Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric/Chuck, the Page/Plant of Thrash
With The Formation of Damnation, Testament delivers the thrash album of the year, hands down. Eric Peterson and Chuck Billy are rejoined by Alex Skolnick, Greg Christian and drummer Paul Bostaph to bring us the metal. Along side Slayer and Exodus, no other band has been as consistent and downright dedicated to give the fans what they want. Eric and Chuck, the heart and...
Published on April 30, 2008 by say 10

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the album, not for the tour edition
When The Formation Of Damnation first came out in '08, I was very excited. It showed the Testament that fans of The Legacy, The New Order, and Practice What You Preach really wanted to hear. Not saying that fans didn't want to hear another Gathering sounding album or that it was a bad album. I loved The Gathering. But Alex Skolnick was back in the band, and his presence...
Published on March 6, 2010 by Michael


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Chuck is back!!, May 8, 2008
This review is from: Formation of Damnation (Audio CD)
After dealing with a close call, (cancer neraly claimed singer Chuck Billy), Testament took a looooong time coming back. Had things gone any other way, would Alex Skolnick be back? Doubtful.

This album is meat and potatoes Testament, a mixture of "Low", "The Gathering" and elements of their "Practice What you Preach" heyday. Chuck sounds very powerful, like a vocalist going from strength to strength. Really, the only thing that this album is lacking is the full-bore speed blasts that made "The Gathering" so above and beyond aggressive.

I highly recommend this album, it was $12 well spent, and it is damn good to see this band back in the game. Match point--Metallica had better drag every once of strength from their arsenal to beat this album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 Star Retro Old School Metal, May 7, 2008
By 
takethekman (Oakland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Formation of Damnation (Audio CD)
Testament have been thru many changes over the years, both with revolving members and subtle changes in style. This CD marks the return of the great Bay Area thrash band going back to their roots, with a little bit of 'The Gathering' thrown in for good measure. It is nice to see a band still doing the time tested metal style of days past...and have it sound just as powerful and inspired as ever. Yes, I have heard the complaints that this is just a recycled sound, nothing new here. But fans of metal should be able to see the redeeming qualities of this CD...it's like an old friend you haven't seen for years, and he's doing better than ever. Lame analogy, I know. But you get the point. It is also nice to see Alex Skolnick back with the lead chores. I think Chuck Billy sounds great, and like the rest of the players, he sounds happy to be back into the game. Don't count these guys out!!! They still got it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ok...4 1/2, May 1, 2008
By 
This review is from: Formation of Damnation (Audio CD)
It was a nine year wait for this follow-up to The Gathering, probably one of the best metal albums of the last 20 years. How do you follow an album like that? Like this.

To be as succinct as possible, F.O.D. is a stylistic step back to their classic 80's thrash style, with the addition of heavier, more modern production. It's essentially 2/3 Souls of Black and 1/3 The Gathering. There's a lot more melodic and rhythmic structure here, track 6 even sounding a tiny bit like Opeth with the off time signatures. The brutal, hammering double kick of The Gathering isn't nearly as evident here. Chuck Billy has also mostly abandoned the death-style vocals of the last 2 albums.

Is this a good thing or a bad thing? For me it's a mixed blessing. I loved 80's Testament and still do, but I personally would have liked a bit more of The Gathering's unbridled aggression here, but that's a small quibble. This is still a whomper of an album and well worth the wait. It's a crying shame that the lunkheaded populace will spend all year moaning about how crappy Metallica is and ignoring these fantastic new discs from Anthrax, Testament and other contempories who have been making amazing music all these years to virtual indifference.

Great job guys. You keep making them like this, and we will keep buying them. Just don't make us wait another nine years please ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WAS IT WORTH THE WAIT?, April 30, 2008
By 
B. Glenn (Boling, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Formation of Damnation (Audio CD)
WITHOUT A DOUBT!!!!!

This album is an excellent effort. Considering it's damn near been a full decade since their last release, they have went through multiple cancer scares, lost family members, suffered broken bones and everything in between it's amazing that these guys even came back for another round!

Is this "The Gathering part 2"? The short answer is no....but if The Gathering is a 10...this album IMHO rates a 8.5 or 9. The writing is fantastic. You can tell the guys have been through many ordeals the last 10 years. My favorite is track #9 "Afterlife", which deals with the loss of a father..and does so without a harsh religious overtone.

Some of the tracks remind me in tone of vintage Metallica...and really makes you appriciate how unlike that band these guys have returned to their roots (although they never strayed THAT far...I'm thinking of The Ritual)

Vintage Thrash bands are putting out some amazing stuff here of late, Testament, Megadeth, Exodus, Death Angel, Prong and of course Overkill..all have given forth some spectacular work recently.

So my advice....if you are a fan of Testamant's rougher sound from Low-The Gathering...you will love this latest effort. If you long for Souls of Black or Practice What You Preach....that tone and sound has been long gone.

The ONLY problem I can come up with......come on guys...don't make us wait another 9 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars \m/ TestAmenT TestAmenT TestAmenT TestAmenT \m/, April 29, 2008
This review is from: Formation of Damnation (Audio CD)
I've being a fan since the mid 80's through thick and thin. No other band comes close to TestAmenT's dedication, musical craftsmanship and contributions to the music scene.

With this release TestAmenT stands their ground and blasts out with each track the skills they finely tuned over 2 decades. Attention grabbing vocals by Chuck, lightning fast riffs from Eric, jaw dropping solos from Alex (you are still a guitar shredding God!), Greg pounding the crap out of his bass and Paul filling in on drums. All of this equals = the perfect example of the legendary thrash gods re-united giving their fans what they want. A masterpiece that will be hailed throughout time.

To the younger generation of fans. Do yourself a favor. Run and get this CD now. Can't find it - demand it. Crank the volume to 12 and make your parents know that metal hasn't died. It's crawled back up from the underground and taking over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Return to Form For Testament!, July 16, 2008
By 
Kevin P. Sullivan (the lonesome crowded burbs of NoVA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Formation of Damnation (Audio CD)
I was a big Testament fan when the Legacy came out, and also really liked the New Order and Practice What You Preach. Obviously Alex Skolnick's guitar work was one of the main reasons I listened, and when I heard he was back I had to pick up TFoD. So far I really like it, a few repetive songs that aren't that great, but on the whole this is a solid release, and as mentioned before Testament seems to get heavier the older they get which is awesome. One thing I would mention, Skolnick's scorching guitar seems isn't as pronounced as I would've hoped, I really think a guitarist as incredible as him should be more forward in the mix. Paul Bostaph is an excellent drummer and a welcome addition to the original lineup. Overall, I'll give it 4 stars, one of the best metal records of the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!, July 1, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Formation of Damnation (Audio CD)
I usually dont bother with reviews but holy crap! this is metal at it best. I can only say these guys could hang with Pantera easily.That is saying alot.This will be my favorite album of 2008.It is great to know there are still musicans left in this bullcrap world of Rap and Pop.
Thanks Guys!! Talent like this is rare these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Gospel Of The New Testament, May 11, 2008
This review is from: Formation of Damnation (Audio CD)
Yes, all metal folks know the story now: Testament have returned nine years later with 95% of the original band and have put together an album leaning more towards their classic thrash sound. Sounds wonderful, eh? How could it not? Practically all online reviews of this album have been positive, and I do have to say I agree. While it may not kick you in the teeth the way The New Order did when you heard it so many years ago, it's refreshing and feels like a visit from old friends. This is a good thing coz this new album and reformation could have gone horribly wrong.
Yes, Testament have dug back into their classic thrash days for this album's sound(they even use the old band logo again). However it's not simply a halfassed retread of their glory days, but rather some good new songs in the old style that actually work. They didn't abandon what they did on The Gathering, there are still touches of that sprinkled all throughout the album too. Formation of Damnation is a bit more of a midpaced album with only a few speedy tunes. Usually this kind of thing worries me, but I found that I enjoyed pretty much all of it(I think there's only one song I don't care all that much for). I only have one small complaint about this album, and it's certainly not something to dissuade someone from getting it. That would be that most of the songs deal with the Bush Administration or war in the Middle East. These kinds of lyrics do absolutely nothing for me. I have seen and heard enough about the war and I have my own opinions about it, and I tend to listen to music to escape from things I read in the paper and see on CNN all the time. So, I really couldn't care less about the lyrics here. But hey, it's their songs and their album, so I figure they could write about damn near anything they want to, right?
All in all, I've been enjoying this cd quite a bit. It's a wonderful example of how a band like Testament simply doesn't peter out of existence because it's not the 80s thrash heyday anymore. If anything, their age and experience show that they are masters of their craft and they love what they do. You know time has gone by when you notice in the band's "Thank Yous" that most of them thank their wives and children. Personally I think that's a great thing being a family man myself now. Just goes to show that you're never too old to rock and roll. Formation of Damnation is definitely worth a listen, especially to the younger bands who should get a taste of how the big boys play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skolnick' s awesome comeback!!!, May 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Formation of Damnation (Audio CD)
This album is a metal masterpiece. Alex Skolnick's guitar work is outstanding and the drums are driving and brutal. Nowadays, by far Testament is the best Thrash Metal band in the world. Don't waste your hard earned money with Metallica, Slayer, Anthrax or even Megadeth's stuff, all of them sound completely outdated, while Testament's is full of vitality. Testament rules!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars headbangers, June 12, 2008
This review is from: Formation of Damnation (Audio CD)
god album but not as god as the gathering ,that album is more thrash and hard, the formation is more heavy metal ,whit great guitar from alex skolnick .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Formation of Damnation
Formation of Damnation by Testament (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.