Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lighthearted amusing British chick lit romance
In Islington, Fabulous Flowers florist Abby Crompton runs her business quite successfully, but not so her personal life. Her fiance Honorable Toby Kenwood proposed a month ago, but has so far failed to provide her with an engagement ring.

However, she soon fails the mommy test when she meets her future mother-in-law the Dowager Lady Penelope Kenwood at...
Published on July 18, 2009 by Harriet Klausner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forget Me Knot
Abby Crompton, owner of a trendy London florist boutique, is struggling in her relationship. While everything may seem picture perfect to outsiders, Abby fears there is something array with her fiancée Toby. Other than their complete opposition in the social aspect- Toby comes from a highly wealthy family, Abby not so much- but now their lack of any activity in the...
Published on June 3, 2010 by Samantha J


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lighthearted amusing British chick lit romance, July 18, 2009
This review is from: Forget Me Knot (Paperback)
In Islington, Fabulous Flowers florist Abby Crompton runs her business quite successfully, but not so her personal life. Her fiance Honorable Toby Kenwood proposed a month ago, but has so far failed to provide her with an engagement ring.

However, she soon fails the mommy test when she meets her future mother-in-law the Dowager Lady Penelope Kenwood at Covenant Gardens though Toby forgives her for being tipsy. Abby had become soused when stuck on a lift with stranger; film director Rebound Dan who supplied her with the wine and wants to include Fabulous Flowers in a London based romantic comedy he is making. They hit it off, but he conceals some important details about his life especially his past. Having been toasted once though still engaged, Abby considers ending her rebound relationship, but Dan remains persistent.

FORGET ME KNOT is a lighthearted amusing British chick lit romance starring a likable heroine surrounded by eccentrics and more eccentrics (Islington seems like the capital of eccentricity). The story line is fun and breezy as Abby struggles between two men while wondering how her not any longer stay at home mom would handle each of her huggables. This is a fun inane frolic that never goes deep into the star, but fans of Sue Margolis will relish the cast's antics.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forget Me Knot, June 3, 2010
This review is from: Forget Me Knot (Paperback)
Abby Crompton, owner of a trendy London florist boutique, is struggling in her relationship. While everything may seem picture perfect to outsiders, Abby fears there is something array with her fiancée Toby. Other than their complete opposition in the social aspect- Toby comes from a highly wealthy family, Abby not so much- but now their lack of any activity in the bedroom is making Abby unsure of her future wedding plans. When she is running late to meet the dreaded soon to be mother-in-law, Abby confronts her fears of an elevator and promptly gets stuck in one. While waiting to be rescued, Abby confides all her doubts about her impending marriage and fiancée to the handsome stranger that is trapped along with her, filmmaker Dan.
Abby's embarrassment is elevated when she later meets Dan in a business setting- he is going to be directing a film where scenes take place in Abby's boutique. While continually assuring her that he doesn't think anything less of her and the inebriated personal babble she bestowed on him, Abby finds herself thinking of Dan in a more romantic setting. When her relationship with Toby comes to a direct halt, Abby wonders if anything more could happen with Dan. Before she can even begin to rebound,, she finds some unsettling news that Dan has been hiding from her, and gives up hope on that budding relationship. But following all great chick lit patterns, Abby is able to find love in the end even after all the false starts.
Forgot Me Knot is a romantic delight from British author Sue Margolis. A lightweight comedy that chick lit readers will enjoy. This was one of the better books from Margolis in my opinion, the characters were a riot, especially the heroine's mom who finds a way to stand up for what she believes in during a cruise vacation gone bad. The storyline moves along quickly, and remains charming throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars naughty Brit romp, August 17, 2009
This review is from: Forget Me Knot (Paperback)
FORGET ME KNOT is a naughty bit of British fluff, infused with humor and sex. The heroine of the story, Abby, runs a successful flower shop, but her life is filled with people who are not always whom they would appear to be. Her fiance, Toby, is impeccably gorgeous and increasingly remote. She meets an attractive and kind young man, Dan, when they become stuck together in an elevator. He seems to be a regular Joe, struggling to complete the low-budget film he wrote, directed and produced. He's definitely sexy, sweet, and creative. Is there more to him than meets the eye? Homosexuality, religion, race, and social classes are tossed around like dice. You'll rethink some of your own feelings toward unconventional people as you laugh all the way through this lighthearted tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun beach read, January 5, 2011
By 
dcbooklover (washington, dc) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forget Me Knot (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. Sue Margolis's style is similar to other writers in the chick lit genre like Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Jane Green. Her main characters are trying to cope with weighty emotional and personal issues but the book addresses them with style and humor. I laughed out loud several times while reading this book. The book is full of fun quirky moments and references, including a drag queen named Tequila Mockingbird and a dinner party with a chopped liver carved into the image of Nelson Mandela. At heart, the book is about a woman named Abby, a successful florist who is not-so-successful in her personal life until she meets a handsome movie producer/director and sparks start to fly. The book rises above the standard plot of a typical chick lit book because of it's wonderful cast of supporting characters including Abby's best friend, Soph, an extroverted Jewish girl with a great sense of humor, and Martin Scoredaisy ("Scozza"), Abby's gay floral assistant in the shop (who spends much of the book fighting for custody of his St. Bernard, Debbie Harry). My favorite character was Abby's mom, the subject of a funny sub-plot involving a passenger revolt on a cruise to Antarctica. All around, this is a quick and enjoyable read. I will definitely pick up other books by Sue Margolis on the basis of my experience with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, August 26, 2009
This review is from: Forget Me Knot (Paperback)
I am a fan of the Sophie Kinsella books and this falls into the similar chick-lit category. This was a pretty good book. The story was funny and I laughed out loud on a few occasions. The one thing that surprised me were the sex scenes. I don't consider myself a prude at all, but the graphic descriptions in the sex scenes caught me off guard. Personally, I don't need anything that graphic when I am trying to read an otherwise light-hearted book. If I wanted graphic sex scenes, I would pick one of those romance novels with the Fabio-type guys on the cover. It just seemed out of place. I would have assumed that there would just be a small description that let you know that they had done the deed - not a description that is a bit more on the pornographic side of things.

Anyway, it is a funny book. Just be prepared for a couple of graphic scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Totally predictable, September 4, 2009
By 
This review is from: Forget Me Knot (Paperback)
Forget Me Knot is fairly predictable and a very easy read. Everything is clearly laid out right in front of you. Margolis lays the clues out for the reader and uses simple words. She creates characters you know or quickly recognize. This book is the definition of chick lit in every sense of the word. The sex scenes are so graphic it's a cross between a watered down Anais Nin and Penthouse Forum. There are misunderstandings over silly movie-style things: something looks one way but in actuality is another. One party seethes while the other cries or broods. The couple comes back together. Then all is well in the end. Happy. Happy. There's no depth in Forget Me Knot. Which I suppose many people desire in a summer read. For me, it is just to light for reading fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Rosy Read (yes that's a pun), February 12, 2011
By 
Jacqueline Spence (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forget Me Knot (Kindle Edition)
This is a fun story, albeit a little ridiculous in that something like this would never happen... but then again that's why we read this sort of fiction right?
Flower shop owner (woman)with neuroses works through relationships to find the right man, the right fit and sorts herself out in every way in the process. If I say anymore it would require a spoiler alert. It's light and has some genuinely funny moments. I've read quite a few of Sue Margolis' books and enjoyed this one along with the others. The story was entertaining and it definitely kept me wanting to turn the pages and see what would happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, predictable and unfunny, March 15, 2010
This review is from: Forget Me Knot (Paperback)
I bought this book for a cross country flight. It ended up feeling like the longest and most boring flight I have ever taken. This book is predictable and uninteresting. I would have thrown it out mid-way, but ended up reading the whole book, thinking that it would have some twisted plot or clever ending. It does not. The whole plot, in so far there is one, is described on the back cover. The rest of it is just uninteresting fill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible!, January 25, 2012
This review is from: Forget Me Knot (Paperback)
What a terrible read! I always enjoy the occasional chick-lit book when well written ,but this one is beyond bad. It starts off great, but is so badly written and just plain stupid- for lack of a more poetic word, that it turns out to be a big disappointment at the end. Do yourself a favor and pass this one by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, September 5, 2009
This review is from: Forget Me Knot (Paperback)
there were a few surprises, some of it was predictable, but overall it was a fun and enjoyable read. i like the lightness of the main character and her humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Forget Me Knot
Forget Me Knot by Sue Margolis (Paperback - July 14, 2009)
$15.00 $12.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.