Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit
Andrew Grey's books always have an engaging storyline that connects the reader with the principal characters, and this one is no exception. Wilson, hit country singer and fake cowboy, is in search of peace and quiet to get his creative muses back. Somewhere he can just be himself, well away from his controlling manager and the madding crowds. Steve, a young man on the...
Published on June 16, 2012 by Francesca

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly OK
This story starts out well, but about 3/4s of the way through it kinda "jumps the shark." The story's last chapter ends well, but between those two sections things just fall together conveniently without the tension one would expect that late in a story. It's as though Andrew needed to finish quickly, and pushed it all together to get to the end.
Published 17 months ago by Xanlthorpe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit, June 16, 2012
By 
Francesca (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Foreign Range (Stories from the Range Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Andrew Grey's books always have an engaging storyline that connects the reader with the principal characters, and this one is no exception. Wilson, hit country singer and fake cowboy, is in search of peace and quiet to get his creative muses back. Somewhere he can just be himself, well away from his controlling manager and the madding crowds. Steve, a young man on the run, is in desperate need of a new start, but his past seems have found him. Is no where safe for him? Wilson takes in the starving, homeless young man, and all of a sudden Wilson needs to decide what's more important to him: his career or Steve. There's a wonderful supporting cast, including Wilson's housekeeper and her little imp of a daughter, a fem fatale who's after Wilson, and of course our old friends Dakota and Wally (you just have to love a man who loves cats). A positively delightful read that I couldn't put down until I'd finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome addition to the Range Series, June 20, 2012
This review is from: A Foreign Range (Stories from the Range Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
**possible spoilers**

Andrew Grey delivers another home-run with his latest Stories from the Range series. His stories are always full of intriguing characters & a fast paced story-line that enthrall his readers. With the right amount of tension, real world themes and friendship, he delivers stories that continue to garner accolades and readers alike.

Meet Wilson Edwards, a country singer and fraud cowboy. He needs to find his muse again and buying a ranch in Wyoming seems like the perfect thing to do. He gets to see the cowboy way of life up close and personal and get away from the rat race, shallowness of L.A. that has taken over every aspect of his life. I really enjoyed Wilson. He was a man who needed a place to set down roots and I enjoyed how he stood up to his controlling manager.

Meet Steve Peterson. A man who has just escaped from a gay deprogramming center his cult leader father put him in and now on the run, scared and alone, he has no idea just how strong he really is. That is until he drops in to where he was to have a job and finds the place sold & the job lost. No idea what to do, Steve finds an angel in disguise when Wilson offers him to ranch-sit while he is away on business. I really liked Steve a lot. He was scarred inside and out by a father who wanted the gayness out of him. The depths he had left me cheering he would get the happy ending he so richly deserved. The sparks flew between him and Wilson and I really enjoyed how they complimented one another perfectly. Wilson let Steve grow as a person and Steve showed Wilson that life is nothing without the right person beside you.

I really enjoyed seeing my old friends again from the past three books (A Shared Range, A Troubled Range & An Unsettled Range) again. I love Wally & Dakota and seeing how their lives continued after their own happily ever after made me smile more times I can count.

With each book, Andrew Grey just gets better and better. His writing is tight, storylines flow smoothly and the simmering sexual tension between characters leaves you eager for more. I cannot wait to see what happens next on the range and hope we won't have to wait too long for our next dose of stories on the range.

Run-don't walk-to Dreamspinner or any online book vendor and grab your copy of A Foreign Range and get ready to ride the trails with these sexy cowboys. Definitely one book I plan to read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Foreign Range (Paperback)
I loved the range series. I love the story. I am happy that it was made to product. I am happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Foreign Range (Stories from the Range) by Andrew Grey, September 26, 2013
This review is from: A Foreign Range (Stories from the Range Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
The first for me in this series by Andrew Grey, I think I got lucky; the story was good, a little cinderfella, a little star-system, it never went over the top and mostly remained with a small-town/good neighbors feeling.

Wilson is almost at the point of burning out; a country singer who is not even able to ride, all his persona is a fluke. But Wilson is aware of that and it wasn't what he dreamed; he wants a simple life, doing music, sharing it with the audience, but not selling his life to them. So he decides to leave it all and to buy an horse ranch in Wyoming... only that the ranch hasn't horses and it's completely empty, aside for a young man, Steve, who was supposed to be an horse trainer for the previous owner, and arrived too late.

The runaway/starving kid is a common theme in Grey's books, especially in the Love Means... series, another series with a country setting; I'm not really able to explain, but it does fit right with the story, western romance gives you that idea of comfort and quiet life, something you associate with a warm home and a full belly, so feeding the starving boy rings true for this type of romance. And once the runaway kid is well-fed, he proves to be an asset to the ranch, way more than Wilson that aside for the necessary money to buy it, hasn't really any idea of what a ranch life implies.

Book after book Andrew Grey is starting to become more and more the Gay Romance equivalent of the Big Ladies of the serial Romance like Diana Palmer, the stories maybe don't differ much, but when you pick one of these books, you are sure to be on for a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great story!, May 1, 2013
This review is from: A Foreign Range (Stories from the Range Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
The fourth in the series, this story takes a slight variation from the usual formula as it doesn't involve a romance with someone already close to Wally or Dakota (the couple in the original book) although they do become friends.

This is the story of Wilson (Willie), country music star, who moves to a ranch so that he can escape LA and have a 'real' life. "I'm going to put down real roots, far away from groupies and fake parties, where everyone is more concerned about what you're wearing and who you are than the person on the inside."

Wilson meets Steve, a young man escaping his troubled past. It is a very sweet romance story as Steve puts his past behind him and Wilson learns that Steve is what really matters to him. "No matter what, I can still make music, and that's what I really love. If you're the only one around to hear it, then I have all the audience I really want."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Romance, April 29, 2013
By 
MLE "Omnivorous reader" (Bass Harbor, ME United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Foreign Range (Stories from the Range Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
A really sweet romance. I wasn't sure about the age gap, but Steve is mature, and older than his years especially after all he has endured. Wilson also never takes advantage of Steve or tries to manuipulate, or control him. I like how their feelings took time to develop, and while there was an inital attraction neither one feel deeply in love at first sight. Their love grew out of their mutual respect, and attraction. I like how well they work together, and how it isn't a story about one taking care of the other, but of mutual support. It makes the story feel much more real to me. Overall a good read, especially if your in the mood for a fluffy romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly OK, April 5, 2013
By 
Xanlthorpe (Daytona Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Foreign Range (Stories from the Range Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This story starts out well, but about 3/4s of the way through it kinda "jumps the shark." The story's last chapter ends well, but between those two sections things just fall together conveniently without the tension one would expect that late in a story. It's as though Andrew needed to finish quickly, and pushed it all together to get to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally captive, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Foreign Range (Stories from the Range Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
For some reason I couldn't put my kindle down I had to find out how the story ended.  Everything flowed as if it were a true story which is what I like about this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, July 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Foreign Range (Stories from the Range Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Entertaining from cover to cover. The Range Series in one of my favorites and Foreign Range is a good addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you too will love Andrew Grey's cowboys, August 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Foreign Range (Stories from the Range Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I am currently rereading the Stories from the Range Series. I love it so much. Andrew Grey at his best. He does young new love so very well. I love how the love developed. Slowly and sweetly. We meet Wilson Edwards successful country western singer Willie who purchased a ranch home in Wyoming trying to escape the LA rat race, fake people fake tits have never impressed him as he is hidden in the closet so far he doesn't remember what he looks like in the mirror. His manager Howard has been attached to his hip for far too long. Wilson just wants downsize properties in LA and live a quiet life on the range. They look around the property and decide to go to town for dinner. The place was hopping so they had to wait. They re asked to sit with Wally, Dakota and their large gay family. Only Wally recognizes Wilson as Willie Meadows. Dakota finally finished his residency so he now the Doctor his proud papa Jefferson always wanted him to be. I love catching up with former main characters from the earlier books. Willie goes to his new home and sees an old truck parked by the barn. A skinny boy came out and asked what happened to the previous owner who promised him a job. T boy looks distraught, thin and unwell. The kid gets in his truck he doesn't have any money for gas or food. Wilson learns the kid's name is Steve. Wilson gets the feeling that something bad happened to Steve. He feels drawn to Steve. They stop at the hotel Wilson and Howard are staying at. Steve gets out of the car and almost fell due to being so weak. Wilson offers Steve a job to take care of the property. He then finds Steve sleeping in his truck well this won't do. So Wilson takes him to his hotel to get the sleep he needs badly. Steve reverts to a habit he used to get himself away from his home and begins to take off his clothes Wilson hurriedly stops him telling Steve doesn't owe him anything. both discover their hot chemistry. When Wilson gets back from LA there are horses in the paddock. We soon learn that Steve is hiding from some people from his past who terrify him. Wilson learns in town that two men have been looking for Steve. When Wilson gets back to the ranch he asks Steve about I won't spill the details but it suspenseful. This is a must read in the series. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.