Forgotten and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$7.00
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Forgotten Hardcover – June 7, 2011


See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$4.99 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

The Girl at Midnight
"The Girl at Midnight"
For fans of Cassandra Clare's "City of Bones" and Laini Taylor's "Daughter of Smoke and Bone," this is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war. Learn more | See more teen reads
Available from these sellers.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Cat Patrick's debut won't be forgotten by readers. It's a page-turning mystery and a heartrending story of love, loss and...memories of the future. Don't miss this one."—--Gail Giles, award-winning author of Dark Song and What Happened to Cass McBride?

"A captivating psychological drama, a toe-tingling romance and a completely original premise, Forgotten is full of twists and turns you won't see coming."—--Daisy Whitney, author of The Mockingbirds, a 2011 ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults book

"Forgotten is a mind-bending experience that I devoured in one sitting. Cat Patrick's exciting and impressive debut still haunts me."—Jay Asher, New York Times bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why

About the Author

On a rainy November morning, new baby sleep deprived, Cat Patrick forgot what she was doing. She retraced her steps but instead of remembering, the idea for Forgotten was born.

Cat lives near Seattle with her husband and twin daughters who now, thankfully, sleep through the night. Forgotten is her debut novel.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 12 and up
  • Grade Level: 7 and up
  • Lexile Measure: 720L (What's this?)
  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; 1 edition (June 7, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316094617
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316094610
  • Product Dimensions: 6.2 x 1 x 8.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.2 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (133 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #703,038 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Cat Patrick is the author of Indie Next pick Forgotten, Revived, The Originals and Court, and the co-author of Just Like Fate. She lives near Seattle with her daughters. Visit her online at www.catpatrick.com.

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful By BookWhisperer on June 15, 2011
Format: Hardcover
A novel that will push readers to question "what if". London Lane is a very interesting girl that has to relearn her life every single day. After a traumatic experience as a child; London remembers the future, but can not retain anything from the past. This is a very intriguing concept, and readers will find their selves questioning the possibility of such an experience. Would it truly be possible for someone to survive living with no past memories? For London memories are erased every single day at 4:33 am. The only way that this young girl can force herself to remain even remotely normal is when her dedication to notes that she will have to reread every single day. As the story progresses some latent memories resurface giving readers hope for the future of this character. The story is very entertaining and will grab readers from the start. The conclusion developments anticipate a sequel the story, and what the future for London Lane will offer.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Annie on July 29, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book is very disappointing. It had so much potential. The plot sounded so amazing and original to me. It's too bad that it wasn't executed as well as I had hoped for. The only good thing about the book that I can think of is the plot itself.

I find the characters to be flat and boring. They don't grow or develop at the end like a typical YA novel. Of course, there is a solution the the memory problem London has, but did her character change? No. She's still the same London.

This book also has instant love, which to me is always bad. This book makes it even more unbearable because London falls in love with Luke before she even sees him. She doesn't remember the past, so she must write down what she's done in order to remind herself the next day. So, before she even sees Luke each day, she falls for him after reading her notes. I also don't see any chemistry between the two of them.

At one point, London and Luke has a huge fight. It was so bad that she decides to hide all her notes about him and tell her mom to never talk about him again. That is highly hypocritical since she basically did the same thing to him. She was being overly dramatic, but what made me roll my eyes is how she completely changes her mind and forgives him after ten to fifteen pages or so after the fight.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful By shortandsweet on June 23, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Taken from my blog, Never Gonna Grow Up! Reviews:

I've been having a hard time writing this review. I enjoyed "Forgotten" by Cat Patrick while reading it, but as it came to an end, I found myself disengaging from the plot line. Ms. Patrick is a very talented writer and I hate to put a negative vibe out there because as I said, I did enjoy "Forgotten", but the plot line was very ambitious and I just feel like it was missing...something. I'm not quite sure what that something is though. I enjoyed the ride and would definitely recommend it despite this weird hang up of mine.

Everyday is a new day, but we always come into it knowing what happened the day before. For London Lane though, all she has is a note. For some reason, London remembers things from her future, but not from her past. It sure doesn't make high school life or friendships/relationships easy. Talk about awkward! To top it all off, London is plagued with nightmares and she can't determine who they are about or the "when" these nightmares come from. She decides it's time to dig into her past beyond the notes and journals she keeps for herself. To quote goodreads.com, "Part psychological drama, part romance, and part mystery, this thought-provoking novel will inspire readers to consider the what-if's in their own lives and recognize the power they have to control their destinies."

"Forgotten" is such an interesting read and as I mentioned before, an ambitious concept. I really enjoyed watching London unravel her past without being able to access the memories locked in her mind. Ms. Patrick's writing is splendid. She took on a lot with this novel and I think she handled it quite well. I fell in love with the characters and the romance between our heroine and Lucas. It's just SO sweet.
Read more ›
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Books4Juliet on September 9, 2011
Format: Hardcover
I was so excited to read this book when I first saw it. I've read lots of good reviews pertaining to this book and I can't wait to see what it has for me. So here's what I thought:

A girl who forgot her past once she fall asleep is quite an interesting idea for a story. I'd say it's unique though some other compare this to the movie, 50 First Dates (which I loved). This, however have different twist since she sees and remembers her future--from what she's going to wear to school, whom she's going to talk to, and even what will happen to the people around her. I can't say I love London, though I admit she's extraordinary despite her condition. There are times I found her a bit annoying, and sometimes insensitive. Also, her relationship with Luke seemed too fast for me and not well-developed. On the other hand, I admire Luke a lot. He's handsome and hot, and he's a really nice guy. But I didn't feel the connection or the attraction between them, it felt like something is missing or lacking, which I still can't figure out yet.

The story is a fast read and I enjoyed it, though halfway across the book I wonder what the real mystery is about. I also felt that the heroine was more focused on her bestfriend's situation rather than her own. There are times that I thought it was all about her bestfriend Jamie. There are mysteries that suddenly unfolded and I was surprised with some of the revelations. But it seems that I had missed the climax of the story and I'm still wondering right now about some unsolved issues. Don't get me wrong, I like this book and I'm sure lots of the readers especially those who are fans of psychological drama and mysteries will enjoy it. I'm not just fully satisfied with the ending, nevertheless, I still recommend it, and I hope that if you read this book, you'll enjoy it more than I did.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?