Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most exciting music I've heard in years!!!
I'm an old fart who's been passionate about rock/pop music for over 50 years and it's been a long time since I listened to an album at least ten times in a row upon first listening; Beach Boys - Pet Sounds; Beatles - Sergeant Pepper; Who - Tommy; Bowie - Ziggy Stardust; Kinks - Preservation Act 1; Rundgren - Wizard/A True Star; Springsteen - Born to Run; U2 - Boy; Prince...
Published on October 6, 2010 by Berklee Boy

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Morrissey is that you?
I really really wanted to like this album. The music was very good. A modern twist on post punk and 80's synth pop. Where it fails for me is the vocals on several songs. The singer has a great voice but the pseudo Morrissey thing is too much for me. I never liked Morrissey but I give him credit for defining his sound. This is too derivative to take seriously. If the...
Published on January 11, 2011 by polka dot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most exciting music I've heard in years!!!, October 6, 2010
By 
This review is from: Forget (Audio CD)
I'm an old fart who's been passionate about rock/pop music for over 50 years and it's been a long time since I listened to an album at least ten times in a row upon first listening; Beach Boys - Pet Sounds; Beatles - Sergeant Pepper; Who - Tommy; Bowie - Ziggy Stardust; Kinks - Preservation Act 1; Rundgren - Wizard/A True Star; Springsteen - Born to Run; U2 - Boy; Prince - Dirty Mind; REM - Murmur; Jane Siberry - Bound by the Beauty.

"Twin Shadow's (George Lewis Jr) Forget" is an amalgamation of everything I love about rock and roll. It's incredibly melodic, has heartbreaking lyrics, has echoes of all my favorite artists and yet stands completely on its own.

I never thought I'd feel like I'd fallen in love again the way I would as a teenager hearing an album for the first time. Do yourself a favor and give a listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite New Artists of 2010, December 18, 2010
This review is from: Forget (MP3 Music)
Between Forget and Treats (Sleigh Bells) 2010 has brought forth some strong new artists that bring not only quality but diversity in sounds of 2010. Twin Shadow progressive New Wave style are up dated with great break beats and a haunting vocal like a whisper in a dream. You'll either be dancing or just relaxing. The album walks a line that few do. In being both up beat and soft tempo, Twin Shadows is great for anyone looking for new music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Debuts of This Year, November 25, 2010
This review is from: Forget (Audio CD)
George Lewis Jr. is a man with a colourful past and careers in just about everything. Now with Grizzly Bears Chris Taylor as his producer he's released a great debut that harkens back to everything good about the 80's and 90's music scene. Lots of groups seek to emulate the sounds of the past but George Lewis Jr. under his moniker Twin Shadow doesn't simply imitate his influences he melds them all together into something refreshing. With vocal delivery akin to Morrissey, tribal and post-punk beats, new age synths and funky guitars Twin Shadow creates what can be taken either as a new spin on the classics or an homage of the highest caliber. The album is great but perhaps the best demonstration of that fact is the fact that 4AD North America's biggest alternative distributor picked the album up before it was even released. Stand out tracks include the extremely catchy single Slow, the titular track Forget, For Now and I Can't Wait. If your a fan of 80's new wave, post-punk and dance music give this a shot you won't regret it. Truly Forget is one of the best debuts of this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The single best album purchase I have made this year...., September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forget (MP3 Music)
....other than Twin Shadow's "Confess". This album is so good, I cant stop listening to both, I loop them when I am driving, at work, playing around in the garage. Having just gotten into chill wave or dream pop or whatever you want to call it, finding George Lewis Jr's work is a win win..........so good, cant say enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I agree with 'im, October 20, 2010
This review is from: Forget (Audio CD)
Likewise an oldie and this has hit my playlist. Haven't listened 10 times yet but expect to. Its fresh, and done well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Handshake, Secret Love, December 14, 2010
This review is from: Forget (Audio CD)
Call this an 80's Lo-Fi throwback, call it what you will. The fact of the matter is it's current. There's a reason why Twin Shadow's debut album "Forget" is on almost all tastemaker Top Albums of 2010. It's simply because it is. Can compete with these soulful beats! Favorite track is "I Can Wait" but you shouldn't to get this. Really. Do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Promising Artist Of 2010, November 8, 2010
This review is from: Forget (Vinyl)
This album is full on. We've all heard a lot of great music come out this year (Big Boi, LCD Soundsystem, Teen Dream, Local Natives, Cee-Lo, Sufjan Steven, J. Monae, Jamey Johnson, Phosphorescent, Gold Panda, Paper Tiger...), but no album released this year will be able to top Twin Shadows masterpiece. This album is 5 Star Classic. It has it all - retro grooves, new age beats, heartfelt lyrics and an overall sense of sincerity. This album should be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNFORGETTABLE, SPECTACULAR AND IMPRESSIVE!!!, October 27, 2010
By 
This review is from: Forget (Audio CD)
This year (2010) have seen and tasted the best of the best in music, we have seen a spate of strong releases in all genres that show no sign of diminishing by the end of the year.

We get a bump with another great record, Twin Shadow is made up solely of George Lewis Jr. (a Dominican-born) and if one had to classify his sound it would be somewhere on the soft rock/new wave spectrum. But it's tough to say something like that about an album so rich in detail, sophistication and emotion. The influence of Grizzly Bear's Chris Taylor is clear here as he assumes the role of producer. His penchant for making complex instrumentals fit together smoothly and unexpectedly is filtered through Twin Shadow's creative and occasionally poppy sensibilities.

Those pop ideals are often obscured in this album, but it is clear that Lewis has a talent for writing catchy and fun tunes. The album couldn't really be considered pop, but there are moments where the influence cannot be denied. The uplifting of strings to a major chord in "Tyrant Destroyed" is the first instance of this, and the glimpses keep coming, especially on almost every hook on the album. "Shooting Holes" is arguably the most immediate and accessible song here, and typifies the fun, feel-good aspect of Forget.

David Bowie continues to influence over time without stopping, this unique album that brings back memories of Tears For Fears (from their first album), Twin Shadow offers an album that will never forget, precious, dark, sometimes funny, with an excellent production, the most instantly loveable debuts of the year.

Twin Shadow has a very particular way of writing the lyrics of the songs, I'm astonished, full of deep metaphors, musically amazing, with special emphasis on some impressive bass lines makes this album indispensable. I dare say will be the best album of 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the 80s, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forget (MP3 Music)
Where has Twin Shadow been all my life? The synth and guitar-driven 80's pop/rock sound has always had a special place in my heart, and it's always refreshing to find a modern artist referencing this style. Unfortunately more often than not, it sounds forced and manufactured rather than genuinely nostalgic. Twin Shadow does a great job of recreating that musical era, while adding their (his) own personality to the tracks. Smooth, melodic, catchy, and emotional. Forget is a brilliant exercise in music and a must have for any fan of 80's style synth pop/rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forget (Audio CD)
This album has sort of a smooth vintage feel. It almost seems like a product of the 80s, which is an element of style that I can appreciate. The lyrics can be subtle, and almost sad at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Forget
Forget by Twin Shadow (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.