Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look for the edition published by Prestel as well!
Anyone who 'knows' Dover books, will probably agree that they offer good quality for very reasonable prices. There is nothing 'wrong' with this book, except that all the plates are in black and white, and there is no information on Haeckel and his times. Prestel has also published this book of plates, with a highly informative article on Haeckel, his influences, and those...
Published on March 19, 2006 by Phoenicia

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Color edition is more fun
The one with the color plates is called
Art Forms in Nature: The Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Monographs) (Paperback)
# ISBN-10: 3791319906
# ISBN-13: 978-3791319902
Prestel Publishing (August 1998)

The quality, in the Prestel edition, is good enough for framing if you want to take the book apart. It is printed in Germany on acid free paper, of...
Published on August 16, 2009 by D K


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look for the edition published by Prestel as well!, March 19, 2006
By 
Phoenicia (Amsterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
Anyone who 'knows' Dover books, will probably agree that they offer good quality for very reasonable prices. There is nothing 'wrong' with this book, except that all the plates are in black and white, and there is no information on Haeckel and his times. Prestel has also published this book of plates, with a highly informative article on Haeckel, his influences, and those influenced by him included, AND with many of the plates 'in color' (that is, often one color in different -subtle - hues, or a color scheme based on two colors). Unless you are a strictly 'black and white' person, I would advise you to look for the Prestel book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science can be art and art can be science, July 25, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
Many patterns in nature are often overlooked. Haeckel captures the natural beauty of living creatures, presenting them in such a way as to spotlight their delicate forms. This black and white rendition of Haeckel's artwork is very impressive, adding a quality perhaps more pleasing to the modern eye than the color originals. Although no written text accompanies the plates, one still understands what the artist is conveying. Haeckel's grouping of the organisms in a very detailed, scientific manner is at the same time aesthetically pleasing to both scientists and nonscientists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Book, July 10, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
I purchased this book as a reference book for my personal library and found that my children also love it. The illustrations are stunning and helpful on both an artistic and scientific level.
I highly reccomend this book for artists and for anyone interested in nature (including children). My 10 year old lovers to try to draw the images and identify them.
This book is not for someone looking for photographic images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Color edition is more fun, August 16, 2009
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
The one with the color plates is called
Art Forms in Nature: The Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Monographs) (Paperback)
# ISBN-10: 3791319906
# ISBN-13: 978-3791319902
Prestel Publishing (August 1998)

The quality, in the Prestel edition, is good enough for framing if you want to take the book apart. It is printed in Germany on acid free paper, of decent weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ALL BLACK & WHITE - what an abomination!!!, July 1, 2009
By 
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
Buyer Beware! Even though the cover is in color (deceptively so in my opinion), all of the images in this book are in black & white! I wish I had read the description more carefully before buying. The colors in Haeckel's images are a HUGE part of what makes them so amazing. Check out the Haeckel images at Wikimedia Commons (commons.wikimedia.org) to see what I mean. Rendering them in black & white is a grotesque defacement of his work in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun book, but better version with CD available, April 23, 2007
By 
Barclay A. Dunn (Clifton, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
I recommend a different version of this book, also sold on Amazon - link below. I am not sure if it contains the same set of illustrations, but many of the illos are in color, and it includes a CD containing all the pics from the book.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second copy purchased!, April 16, 2009
By 
Tanya M. Peters (Perth, WA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
This book is a must have for any artist. This is the second copy I have purchased, as a gift for a very talented father in law. Being an artist, I am constantly looking for inspiration and this book delivers that in abundance! How nature created these natural forms.....is simply amazing.....you have to be in awe of them. If for nothing else, the beauty of these pictures will amaze you.....and to some of you, you may even know what they are! To me, they are art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the cost, June 27, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
Depending on what you are purchasing this book for...my interest was for fiber art work which it fits the bill totally. The drawings from Mr. Haeckel are superb. I only wish they were in color...which you can purchase the more expensive color plate book. But still this is quite worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was dissapointed, May 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
Though the images are stunning...I thought some would be in color. Not full color...but a monotone or duotone...not just black and white.

My professor had this book, but the images were monotones and duotones. So I am dissapointed. I guess I ordered the wrong one, but I really didnt have other choices. hmm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrific reference book, June 16, 2008
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
I have to say that out of all the books I own,this one is my favorite.If you are an artist,in any media,and have a love for the beauty in geometry in natural forms,this book is a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive)
Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) by Ernst Heinrich Philipp August Haeckel (Paperback - June 1, 1974)
$14.95 $9.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.