Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No-frills outdoor camera, cheap but works
I own a bunch of these. They are cheap, and the build quality is the same as the price tag.

Pros:
- Works great, easy to configure if you understand PC networking.
- The camera and enclosure appear to be water-proof. They have survived several significant rainfalls since mounted.
- The IR does work at close distances at night. Extra IR lights can...
Published on October 3, 2012 by Phil Ciccone

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality control issues, buyer beware
For a review of the actual product, please refer to my review here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004KVKATQ

I agree along the same lines in regard to reviewing this 2-pack of Foscam FI8904W cameras as I did for the single FI8904W in the other review. The only difference here is that this 2-pack comes with the standard 6mm 42 degree viewing angle...
Published on January 4, 2012 by C.S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No-frills outdoor camera, cheap but works, October 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I own a bunch of these. They are cheap, and the build quality is the same as the price tag.

Pros:
- Works great, easy to configure if you understand PC networking.
- The camera and enclosure appear to be water-proof. They have survived several significant rainfalls since mounted.
- The IR does work at close distances at night. Extra IR lights can be installed on the viewing area to add additional invisible lighting.

Cons:
- VERY IMPORTANT: The power supply that connects to this camera is NOT waterproof. It must be mounted in a box where it connects to your electrical source.
- The mounting bracket is crap. Expect to add some glue to the joints to hold them in place once it is set in position.
- The quality is a max of 640x480. Don't expect any fine detail or any zooming capability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality control issues, buyer beware, January 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foscam FI8904W Outdoor Wireless/Wired IP Camera with - 2 Pack (Electronics)
For a review of the actual product, please refer to my review here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004KVKATQ

I agree along the same lines in regard to reviewing this 2-pack of Foscam FI8904W cameras as I did for the single FI8904W in the other review. The only difference here is that this 2-pack comes with the standard 6mm 42 degree viewing angle. Aftermarket 3.6mm wide angle lenses may reflect glare off the glass cover from the IR LEDs. Best to buy lenses directly from the seller or Foscam.

PROS: Easy setup. Good image quality in natural daylight, although direct sunlight will deteriorate picture quality. Included camera finder software is good to get the IP address of the camera to get started. So home network setup is easy. Integrated web browser software is good and gets the job done. Functions like motion detection and alerts work well. Weather resistant as it was 8 degrees this morning with below 0 wind chill. I use a 3rd party software to manage all my cameras and these Foscams intergrate perfectly with all the functions intact. It appears Foscams are widely supported by many 3rd party programs as opposed to some of the cheaper knock-offs that are around.

CONS: Trees and grass appear grayish and washed out. Image quality when lighting is dim outside is mediocre; the IR LEDs will come on wash the image out. Any surface that is close to the IR LEDs will reflect that hot spot. At night, reflective objects will shine like a beacon through the camera. One camera had malfunctioning IR LEDs. Half of them were out on arrival and setup. The wireless connection failed after a few days of use on the same camera. What use is the ethernet cable to me when I need a wifi camera? The mounting hardware was terrible. If you tightened the nut of the base stalk to the mounting flange too much, you will have essentially stripped the hole. The remedy was to have a nut and washer on either side of the mounting flange to stabilize the unit. Another disappointment was the size and arrangement of the power cord. There is no way to effectively remove the ethernet connection jack. So if you intend to run your wires through the wall, be prepared to use a 1 and 1/4" hole saw. The main power cable couldn't be larger than 1/2" diameter, but that damn ethernet port is bulky.

Basically, if you get two functional cameras, you are golden. But if even one camera is junked then you'll have to deal with returning BOTH, waiting for a refund, and then reordering with your return credit. It can takes 10 days or more for this cycle. My advice is to buy one at a time. At least you'll not be out two cameras when only one is malfunctioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not wide angle only 42 degree., February 29, 2012
By 
Chris (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Only 42 degree not wide angle!
Good and easy installation, nice resolution.
Mounting bracket need some improvement so that it stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars called customer service bc i had to reset the camera, June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foscam FI8904W Outdoor Wireless/Wired IP Camera with - 2 Pack (Electronics)
Ralph Mendez was the agent that helped me figure out my camera issues and he was very very helpful! Love having this camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Got it working with zoneminder (LAMP Based CC tv Software)., March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foscam FI8904W Outdoor Wireless/Wired IP Camera with - 2 Pack (Electronics)
Got it working with zoneminder (LAMP Based CC tv Software). Best for price for outdoor wireless cams at time of purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad day image but very poor at night., February 22, 2014
By 
John Anderson (Hobart, Tasmania, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Foscam FI8904W Outdoor Wireless/Wired IP Camera with - 2 Pack (Electronics)
I just received the FI8904W in the post. nice solid looking device although I agree with other comments that the mounting bracket is not well designed AT ALL.

I also find the wireless antenna on the back too rigid (non directional when tightened) and it concerns me that when it is fully tightened the antenna presses very hard against the casing.

The quality of the video is so so and I agree again with other comments in this section. You really get what you pay for with this device and it aint a lot. But setup is relatively easy - especially if you've done it before - and the ability to remote in and check video (from outside your home) or receive emailed images when motion is detected are very handy.

The unit I have is faulty - unfortunately. It doesn't like direct sunlight at all and keeps rebooting when placed outdoors where the glare is too bright. Or it may also be something to do with the cable into the back of it. I'm not too sure how to test it further. Sitting the unit on my desk pointing into the room seems to work fine. aim it out the window and pow, gone into endless reboots.

The other downside is that I live in Australia and its going to cost me to return the item. I think I will be asking for a refund and looking to buy my IP cameras from local distributors in future.

Guess i got lucky with my first Foscam!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars no help hooking up, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foscam FI8904W Outdoor Wireless/Wired IP Camera with - 2 Pack (Electronics)
can't get computer to connect to camera...no help....people that can't speak english and could care less..plus could barely hear her on the phone with all the noise and yelling in the backround.....very unsettling...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 5VDC operation only - beware, December 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Voltage of operation was not specified. Cameras operate from 5VDC supply, whereas our entire system runs from 12VDC (car battery) supply. Product was returned and refunded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great customer service, November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foscam FI8904W Outdoor Wireless/Wired IP Camera with - 2 Pack (Electronics)
The Foscam camera works great, it has great night vision and the customer service from Irish was quick and excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars don't waste your time, November 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foscam FI8904W Outdoor Wireless/Wired IP Camera with - 2 Pack (Electronics)
It worked for about a month and then that was it, the picture will come on for a while and then gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.