Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great "read" for little ones
This retelling of the Goldilocks story is a big hit with my three-year-old. Without words, the illustrations show a little bear's adventures in a little girl's cabin. While she and her parents are out the bear investigates the porridge, the chairs and the beds. The family returns and the drawings of the little girl's indignant reaction to her spilled porridge and...
Published on November 19, 1998

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Deep In the Forest
Not anywhere as enjoyable as Brinton Turkle's "Do Not Open". Boring story and way over rated. This book may be enjoyed by toddlers.
Published 2 months ago by M. Valdez


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great "read" for little ones, November 19, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep in the Forest (Picture Puffins) (Paperback)
This retelling of the Goldilocks story is a big hit with my three-year-old. Without words, the illustrations show a little bear's adventures in a little girl's cabin. While she and her parents are out the bear investigates the porridge, the chairs and the beds. The family returns and the drawings of the little girl's indignant reaction to her spilled porridge and broken chair are priceless. The little bear is discovered in the little girl's bed and is chased away, returning to his waiting mother bear. My son loves to narrate the story for me. The illustrations tell the story perfectly and the humor of the role reversal certainly was not lost on him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming twist on a classic children's story., June 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep in the Forest: 2 (Paperback)
This book turns the story of Goldilocks around. A small bear invades Goldilocks house. It is a wordless picture book that can be used to inspire young students in creative writing, or encourage pre-schoolers imagination. The illustrations are delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for storytellers, November 9, 2007
By 
J Lonn (Wichita, KS) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deep in the Forest (Picture Puffins) (Paperback)
The illustrations are wonderful. Please know that there are no words in this book. That makes you the storyteller or your child. It's a great way to stoke their imagination when you let them be the "author".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely and funny retelling of the Goldilocks story, February 16, 2002
This review is from: Deep in the Forest (Picture Puffins) (Paperback)
A curious bear cub leaves his mother to investigate a cabin deep in the forest. He investigates bowls, chairs and beds before falling asleep -- just in time for the family to return from a walk. Beautiful and humorous illustrations are the star of this textless retelling. Our two-and-a-half-year old loves this book -- asking for it several times a day -- participating in the 'reading', laughing, feeling indignant for the little girl and her broken things. This is a charming storybook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Deep In the Forest, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not anywhere as enjoyable as Brinton Turkle's "Do Not Open". Boring story and way over rated. This book may be enjoyed by toddlers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for Helping Teach English as a Second Language, February 8, 2013
By 
J. Siporin (Eugene, OR USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deep in the Forest (Picture Puffins) (Paperback)
I used this wordless "Goldilocks" book in my 3rd grade classrooms with students who spoke another language other than English. It requires being in a one-on-one situation. Armed with a pad of 3" sticky notes, I would have the student TELL me the story on page 1. I would write down exactly what they said (date them). Repeat this procedure for every page. No corrections first time through. I would figure out what small chunks they needed to learn for our next lesson together. When I met with the student, I had them tell me the story again - this time using a different colored sticky note w/ the date. I would stop and teach certain words - generally nouns. We would meet repeatedly, each time the lessons became more focused on verb tense, adjectives, grammar... By parent-teacher conference time, the book was filled with notes with dates showing their child's progress. It was a win-win-win all the way around and cause for celebration.

If you search "Wordless Books" you'll find other selections. I like to use this story because it is a familiar one in many cultures and isn't too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ha! A twist on "Goldilocks", March 27, 2012
This review is from: Deep in the Forest (Picture Puffins) (Paperback)
This nearly wordless picture book gives a twist on the Goldilocks tale, and it is very fun to "read" with your little one. Or, let your little one "read" it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, October 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deep in the Forest (Picture Puffins) (Paperback)
As a Kindergarten taecher, I am contstantly on the look-out for quality children's literature, as well as books with text that is appropriate for beginning and emergent readers. This book ingeniously combines the two. Simple, yet beautiful illustrations tell the story - a most clever rendition of Goldilocks and the Three Bears - without using even a single word.

After finding this book at a local Goodwill store, (truly a diamond in the rough), I immediately went home and scouered the internet, purchasing several more copies for myself, my classroom, and my friends. Quite possibly my favorite "wordless" book. Truly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wordless wonder!, June 8, 2010
This review is from: Deep in the Forest (Picture Puffins) (Paperback)
This wordless picture book is a retelling of Goldilocks, from the rather more realistic perspective of a bear cub invading a human cottage.

I love the bear's expression as he finds the chairs are too hard, too soft, and a LOT of fun to rock in - and you can't beat Goldilocks crying at every little thing!

Some people object to wordless picture books on principle, because they are unfamiliar with them. This is what I have to say to that:

Wordless picture books are PERFECT for pre-readers. It gives them the ability to read a book - REALLY own the experience instead of just "playing" as they must do when they can't understand the words - on their own. It gives them practice in putting together stories and working out details from context. And it allows them to be the expert at some activity that is usually restricted to adults and older children in their life - reading a book.

By that same token, they are also ideal for early readers. It's non-threatening, and yet it's still a way to practice following a storyline. Reading is more than just mechanically putting together sounds and reciting them, after all. Many people are impressed by a five year old who can say, word-perfect, some complex piece he or she "reads" from a page, but later they find out that the child has no idea what they just read and wasn't thinking of reading as an exercise in gleaning meaning from text, but merely as reciting memorized sounds and letter combinations. Working out the story for themselves from a book with no words is a wonderful way to practice this sort of "reading for meaning".

But what of the child who stumbles in reading? Well, the child who stumbles when reading but can tell you WHAT they read is light-years ahead of the one who sounds pretty but doesn't grasp the meaning. At any rate, this child is still getting much needed practice in the conventions of reading without the letters to stress and trip them up.

Of course, you don't want the only book in your house to be a wordless picture book, I understand that, because children do need print to practice reading, but a few are a WONDERFUL thing for a child. And who has just one book, anyway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, May 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deep in the Forest (Picture Puffins) (Paperback)
A lovely book with gorgeous illustration and a delightful twist to prove the axiom that there is always two sides to any story. Try the author's Obadiah series as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa395bbf4)

This product

Deep in the Forest (Picture Puffins)
Deep in the Forest (Picture Puffins) by Brinton Turkle (Paperback - August 15, 1992)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.