Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Academic Review Of All Things Proto-Mammalia, Not For Lightweights!
If you have an endearing interest in how reptiles gave rise to mammals (and of that matter, dinosaurs and birds), you will love "Forerunners Of Mammals". Easily the best footnoted and scientific book on mammal ancestry (centered largely on the more familiar pelycosaurs, cynodonts, and early mammals), this writing largely skips the "cute furball picture"...
Published on November 20, 2012 by Larry Cosgrove

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what you expect!
This is a book about histology, bone microstructure. There is one chapter on the diversity and evolution of the early mammal -like reptiles. There are some great color pictures of the animals but make no mistake, most of this book is on histology. I am very interested in early mammal relations and the histology does have clear implications for their life styles. This is...
Published on December 15, 2011 by Scott McKenzie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what you expect!, December 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forerunners of Mammals: Radiation Histology Biology (Life of the Past) (Hardcover)
This is a book about histology, bone microstructure. There is one chapter on the diversity and evolution of the early mammal -like reptiles. There are some great color pictures of the animals but make no mistake, most of this book is on histology. I am very interested in early mammal relations and the histology does have clear implications for their life styles. This is like a book on the life of Lincoln with almost all of the volume dealing with his bone microstructure. The title should have reflected the true content!

There is room for a book that does speak to the title of this book, Perhaps someone will write it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't Tell a Book........., January 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forerunners of Mammals: Radiation Histology Biology (Life of the Past) (Hardcover)
The old adage "you can't tell a book by it's cover" is certainly applicable to "Forerunners of the Mammals". A correlative added could be " don't put too much stock in a publishers pronoucements about a new book". This book has some significant information within it and a few chapters are well written (chapter 1,2 & 11) but for the most part this is a compilation of bone histology studies and is meant for the "special" specialist. This reminds me of a book I once read on the minute details of the egg shells of turtles, lizards, snakes, birds, dinosaurs and mammals. Lots of information but a little can go an awefully long way particularly for the non-specialist. I'm sure a book on therapsid bone histology is warrented but title it as such. Yes, some summary information may help in understanding survival, radiation and persistance of a species in one or several climates and geographic locations but pages and pages dulls the mind. I agree with the first reviewer that an update and in depth book on the therapsids is sorely needed. This one simply wets the appetite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Academic Review Of All Things Proto-Mammalia, Not For Lightweights!, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have an endearing interest in how reptiles gave rise to mammals (and of that matter, dinosaurs and birds), you will love "Forerunners Of Mammals". Easily the best footnoted and scientific book on mammal ancestry (centered largely on the more familiar pelycosaurs, cynodonts, and early mammals), this writing largely skips the "cute furball picture" route and takes the reader to the science behind evolution. If reading about fossilized bone structure, jaw diversion and cladistics bores you, do not buy this book! However, if you are looking for a great example of paleobiology for your classroom or library, Chinsamy-Turan's compliation of selections from authors versed in the field of diapsid/therapsid relationship cannot be beat.

This is involved scholarship, and frankly I wish that we see more of its kind in dealing with other evolutionary topics. Worth the price, and deserving of a five-star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful book, October 20, 2013
This review is from: Forerunners of Mammals: Radiation Histology Biology (Life of the Past) (Hardcover)
The book explains in detail about the evolution of the mammal-like reptiles (yes, there were such things) up to mammals. I was facinated to read how much can be deducted about the once living animals from studies of their FOSSILIZED bones. I am not a paleontologist but I learnt so much from this book and I strongly recommend it anyone interested in prehistoric life on earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big help for a graduate student, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forerunners of Mammals: Radiation Histology Biology (Life of the Past) (Hardcover)
This book has been a huge help for me while I'm working on my fossil bone histology thesis research. It's nice to see a book focus on something other than dinosaurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars reptiles, November 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forerunners of Mammals: Radiation Histology Biology (Life of the Past) (Hardcover)
Nice basic textbook concerning mammal-like reptiles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Forerunners of Mammals: Radiation  Histology  Biology (Life of the Past)
Forerunners of Mammals: Radiation Histology Biology (Life of the Past) by Anusuya Chinsamy-Turan (Hardcover - October 28, 2011)
$60.00 $43.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.