Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOUGH LOVE REVIEW!!
I am a long time fan of the Forza series and let me say right up front that this 'Ultimate' edition is the BEST racing game ever and the BEST deal ever at $30. The amount of tracks is STAGGERING, and the newer tracks are much prettier than the standard tracks we have seen before in the series. They finally got inspired to make pretty tracks with great car graphics. The...
Published on December 3, 2010 by Fan

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but TOP GEAR DLC NO LONGER WORKS
The game itself is outstanding. Not a lot to say there.

But be aware if you purchase this: the codes for the Top Gear DLC advertised on the box NO LONGER WORK. This content is no longer available from Xbox Live. There's not a lot of information about this on the net, but it's documented on the official forums at [...]

If you attempt to redeem the...
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOUGH LOVE REVIEW!!, December 3, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I am a long time fan of the Forza series and let me say right up front that this 'Ultimate' edition is the BEST racing game ever and the BEST deal ever at $30. The amount of tracks is STAGGERING, and the newer tracks are much prettier than the standard tracks we have seen before in the series. They finally got inspired to make pretty tracks with great car graphics. The car physics are better than ever, and the tracks have a very good sense of speed. This game has the first 'cockpit' camera view that actually feels like you are in the cockpit. They FINALLY got the replay system really awesome, with a great variety of replay options. The new REWIND feature is much preferable to restarting a race a hundred times, IMO. The game is fun, fun, fun, and tracks like the old LeMans Circuit should make a fan out of anybody.

So why the 4 star review???

Simple. The stuff that sucked about the first couple games got worse. It is time for us fans to make it clear what we don't like about this game so the producers will fix it. If they fixed the lack of replay camera options than they sure can fix this other stuff, but we have to let them know...

1) The horrible multiple menus presentation got worse. The season calendar feature is pointless and the menu of race events is absurd. They present you with about a hundred squares and no information at all. You literally need to move to each square to figure out what race it is. As usual, you need to backspace through many menus to accompolish anything like changing your car or upgrading.

2) To start a race, the repetitive camera panning around the car instead of showing what you are doing has gotten ten times worse. Now you literally have to look at the side of your tire rim until the race begins and it is IMPOSSIBLE to rev your tach correctly for a launch because they rev it randomly right up until the race has actually begun. TOTALLY NOT ACCEPTABLE!!

3) They added a 'quick upgrade' feature to allow you to make 'automated' upgrades (meaning they choose the upgrades and not you) to your car before a race event INSTEAD OF SIMPLY LINKING YOUR NORMAL 'UPGRADE' FUNCTION TO THE RACE EVENT LIKE THEY SHOULD HAVE. Sorry but I want to pick my own upgrades and the choices they make for you are wrong. For instance, they add heavier stuff like intercoolers and oil coolers to your car INSTEAD of adding weight reduction items. Bad choices. You can still wade through a dozen menus to find your regular manual upgrade options, but again you should just be able to instantly jump to manual upgrade from any point.

4) Why no qualifying? This is a racing sim.

5) The tuning feature seems to have become more time consuming with a couple more screens to wade through to save and load your set-ups and the set-ups are even less universal, meaning that you can't just have a general set-up and apply it to all 'Corvette Z06s', for instance, but you need to have all the same individual components exactly the same or it will try to swap them for you. Hard to explain but you will notice this when you have changed your car slightly and try to re-use a standard tuning set-up.

6) They go to the trouble of giving you TWELVE different controller set-ups but no full customization option. This is a major pet peeve of mine about all video games. They need to let us pick our own controller options, PERIOD. They should give you three options maximum and let you FULLY 100% CUSTOMIZE a fourth to your liking.

IN SUMMARY, this was a tough love review. Yes the game is the best and I love it. However if we don't voice our opinion than they won't fix the bad stuff and that is all this review was about, not trying to ruffle any feathers but aiming to provide constructive criticism. Hopefully if we all mention what needs to be improved than Forza 4 will have slick menus, custom control options, and MOST IMPORTANTLY how about qualifying AND let us see the race track and control our tach when starting a race for crying out loud!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want a good racing game on your 360, buy this one!, December 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
OK, first I'm going to explain what this edition includes. It includes all the DLC of FM3 (except the VIP Pack, so don't expect to drive the Corvette ZR1 or the Aston Martin DB9 in the same moment you install the disc), you install this disc in your 360 and you don't use it again (unless you unistall something by mistake and want to reinstall it). This version also includes three codes to download some Top Gear content: a theme, an exclusive car pack, and a collection of videos from Top Gear which is a good collection (I'm a huge Top Gear fan from a long time ago and they really make a good choice of videos).

If you don't have FM3 already and want a game that has one of the best realistic physics engines (I'm not going to say it, GT5 Physics engine is best in some things and FM3 in others) buy this one, is the best simulation game on Xbox 360, I have played the game from a year ago and I still play it, I bought F1 2010 (which is good) but I still prefer this game. Every car has a very deep customization options, the visual options are very good (at the beginning is maybe a pain in the ass but when you get used to this, you can get really good designs!), also I really love the storefront, you can buy from a single logo, a simple tuning to a complete car design, for example, I have the Walter Rohrl design in my Quattro.

Seriously, both FM3 and GT5 are good games, but if you don't have a PS3 and want GT5, this is a really good choice, even you can forget about the need to buy GT5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Racing Game, November 20, 2010
By 
Y. Yin (SAN GABRIEL, CA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The graphic performance and sound effects are really good. Painting system is my favorite; you will be amazed by global players' highly performed vinyls and designs in their storefronts. Comparing to the original edition which I bought last year, this newly issued Ultimate Collection is a great bargain for first-time buyers because it contents all download car and track packs (except VIP car pack) over the past year that totally cost more than $30 in online market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gearhead and racing sim fan - approves of Forza 3, February 12, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Forza 3 Xbox

Forza3 was truly impressive. Coming from the PC as an avid racing sim player, I had the Logitech G27 wheel/pedal/shifter set and would routinely play GTR2, GTR Evolution, Race 07 WTCC, Richard Burns Rally, and other driving games. I wasn't expecting much from Forza3 but after reading so many rave reviews, I gave it a shot.

The controls are wonderful! Driving using the Xbox controller is absolutely fantastic, although it is still a step back from a G27, but it takes up a fraction of the space and is easy to learn.

The number of cars is astounding, and although nowhere near as comprehensive as Gran Turismo, it focuses on variety and a lot of "cool" cars. While GT5 will provide 300 different varieties of Datsuns, Forza3 has cars like the Cobalt SS Supercharged, Toyota MR2, Focus RS, 2010 Taurus SHO, Dodge Ram SRT-10, Ferrari California, Audi S5, Mazdaspeed MX-5, etc... It is truly diverse. The cars are somewhat customizable with canned performance selections and engine/drivetrain swaps, and vinyl/paint upgrades.

One of my complaints is that the game was made around the time the Cobalt SS Turbocharged was released in the market (2008). Turn 10 was able to include the 2010 Taurus SHO and Ferrari California, but kept only the Cobalt SS Supercharged and not the Cobalt SS Turbocharged. This was perplexing as the LNF powered Cobalt SS Turbocharged runs neck and neck with the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X MR / GSR which was included in the game. It would have been nice to see a lowly Chevy Cobalt in the C class of cars. However, one can purchase a Cobalt SS Supercharged and do an engine swap to the LNF. Forza3 incorrectly calls this a "Pontiac" LNF as the LNF was first used in the Opel GT, which we know as the Saturn Sky Redline. The Pontiac Solstice GXP also used this engine a few years before the 2008 Cobalt SS Turbocharged was released. I was able to upgrade a Cobalt SS Supercharged to the same level as the real-world SS/TC and it is a blast to drive.

Forza3's limitations as a simulation come into play with how the cars handle and how the tracks are arranged. With a few tweaks, my Cobalt SS Turbocharged was an A class car, maxed out to the brim. While the massive torque steer made it a handful to drive on road courses, it was somehow able to stave off Corvette Z06s! A lot of the cars exhibited severe understeer, and the use of the e-brake (as gentle as possible) causes massive loss of rear traction. Throttle lift-off oversteer, commonly experienced on front-wheel drive performance-oriented cars, was strangely missing from a lot of the cars.

The FIA curbs also somehow slow down your car in the game, and hitting certain surfaces of grass or concrete will cause your car to bog down. I suppose this was Turn 10's way of penalizing you for shaving corners vice deduction of points, but they also took a lot of liberties with the track layouts. The driver's head also doesn't follow the apex of the turn, which makes it hard to see where you are going during a turn.

The various racing events inject variety. There are open sessions as well as specific class/performance limited events. There are also drag races and speedway events. The most exhilarating races are Nordschleife and that insane drifting course in Japan. I am impressed with the loading times of Forza3. Even on a relatively powerful PC, GTR2, GTR Evo, and other racing sims take awhile to load Nordschleife due to the massive course. Forza3 loads it up in the same time it takes to load up much smaller tracks.

I have to deduct 1 star for some of the car selection choices, taking liberties with the track layouts, the driver's head not following the apex, and a somewhat confusing performance upgrade system. Putting on grippier tires seems to make my car have a much higher performance index than doing some massive power upgrades.

Overall: 4/5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but TOP GEAR DLC NO LONGER WORKS, February 4, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Madison, Wi United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The game itself is outstanding. Not a lot to say there.

But be aware if you purchase this: the codes for the Top Gear DLC advertised on the box NO LONGER WORK. This content is no longer available from Xbox Live. There's not a lot of information about this on the net, but it's documented on the official forums at [...]

If you attempt to redeem the codes on Xbox Live, you'll get a message stating that the codes are invalid.

Very disappointing, as I purchased this version of the game solely to get that DLC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is simply the ultimate racing game around., November 13, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
After playing through this, I was saying, "Gran Turis-Who??". We don't need nothin' else. This is all we need. [...] bucks gets you over 300 hours of gameplay. 2 discs of racing heaven. Gorgeous graphics, control, customization, and sound. Great tracks, hundreds of authentic cars, and wonderful presentation. This is seriously the only racing game you'll ever need. The absolute ultimate package right here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the purchase of an Xbox!, January 5, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I purchased an Xbox specifically for this game. I love racing games. After waiting many years for Gran Turismo 5, the final product lacks a lot. Good, but lacking. So I decided buy an Xbox with Forza 3. Naturally, I can't help but compare the two games.

Firstly, I've been a big Gran Turismo fan since GT1, so I really struggled with the idea of buying Forza 3. Even worse, buying an Xbox! Here's how I view both games:

GT5 separates their cars into two categories, standard vs. premium (or used vs. new) There are over 800 standard cars and over 200 premium cars. The standard cars look terrible. They are cheaply modeled relics from the Playstation 2 era. They have no interiors or proper physical damage (they simply warp when crashed). They should be called "sub-standard" instead. Premium cars, however, look stunning inside and out!

All of Forza 3's cars look better than 'Grid', but not as good as GT5 premium cars. Still great looking though. And remember- Forza 3 cars look better than 80% of the cars in GT5!

All of GT5's cars sound horrible. They sound more like electric shavers. Nothing realistic about them at all.

Forza 3 cars sound AMAZING and totally add to the driving excitement.

As far as physics go, GT5 physics are slightly better than Forza, especially under braking. Otherwise, both games have comparable physics in my opinion.

As for overall fun, I would rate Forza at 5 stars and GT5 at 4 stars. Forza is reason enough to buy an Xbox. GT5 is not a good enough reason to buy a PS3. And that's really saying something, because I strongly believe that the PS3 is a much better system, but Xbox has the better racing game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A steal!, December 10, 2010
By 
Pete (Aurora CO) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This review is for the Forza 3 Ultimate Platinum Hits

At $30 MSRP you can't go wrong with this one.

It includes all of the downloadable content that they ever released (except the ones that came out after this package was included like the Jalopnik Community Choice Classics Pack released on December 14th,2010) but you get all of the previous DLC without having to download them, simply play the game.

The Top Gear themed DLC is worth about $10 by itself. You get:

-Stig's Garage 3 Car Pack
Includes Koenigsegg CCX (should've been in the game when it first came out IMO), Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG and the all awesome Lexus LFA which is the deal breaker in this DLC, that car is just awesome!

-Top Gear Video Feature
It's not really an episode per say but rather a compilation of segments of the all funny Top Gear show, most of the segments are from cars featured in the game such as The Lexus LFA and the Ferrari 458 Italia and other random segments like Ken Block's feature in Top Gear. The whole 'episode' (if you can call it that) is 1 hour and 22 minutes long and generally speaking is 1GB in size, sadly it's not in HD.

-Top Gear Theme
Not much really, it's just a picture of the stig in the background and some modeled cars in the friends list, check out the picture I've uploaded.

Finally, just to make things clear: You do have to download all of the Top Gear stuff and you do NOT need an XBOX Live Gold account, a Silver account will suffice, the rest of the extra content comes in the discs.

All in all this is an awesome deal, if you loved Forza or still haven't got around to play it, you must definitely have to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breakthrough in "Accessible" Game Design, August 29, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
There are two common methods of teaching new players how to play a game within the industry. One approach is where no significant resources are put into teaching at all. It is assumed that the player already has prior experience with a game of this type. The other is where the game patronizingly wrestles control away from a player to cover the most basic of information, and yet stunningly somehow still manages to gloss over the most vital, complex components of the game. Both approaches are frustrating and limit the broad appeal a title could possess if more time and energy were put into finding an elegant means of showing new players the ropes.

The gameʼs most impressive element is how much care and attention went into ensuring that anyone could pick up and play the game, no matter their level of expertise. The gameʼs Rewind function is a stroke of genius, allowing the player to undo pivotal mistakes during a race as many times as they wish. The game provides a variety of optional Assist features that help players perform certain actions such as braking at high speeds. The single most significant feature of the game is the Suggested Line, a feature which paints a colored path along the entirety of the track. This line shows the player the optimal way to progress through a track, as well as teaching the player the best timing to perform actions like slowing down during a tight turn.

These features combine to form an elegant method of encouraging the player to become better at the game in an active way while never taking control away from the player to teach an important lesson. In fact, elegant is the one word which most aptly describes Forza 3. It is one of the most well-designed and accessible games ever made, able to appeal both to gamers who have never tried a racing game in their life and to those who are madly in love with the automotive industry and the genre. Its presentation, realism, and fetishistic attention to detail easily compete with or surpass the legendary Gran Turismo series, and the game provides an intense challenge for those who would seek it.

One of the biggest challenges that developers face in the industry today is the large "barrier of entry" that games have when compared to other mediums. Control schemes, interfaces, and methods of teaching differ with every game, and there are few universally accepted "standards" within the medium. Although this is a problem that will not soon be solved it is likely that if all games were as elegant and thoughtful in their approach to teaching and accessibility as Forza 3 is the medium would have a far broader appeal than we might possibly imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False Advertising! Be aware..., March 2, 2014
This review is from: Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Forza Motorsport is well know as a great racing game and Forza 3 still makes a lot of fun...

But be aware! The "Top Gear DLC" is advertised on the front cover but it's impossible to download it. It was taken down from the marketplace.
As one of the other reviewers said: "Very disappointing, as I purchased this version of the game solely to get that DLC."

Don't think about getting support to resolve this issue:

-Turn 10 says it's Microsofts fault -[...]
-Microsoft says it's Turn 10s fault -[...]

It's a shame that companies talk about their great community but leave them alone if the game is a little bit older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Forza 3 - Ultimate Platinum Hits -Xbox 360
$44.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.