Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT racing, just not enough activities
The is a GREAT follow-up to Forza 4. The environment is stunning, the racing excellent, but I have a few complaints. Compared to Forza 4, you can hit 100% accomplished in Horizon FAR sooner than in 4. After Forza 4, there are far fewer cars than I was used to too.

Also, there are no NPC drivers for your custom online races, a major disappointment for folks...
Published 23 months ago by Mark Foshee

versus
46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Editions have been better...
Note that I am NOT reviewing Forza so much in this review but merely the collector's edition of the game.

The CE for Forza Horizons hasn't quite lived up to CE's of previous Forza titles. In the past we've gotten flash drives (pointless, yes, but they have purdy Forza graphics on them) and keychains (ditto) and even color booklets, soundtracks, etc...
Published on October 24, 2012 by J.S. Knapp


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Editions have been better..., October 24, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Note that I am NOT reviewing Forza so much in this review but merely the collector's edition of the game.

The CE for Forza Horizons hasn't quite lived up to CE's of previous Forza titles. In the past we've gotten flash drives (pointless, yes, but they have purdy Forza graphics on them) and keychains (ditto) and even color booklets, soundtracks, etc.

This one came with content. Content already in the game (I know this because the CE download was all of a few kilobytes.) No booklets, no trinkets, no doo-dads... Just an extra $20 bucks for stuff that'll probably be available for $10 bucks a few months from now.

Don't kick yourself if you didn't get the CE version - you'll do fine with the regular game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should've known better, May 25, 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Forza 4 and Gran Turismo 5 are two of my favorite games this generation. So for me getting the next Forza seemed like a no brainier, I guess I should've done my homework.

The team at turn 10 decided to go in a different direction with this game, they abandoned their simulation roots for an arcade style. This in itself would be a disappointment for me, but I might've been able to get past this if the game were enough, Burnout Paradise and Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2012) were both great arcade racers that I loved despite not having simulation elements.

Where this game really fails for me is in its presentation. Upon booting the game up you'll be treated to a cutscene which sets up the story. Here is the synopsis:
A bunch of bros go to Denver to all race their 'souped-up rides' and compete with other bros to win more rides bro.
Seriously it's drivel. If you choose not to mute the cutscenes you will here cars being referred to as 'rides' nearly a dozen times in the first hour. I would expect this from the Pimp My Ride game but not from the people that made Forza 4. The love and respect for cars that you've seen in GT5, F4, and the Top Gear tv series has been replaced by a vapid, Fast and the Furious style idiocy and this is the game's biggest failure.

As a collectors edition this game didn't hold much water either. For the extra money you get a cooler case and three download codes. That's it. No art book, lithograph, statue, model car, nothing. Kinda weak. But the case is really nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT racing, just not enough activities, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The is a GREAT follow-up to Forza 4. The environment is stunning, the racing excellent, but I have a few complaints. Compared to Forza 4, you can hit 100% accomplished in Horizon FAR sooner than in 4. After Forza 4, there are far fewer cars than I was used to too.

Also, there are no NPC drivers for your custom online races, a major disappointment for folks who, like me, like to race on their own. In Forza 4 you could pick any track and configuration and have a great race with a dozen NPC drivers. Nada in Horizon, making the custom races useless unless you want to dive into the chaos of online racing with trolls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best racers this year, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
When I first heard the new Forza was going to be free roaming yet still keep the Forza simulate driving I assumed Forza had lost it. Thankfully I was wrong. From the title screen, Horizon is a unique experience. Set in beautiful waiving roads of Colorado at the heat of Autumn. Horizon is celebration of cars. It's not just about being the first across the line, it also about exploration and learning how the cars handle outside the track. The gameplay is easy to learn yet difficult to master. You feel like you are playing an arcade racer until you hit a corner. The graphics are amazing the sounds is spot on. if you have a big screen with surround sound you'll love this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun on the open road!, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I wasn't sure what to expect when I purchased this, but it has been a lot of fun. I am enjoying being a "character" in the story at a car festival. You can compete in different races and events to gain popularity. Lots of fun so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 40+ hours playing/more of a playground game as apposed to Forza4, April 7, 2013
By 
David L Brooks (MOHAVE VALLEY, AZ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The game seems to loosen up as opposed to the competetive theme from Forza 4.

The negative first:
1. no instructions included or available, which forces you back to the forza site or the internet to ask questions which have few answers.

2. AI (artificial intel) figures are all anorexic and the female figures pretty much dress like prostitutes. Nobody in their right mind dresses like this "in these areas of Colorado" (lived there done that)(mom and dad, consider this image when you are buying for your children...my age appropriate scale may not be yours)

3.I gave it 4 stars because of the Message updates/no updates/ and former message updates/ you get when you first open the game. The game time server doesn't sync the messages accordingly. So though this game came out if the fall of 2012...some of your first messages are redundant and relate to november 2012 events that no longer exist...as I installed mine in march 2013.
(i'm in IT so my critique is more to the lazy programmers of this game since it has online multiplayer events, single player events, and ralley event tied to ForzaMotorSports.net...
Most messages are not deletable that are redundant...so you have to filter through all of them as they stack up in your bin when you do get new and recent ones. Definitely a Microsoft and XBOX programmer "I could care less" non deliberation and pre-marketing flaw.

4. though the graphics are decent...the Trac and road graphics are not overwhelmingly as great in my opinion as in Forza4 . (Kudos though to the Ralley tracks graphics.

5.Music he!! ...is all I can say for the "Radio" feature...

6. You can't adjust individual vehicle settings, Like tire air pressure...so those are not programmed into the game to help make a difference in the handling of the vehicles, so that means you are locked in to the preconfigured settings except for UPRADES like motors and suspension etc.

7.The graphics after taking snapshots of the cars you own are not as good as that in forza4.

positive comments...

1. Barn finds are sellable once you find them. You could put and extra 10,000,000 in your account for these so called rare cars...and if you don't use them...sell them to buy the cars you want. They can only be found when the Announcer/MC sends out a notice and at that time the barn doors hidding the car are opened. If you'll do #2 below first..all but 2 barn finds will be made available to you. The other 2 barn find cars will be made available as you further your racing-event activity.

2. Upgrades...Knock down all of the DAKS signs on the map...will take you a few hours...I did that the first day...it then gives you UNLIMITED upgrades at no charge to any car in the game. Do that first...go to your map settings and shut off all map features...the map will list the minimal and show you where the Red DAK signs are. Once you've knocked one down it credited to your account as a discount % and it greys out in color.

3. 2,000.000 points available via a glitch in the game.(won't give you any more than that)...just search at y o u t u b e and you'll find out how.

4. use can use that glitch to make the car used to make use of the vulnerability in the game as a jumping ramp to get "Air Time" points...

5. Off road Ralley...Love it...you can make any car a ralley car...but in single player mode you can only use your choice of 5 ralley cars made available by the game itself. (limited choice because real ralley cars are limited and Forza figured part of that into the game).

6. illegal street races. Doing #2 first above allows you to upgrade free for street racing.

7. Multiplayer racing...is what it is like in Forza 4.

8. My XBOX 360 has not locked up once with this game due to what I'm sure is the pull back from partial high-def graphics and additional car features not being adjustable...I have over 60 hrs in on this game so far...not 1 glicth yet. In Forza 4 I can expect at least 1 glitch every two hours of heaviy racing and use as it does make the GPU work hard.

Just OK comments...
1. The game features the ability to ROAM the mapped area freely...but that area is very limited.
2. The limited addition does come with the free VIP...***butttt***don't activate the game online via your XBOX.com account. ***Activate (enter the key) while you are IN GAME...or even though your game shows VIP status after you insert the game...it will still show you that you need to purchase the VIP status so if you forget you have it...you will be charged $$$ for what already came with the game...no fix to this from XBOX...
3. you can use in game earned credits to purchace cars and paint and decals...but make sure you choose Credits over COINS...press the appropriate button for the proper choice.
4. The packaging is OK but not woth the extra money...and slides out of a plastic sleave...so don't cut up your sleave trying to get the aluminum DVD disk holder out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun racing game, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
There are two kinds of racing games: simulation and arcade. I am not a big enthusiast so I don't like the hard core simulations (the usual forza/F1/nascar/etc). But the arcade ones just seem cheesy (burnout paradise was amazing though, old need for speed games go here). This is a good mixture of both.

It doesn't get 5 stars because of how they did the DLC. The limited edition pack comes with 2 "tokens" (things you buy in the game) but the only stuff I would get cost 3 or above. Also you have to buy DLC to, not just unlock cars, but to have cars available for purchase with credits (things you get in the game) or tokens. It is rather silly and complicated to me. But it is fun to just race around.

The flexible difficulty settings are really good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Happiness turned into Sadness, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game was good fun, game play is great but after I read over the game the disk stopped working with not a scratch on it, good game play is useless without a working disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best but still fun, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I am a huge Forza fan getting the LCE for 40$ not a bad deal gives you vip witch give you some cool cars LCE designed cars and day one DLC witch have some cool cars you also get 2 tokens good for buying a car and if you spend 80 msp you can get the treasure map to find all the barn finds and the discount signs so you wont have to pay for upgrades once you find all 100 signs....there is not as many cars Forza 4 had 653 cars Forza Horizon only has 187 before Aprils car pack witch is likely to only have 6 cars like the other car packs...the game is still fun to play

PROS-cheap
free roam
king game type is lots of fun
lots of cool areas to race and drift
game roads are not crazy seems realistic unlike need for speed
CONSNO drive train conversions FWD-RWD OR AWD TO RWD OR VISE VERSA
Upgrade menu has been slightly scrambled
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, November 1, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Not like forza, more like NFS, but still fun. Has hidden things to find which makes it both fun and frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Forza Horizon Limited Edition -Xbox 360
$79.99 $58.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.