold mine of articles about subjects that span the globe, printed in somewhat large type and easy on the eyes. It is published by the Council on Foreign Affairs, an independent national membership organization and nonpartisan center for scholars. In their words, "We hold that while keeping clear of mere vagaries, 'Foreign Affairs' can do more to inform American public opinion by a broad hospitality to divergent ideas than it can by identifying itself with one school."

Among the in-depth essay offerings in the July/August 2008 issue:

*a defense of the Bush policy for the past eight years by Condoleezza Rice, disguised as a defense of the "New American Realism."

*why pro-Israel policies of the United States reflect public opinion - not just the result of a powerful lobby over the public will.

*two articles about China - one concerning their stressful efforts to impress the world with their Olympics; the other concerning their resistance toward becoming a responsible member among the world's important states.

*why the US stockpiles massive amounts of oil but manages these stocks based on an outdated vision of the market.

*Nafta and the US relationship with its two most important neighbors - Canada and Mexico, touching on how much public opinion has been influenced by Lou Dobbs.

*how the next president should go about repairing our heavily damaged relationship with Europe as a result of the Bush years.

Next are Book Reviews and lengthy responses to articles in prior issues.

*several articles about the middle east and the Iraq war, including how to properly go about any proposed attempt to democratize an arab state:
1. Foreign powers should focus on encouraging these countries to protect political freedoms and civil liberties.
2. Islamists must be included in the political process. To make any efforts to circumvent them is folly.
3. The United States must make any aid, trade, and security agreements contingent on improvement in political and civil liberties.
4. The United States must revise its desire for instant gratification. The last hundred years should have told us democratization does not happen overnight. Forceful regime change is not a realistic option.

*legal issues about the so-called "war on terror."

*a complimentary article about Chavez (authored by the Venezuelan ambassador to the US), followed by a rebuttal by another author.

*should the US stay the course in Iraq, do as Ron Paul says: "We walked in there, we can walk right back out," or somewhere in between.

*a pro/con discussion as to whether ethnic conflict is inevitable.

After most articles and in the "Bestseller" section, current books appropriate to the topic are suggested. This magazine is perfect for those who want a thorough understanding of US and world issues and are disenchanted with the usual partisan fare. I just read the reviews and see that I am not alone in being impressed with this unusual magazine.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 27, 2006
I've been reading Foreign Affairs since 1980 and have always admired the well rounded scope covering everything from Social & Cultural issues, Media/Public Opinion, International law, Human rights, Economics, Trade & Finance, Science & Technology, Intelligence, Energy, resources & environment, International organizations, and the list goes on.

What I love most about this journal is that there is no agenda - the journalism is highly ethical and thorough. You'll also find out about great new books. I've loved and studied International Relations since 1980, and this is the one magazine that has never let me down. Its coverage is the pinnacle in print journalism.

Deserves 10 stars!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2003
This magazine is simply the very best there is - and I too have been reading it faithfully for many years now. It is THE magazine for anyone who wants to be any kind of globally aware citizen in these troubled times - and it is always easy to understand and written in plain English as well (which certainly does help....) I will be a happy reader I trust for many more years to come. Christopher Catherwood, author of CHRISTIANS, MUSLIMS AND ISLAMIC RAGE (Zondervan, 2003)
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2003
Foreign Affairs magazine is one of the most authorative, primary source of information regarding geopolitical and economic affairs. Although principally a medium for elites to express their opinion regarding what is happening around the world, this material can allow anyone in the world, even in remote regions, to feel quite connected with those in power.
Written in clear, concise English, it is surprisingly readable considering the subject matter. Don't expect any pictures, however: there are none. However, if you want information on Iraq, North Korean, Iran, and the UN, this is your source of material. Some of the subject matter, of course, is biased: sometimes Clinton croonies contribute material, which I quickly ignore by averting my eyes. But the magazine is not meant to be a source of objective material: there is no reporting, the way you find in The Economist; all of it is first-person essays.
Michael Gordon
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2005
Over the last year, every issue of Foreign Affairs has been punctuated with significant essays from political and academic notables. The magazine also includes occasionally heated responses to previous essays and candid reviews of current books on international affairs. The publication frequently serves as a means for those aspiring to be in or recently pushed out of power in American government to express their views. Political figures such as Condeleeza Rice writing during the Clinton administration, former middle east envoy Dennis Ross (most recent issue), or Clinton National Security aid Strobe Talbot might fit into this category. Current executive or legislative eminences are much less frequent contributers - although Senator Chuck Hagel did provide a recent, but not especially enlightening, offering.

There were a number of informative articles in the last two publications of the magazine. Each issue had one particularly worthwhile essay. For November/December Gal Luft and Anne Korin wrote about unarmed oil tankers, narrow, crowded and poorly guarded sea lanes and what steps terrorists may have already taken to position themselves to exploit these vulnerabilities. In the January/February issue Edward Luttwak presents the first persuasive argument I've seen for immediate disengagement from Iraq. He explains convincingly how a withdrawal coupled with extremely deft diplomacy might shift the burden of establishing a stable Iraqi government from the US to Iraq's neighbors and provide the added bonus of an improved US image in the Muslim world and continental Europe.

Foreign Affairs is well worth the time of anyone who has an interest in becoming conversant with current political issues.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2007
"Foreign Affairs" provides engaging views on foreign policy concerns and current events. It is an intelligent read, and, the slightly larger type makes it easy on the eyes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
My son enjoys this publication and renews his subscription yearly. This year I order his subscription using my Amazon account. He has been notified regarding the new issues and is thrilled. The service was excellent and according to my son the publication is superb!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2005
I will give this publication five stars because it is one of the few magazines that has maintained its professional integrity without begging for a commercial outlook or seeking partisan funding.
Foreign Affairs has so far offered the most relevant articles by the world's top experts and decision makers. For instance, Foreign Affairs was the first magazine to publish Samuel Huntington's article The Clash of Civilizations in the early 1990s. The article, which Huntington later developed and published in a book, proved to be one of the most controversial ones and provoked a debate that has been going on until the day these lines were written.
The articles are more often than not comprehensive, simple and written by experts. This is not to say that all the published pieces are flawless. Yet, the articles are overall enlightening and a must-read for all those interested in world politics.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2007
I subscribed to the magazine at the beginning of 07 and have been extremely happy with the consistently high level that each issue attains. FA consistently brings together under one roof the brightest minds the U.S. has to offer to speak on topics that they are uniquely qualified to speak on.

The magazine is a bipartisan meeting ground for professional thinkers on the right and left, and even when I find myself disagreeing with a particular article I still find those articles to be very well thought out and educational. The articles that I disagree with I find very challenging and they really help me to challenge and refine my own ideas. I am a better, more well rounded person for reading this magazine.

This is the best professional journal I have yet come across. Anyone who is interested where U.S. foreign policy is going and should go needs to be reading Foreign Affairs.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.