Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Martha Stewart American Made Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Classics and Essentials in CDs & Vinyl Outdoors Gift Guide on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
on June 14, 2012
The book was good but I would have liked it better if the author had spent more time exploring the autistic child's world, their future as a family and how they were going to blend the child's "normal" in with their daily lives. Too much of the book was taken up with getting rid of the current wife. I guess as I grow older I find the graphic sexual content in these type of books distracting from the heart of the story - the child and autism was the draw for me and I was disappointed that was secondary to the love story. The title rang true in that the child was forgotten to a certain extent in exchange for the drama with the wife.The Forgotten Child
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
The Forgotten Child is a book full of emotional intensity that carries the reader into Emily's world where she is fed up with her no-good husband and decides the time has come to make a long-needed change. She takes her daughter Katy and hires on as housekeeper, nanny and cook for Brad who is a rancher and a father to an autistic son. It takes Emily some time to make Brad aware that the problems with his son are medical ones and that he needs special care and attention. Just as Emily settles into her position in the house and into a budding romantic role with her boss, his runaway wife returns and upsets the whole apple cart. Poor Emily is ousted and humiliated until Brad sees what's really going on and takes steps to straighten out the mess in his life. Until the end, a lot of heartache and trauma happen that force the reader to keep turning the pages.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
on February 8, 2012
I won this from Library Thing. It was a nice quick story, very well written and very realistic when it came to accepting an autistic child. I read this story in two evenings. There is everything from romance, love, anger, hurt, and everything in between in this story. Beware there is some sexual content. I would recommend this story for those who like a quick romance story.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on June 5, 2014
Very accurate title for this book. There was very little in the way of focusing on Trevor's autism and the supposed therapy for him. The book was more about an ill-tempered man who went from raging to having sex in a millisecond. The story was disjointed at times. For example, Emily was a klutzy, jumpy woman around Brad and in the next paragraph she's letting him rip her clothes off. Huh? No segue at all. The author says the book has been proofread and edited, but it definitely needs another proofing. This could have been a very sweet story if the author had stuck with the original intended story (based on my interpretation from the title and synopsis) and toned down the gratuitous sex.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on September 6, 2012
I have a grandson with autism. It was painful reading that the woman "helping" the child with autism was sitting him in front of the tv all the time...and that she did the same thing with her daughter. I could relate to the tantrums and humming coming from the boy, but if you're going to write about a child with autism, you should know fully what a day in their lives is truly like. The story was supposedly written about "The Forgotten Child" but the entire story mostly forgot about the children and focused mainly on the man and woman.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
49 of 61 people found the following review helpful
on July 26, 2013
This book was so full of grammatical errors, punctuation errors and nonsense prose that I could not believe it was written by an adult, much less edited and proofread! Every page was so full of glaring errors and obvious mistakes (incomplete sentences, fragments, contradictions etc.) that I found it a chore to read, even before the overdone and completely pointless profanity finally caused me to close the book in disgust.

Perhaps the author should look up the definition to the word "integrity" as well. I do not think it means what she thinks it means.

The story itself was based on an interesting idea, but the execution of it was just incredibly substandard. Unless you enjoy puzzling through senseless phrases, shallow plots, unlikable characters, offensive language and ideas and tired cliches, don't waste your dollar.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on December 23, 2011
What an amazingly in-depth look at a terrifying disorder weaved into a love story that at times wrenched my heart and at others had me shouting aloud my joy. When hesitant Emily finally decides that she has had enough of her crumbling marriage to Bob, she takes matters into her own hands and finds the strength to move on. With her two-year-old daughter, Katy, Emily moves in to become caregiver to three-year-old Trevor in the sprawling ranch owned by the ultra-sexy and brooding Brad. Brad, a man haunted by a terrible betrayal, finds it difficult to trust, and his bitterness is made even harder to face for Emily, who fast realizes that all is not what it seems with Trevor. But Emily persists, and she is just beginning to make headway with both Trevor and Brad when Crystal, Brad's estranged wife, suddenly appears on the scene again. Torn between her love for her child and her love for the family she has cared for, Emily chooses to back down. As Brad battles his demons, Emily continues to move forward, and both discover just how powerful love can be in this heartwarming and dramatic tale.

This is a great story of strength and healing. Ms. Eckhart did a fantastic job in weaving in the emotions all parents feel when they find their child is not like everyone else's. Her characters were human, with their faults and fears, and yet they find the strength and courage to overcome it all and learn to trust and hope. I highly recommend this story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on January 11, 2012
This was a very interesting book. The denial and then acceptance of dealing with a special needs child was very realistic and hit close to home. In this story Emily is separating from her husband and answers an add to take care of a young child and cook meals. The child is Trevor and he is autistic. Emily struggles to help his father understand what is holding his son back and the unusual behavior associated with autism. She seeks to help him cope and receive help for his son.

In the process there is romance, conflict and resolution. The elements that we love in a romance book.

There is adult content in the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
42 of 56 people found the following review helpful
on September 25, 2012
I hate to badmouth any author because writing is obviously close to his/her heart, but in this case, it's better to forget about purchasing "The Forgotten Child." The beginning captured my attention immediately -- a woman trapped in a loveless marriage who finally gets up the courage to tell her slug of a husband to get out. After that, however, it felt as if the author didn't have time to develop the characters or their relationships. It jumped straight into "Harlequin" mode, with a leading male character who couldn't seem to decide among being a workaholic, escapist rancher, an uncaring (or even caring) father who dumps his obviously troubled son onto a woman he barely knows, or the leading man the author obviously wanted him to be. The leading female character is a wimp who can't decide between being strong and helping her boss's troubled son or bursting into tears every time something happens. The plot line is unbelievable, at best. Had the author taken more time with the characters, developing the personalities as well as the plot, this story might have had a chance. As it is, I was only too happy to get it off my Kindle home page.

A little P.S. on another matter: The proofreading and editing of this novel were non-existent. If typos, misspellings, incomplete sentences, etc., interfere with your reading enjoyment, that is yet another reason to avoid "The Forgotten Child."
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on July 14, 2014
I really wanted to like this book. But I couldn't get past the language or the unlikely nature of the storyline. How could a woman with a 2-year-old child agree to be a live-in nanny without ever meeting the child or seeing where she would live? How could an educated man not see that his child needed more help than he could provide on his own? And how could he hire a nanny for that child without ever seeing if there was a connection between the child and nanny? It just wasn't logical and I couldn't finish the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.