Start reading Forensics For Dummies on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Forensics For Dummies [Kindle Edition]

Douglas P. Lyle
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (34 customer reviews)

Digital List Price: $19.99 What's this?
Print List Price: $19.99
Kindle Price: $12.99
You Save: $7.00 (35%)

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $12.99  
Paperback $15.92  
Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell
Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensic science has exploded: CBS's CSI has 16 to 26 million viewers every week, and Patricia Cornwell's novels featuring a medical examiner sleuth routinely top bestseller lists, to cite just a few examples. Now, everyone can get the lowdown on the science behind crime scene investigations. Using lots of fascinating case studies, forensics expert Dr. D. P. Lyle clues people in on everything from determining cause and time of death to fingerprints, fibers, blood, ballistics, forensic computing, and forensic psychology. With its clear, entertaining explanations of forensic procedures and techniques, this book will be an indispensable reference for mystery fans and true crime aficionados everywhere-and even includes advice for people interested in forensic science careers.
D. P. Lyle, MD (Laguna Hills, CA), is a practicing cardiologist who is also a forensics expert and mystery writer. He runs a Web site that answers writers' questions about forensics, dplylemd.com, and is the author of Murder and Mayhem: A Doctor Answers Medical and Forensic Questions for Writers, as well as several mystery novels. John Pless, MD, is Professor Emeritus of Pathology at Indiana University School of Medicine and former President of the National Association of Medical Examiners.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Editorial Reviews

Review

“…leaves you wondering how anyone ever manages to get away with any crime, let alone murder. Highly recommended...” (Fortean Times, March 2005)

“…fascinating reading…a must-have book…a superb introduction to a fascinating subject…” (Ripperologist, July 2004)

From the Back Cover

Features famous forensic case studies

"Dynamic, entertaining, and educational . . .blows the lid off the science of crime."
—Kathleen Antrim, author of Capital Offense

Fascinated by forensics? This plain-English guide introduces you to all the key players behind the investigations, revealing how they work crime scenes to identify the victim, criminal, and the circumstances surrounding the crime. You’ll follow the medical examiner and the forensic team in action, find out how they collect and evaluate evidence, and get a glimpse into the criminal mind.

Praise for Forensics For Dummies

"Dr. Doug Lyle has created the must-have guide to forensic science."
– Simon Wood, author of Accidents Waiting to Happen

"An informative, fun, and accessible compendium of facts for laymen and professionals alike. Highly recommended."
– Barbara Seranella, creator of the Munch Mancini crime novels

"This is the lay person’s indispensable guide to the fine art of criminal investigation."
— Taylor Smith, author of Liar’s Market and other novels of suspense

Discover how to:

  • Assess the scene of a crime
  • Analyze trace evidence
  • Determine how and when a victim died
  • Trace drugs and poisons in the body
  • Evaluate firearms evidence
  • Pursue a career in forensics

Product Details

  • File Size: 3374 KB
  • Print Length: 390 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0764555804
  • Publisher: For Dummies; 1 edition (March 8, 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004S82RTC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #161,177 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
(34)
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource July 30, 2004
By D. Lacy
Format:Paperback
Forensics for Dummies is a quick reference for a multitude of Forensics issues. It is well organized and easy to read. Concepts are explained clearly.

A wide range forensic topics are explored, including: Investigating the Crime Lab, Assessing the Scene of the Crime, Getting a Grip on Fingerprints, Analyzing Blood Stain Patterns and What's the Deal with DNA. There are several real life cases in the back of the book, which are useful, as well as a section on common myths dispelled.

If you need basic information about a wide variety of forensics issues, then I would highly recommend this book. I am using it for research in writing mystery fiction, and I think it's an excellent tool for writers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great starting reference February 28, 2005
Format:Paperback
As with all the "for Dummies" books, Forensics for Dummies is a great, quick reference and a wonderful starting point for anyone interested in the field. Written by a doctor and full of information that will surely entice anyone who is a fan of crime investigation shows, the book is laid out well and progresses through the entire method used by forensic scientists.

However, this book is only a starting point for anyone seriously interested in pursuing a career in forenics. It makes a handy reference for writers, as well, but those who are interested in making their crime-oriented stories come to life would do well to find another source for in-depth information.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know June 24, 2004
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
Any "for Dummies" book is a helpful tool for the subject you are interested in; so when I reached the end of this one, it came as no surprise the feeling of satisfaction and excitement that I had about this particular purchase. Being a current student of forensic science myself, any basic information and knowledge that I received from this book will help with my future plans in this field.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EDGAR AWARD NOMINEE!!!!! February 11, 2005
Format:Paperback
"Forensics for Dummies" has been nominated for an Edgar Award. This is no surprise as it is the very best reference published.

This book will answer all of your questions and entertain you every step of the way!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for students January 13, 2011
By L..Malm
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This was a gift for a teen who is interested in studying forensics. In fact she reads all material she can find and is considering Forensics when she goes to the university. found the book an easy read & good start for studies. Here is the book perfered.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great For Classroom Use July 8, 2009
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
As instructor of criminal justice, i find this book remarkable for its clear, simple yet thorough explanation of the basics of forensic science. This book makes a somewhat complicated subject easy for the student to grasp and comprehend. A great supplement to any textbook on this subject.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forensics Primer November 15, 2007
Format:Paperback
Great intro book to a fascinating specialty. Fun for CSI junkies like myself. A good read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Anyone who wants to get the skinny on forensics should buy this book! I also bought the FBI guide to forensics for additional information.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this!
This is a book for writers. Dr. Lyle has put together a lot of information for people who write mysteries/thrillers but have no medical background. Read more
Published 6 days ago by highlandlas
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
Very fast shipping. It was shipped the very next day, and at my apartment the day after.
Really great beginner book if you're interested in forensics, unfortunately I decided... Read more
Published 1 month ago by Tabitha Hume
5.0 out of 5 stars Book
My son thinks he would like to go into the forensic field. We were told this was a good book and might help him decide.
Published 1 month ago by debbie
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Starting Point
I bought this as research for my writing. I want to write a story or stories that involve crime scene investigations and autopsy results and related matters. Read more
Published 1 month ago by manndrake
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative
My husband is using this for science in homeschooling our children. They are learning biology- which they hate- without realizing it!
Published 2 months ago by Homeschool Mom
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book
this is the most interesting books with pictures for forensic class. I highly recommend it to all the students. thanks
Published 4 months ago by yn n
4.0 out of 5 stars Great supplement to a detailed text
Exactly what it says it is. Covers all of the basics, but if you want more specific information you'll need to go elsewhere. Read more
Published 4 months ago by Dr.L.
5.0 out of 5 stars Love!
If you're looking into becoming a forensic scientist or just curious about the field, get this book. You won't regret it. Read more
Published 6 months ago by Amanda Khaloo
4.0 out of 5 stars Great place to start.
Easy to understand. Great place to start, especially if you are a writer and need to beef up your tragety authentically.
Published 7 months ago by Tammila Wright
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful
got this for my daughter who was interested in forensics. she could not put the book down and carried it with her every where.
Published 7 months ago by Brenda Turner
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category


ARRAY(0x9d6bcf48)