Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Hits (And Then Some)
I'm going to admit up front that I'm a casual fan of Foreigner. Until I bought Complete Greatest Hits, the only Foreigner album in my 6,000-plus collection was a cassette copy of 1982's Records: The Best of Foreigner. So you won't hear any carping from me about why didn't Rhino include "(plug in your favorite Foreigner song here)" instead of using "(a...
Published on June 15, 2002 by Steve Vrana

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Every song has been shortened!
I've grown up listening to Foreigner, and wanted to get a "greatest hits" album so I'd have them to listen to in the car and iPod. Bought this album and on the first song realized that there was a significant cut in the middle (Feels like the first time), 37 seconds cut. This always bothered me. All the other songs seemed complete. I just found a CD I didn't know I...
Published on December 9, 2008 by Robert A. Burke


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

119 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Hits (And Then Some), June 15, 2002
This review is from: Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I'm going to admit up front that I'm a casual fan of Foreigner. Until I bought Complete Greatest Hits, the only Foreigner album in my 6,000-plus collection was a cassette copy of 1982's Records: The Best of Foreigner. So you won't hear any carping from me about why didn't Rhino include "(plug in your favorite Foreigner song here)" instead of using "(a song you don't like as well)." When Foreigner first charted in the late-Seventies, disco was threatening to take over the music industry. It was refreshing to hear rock 'n' roll on the radio again. This is simply, track for track, the best single disc overview available. It includes every Top 40 hit (with the glaring exception of 1982's "Breaking Up," No. 26) along with a handful of lesser hits ("Women," No. 41; "Heart Turns to Stone," No. 56), uncharted singles ("Soul Doctor" and "Girl on the Moon"), and album tracks ("Headknocker"). Again, for the casual fan, this is THE Foreigner album to own. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Complete Greatest Hits" Could Have Been Better!, December 5, 2002
By 
highway_star (Hallandale, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Foreigner emerged on the rock scene in 1977 and released the stunning self titled "Foreigner" album which was followed by "Double Vision", "Head Games", "Foreigner 4" and a string of other great albums. Foreigner was one of the great arena rock bands to come out of the seventies when concerts were affordable and packed with fans who appreciated good old rock n' roll. This Foreigner cd entitled "Complete Greatest Hits" should have been called "Almost Complete Greatest Hits" because there are a number of songs missing that should have been on this collection. Sure the big hits are here such as "Feels Like The First Time", "Cold As Ice", "Hot Blooded", "Double Vision", "Head Games", "Urgent", "Juke Box Hero", etc. but as one reviewer mentioned "Girl On The Moon" could have been deleted and better choices could have been "Until The End Of Time" or "Under The Gun". For die hard Foreigner fans there is also the two cd set entitled "Foreigner Anthology: Jukebox Heros" which is a more complete collection and has songs from both Lou Gramm and Mick Jone's solo careers plus much more. But for less money this "Complete Greatest Hits" must make do. The sound quality is superb and the 19 page booklet includes a nice history of the band and some great pictures. If you enjoy seventies rock then this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Every song has been shortened!, December 9, 2008
By 
This review is from: Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I've grown up listening to Foreigner, and wanted to get a "greatest hits" album so I'd have them to listen to in the car and iPod. Bought this album and on the first song realized that there was a significant cut in the middle (Feels like the first time), 37 seconds cut. This always bothered me. All the other songs seemed complete. I just found a CD I didn't know I had, The Very Best And Beyond, and every song that is the same between the two discs is shortened on this album. Hot Blooded: 1m19sec! Urgent: 10 secs, Double Vision: 9 secs. Every song that's the same is from 1sec to over a minute shorter. DO NOT BUY THIS! It looks like the new No End in Sight double CD is a great choice. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best single-disc Foreigner complilation., April 4, 2006
This review is from: Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a very good Foreigner compilation and certainly the best single-disc compilation of theirs that you will find. It's got all of the hits, very little in the way of filler (if any) and it has great sound. If you want more than this, get the Definitive Collection, but this should certainly suit the casual Foreigner fan. In my opinion, the Defenitive Collection is a little much and really only for serious fans. This one could suit anyone, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Foreigner Fans!!!!, January 21, 2003
By 
This review is from: Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
What can I say?? If your a fan of Foreigner then this compilation needs to be added to your collection. 20 of they're biggest hits from 1977's top 5 hit "Feels Like The First Time" up through 1992's "Soul Doctor". Nine top 10 hits, seven top 5's and they're only Number 1 "I Want To Know What Love Is".
All the hits are there, from early rockers such as "Cold As Ice", "Hot Blooded", "Double Vision", "Head Games" and "Urgent" to the power ballads like "Waiting For A Girl Like You" and "I Want To Know What Love Is" through the 80's rock hits like "That Was Yesterday", "Say You Will" and "I Don't Want To Live Without You".
The sound quality is fantastic, it's crystal clear just as if it was recorded today. So buy this CD crank up the volume and enjoy one of the greatest rock groups in music history. I'd also like to say Foreigner belongs in the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just want to be a Juke Box Hero, January 13, 2004
This review is from: Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Yes I'm one of those. I have a dream, I own plenty of second hand guitars, and my music is probably the only thing I'll leave behind when I'm gone.
Yes this is another Foreigner Greatest Hits package. Yes it has many of the same songs as the others. Of course it has the classics that you've heard on the radio for twenty years. 'Cold as Ice", "Hot Blooded", "Urgent", "Dirty White Boy", "Feels like the First Time", etc, they're all great songs.
But to guitar players, Foreigner has a special conection to them. Juke Box Hero is one of the greatest songs ever written. Simple yet beautiful. Every word is the truth and every guitarist knows that no matter what, all your blood, sweat, and tears, go into that piece of wood with six nickel plated strings.
To all the thrashers, bluesmen, shredders, and rockers, Juke Box Hero is your song and you must have it. When you feel too tired to practice, or don't feel like doing the same old gig with the same old songs, crank up Juke Box Hero. It'll give you a rush and send chills down your back. You'll remember why you picked up the guitar in the first place. Rock on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Foreigner Compilation, September 5, 2005
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Foreigner was one of the most successful rock bands to emerge during the mid 1970s'. With a string of well crafted rock singles, they became one of the most recognizable bands of the decade. When the 1980s', they morphed into more of ballads band, yet still managed to churn out quality music. In 2002, Rhino released "Foreigner - Complete Greatest Hits", a single disc, 20 song collection of all their biggest hits. Is it a good compilation? Here are the positives and negatives.

Positives:

-It's got all the classic Foreigner hits on it. "Feels Like The First Time", "Cold As Ice", "Hot Blooded", "Double Vision", "Urgent", "Waiting For A Girl Like You", "I Wanna Know What Love Is", "I Don't Wanna Live Without You" and "Say You Will" are all included.

-Several excellent minor singles and album tracks have been included as well.

-Songs sound excellent.

-Makes a godd introduction for new fans.

-Great liner notes.

-Easy to find and highly affordable.

Negatives:

-Several tracks are edited.

Overall, this makes a great introduction for people who want

to get into Foreigner. Diehards will already have the albums, but if you're a casual fan, this collection is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey It's Girl On The Moon here!, August 24, 2005
This review is from: Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Hey, this is Girl On The Moon the song reviewing this item because this album is great for that song and many others.

Why can't more people like this album because this is a great

album for sure. Feels Like The First Time, Cold As Ice, Long, Long Way From Home, Hot Blooded, Double Vision, Dirty White Boy,

Women, Girl On The Moon, & Urgent are my favorites on this CD.

This CD is also great for the highway so pick this up if you are

a rock fan, and take a road trip and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cut short, March 1, 2003
By 
Jason (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This would've been a pretty good album except for one small problem. Most of the tracks,the good ones especially,have been reduced to the short version. What was wrong with the original full-length versions? If you're a real Foreigner fan,buy all their albums. If you want just the hits,then the double-disc anthology is probably reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truly Foreigner, June 19, 2002
This review is from: Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
In the 1980's, many acts were chained under the tag name "Corporate Rock". When Foreigner entered the 80's, the group blended songs that were both easy and hard listening for all times of need.

The Foreigner 2002 Complete Greatest Hits package, consists of 20 songs packed with a hard rock edge, and a dash of sweet, soulful songs that truly reflect passion. The album goes above Foreigner's first two greatest hits albums, Records and The Very Best and Beyond, but without Lou Gramm and Mick Jones solo tracks from their 2000 anthology. The songs include ballads like Waiting For A Girl Like You, That Was Yesterday, I Don't Want To Live Without You, and I Want To Know What Love Is. Other songs like Juke Box Hero, and Soul Doctor, also are branded as mega-hits from the successful rock band.
While Foreigner hasn't had a massive hit album since the late 80's their songs are still as joyous and enduring as ever. It still proves that the "Corporate Rock" image still lives on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits
Foreigner: Complete Greatest Hits by Foreigner (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.