Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love it!
Paleontologist Dr Katie James has it all ~ beauty, brains, a successful career.....and a debilitating phobia! Determined to overcome her weakness, Katie devotes herself to the discovery and investigation of fossils, comfortable that her faith and profession can go hand in hand.

Dr Nick Murad is highly skilled, thorough and intent on beating Katie James to every...
Published on April 23, 2008 by Rel Mollet

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fair tale, but way too much "chase and hide" and more chasing and hiding.
"Fossil Hunter" starts with a good premise, that of archeologist in competition to discover ancient whale fossils. In the end, the book loses the competition between the two groups and degenerates into race here, chase there, hide from bad guys, and does not really come to much of a climax. Some romantic elements were also here, but they came up lame, in my...
Published on March 9, 2009 by John Thornton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love it!, April 23, 2008
This review is from: Fossil Hunter (Paperback)
Paleontologist Dr Katie James has it all ~ beauty, brains, a successful career.....and a debilitating phobia! Determined to overcome her weakness, Katie devotes herself to the discovery and investigation of fossils, comfortable that her faith and profession can go hand in hand.

Dr Nick Murad is highly skilled, thorough and intent on beating Katie James to every fossil remaining undiscovered in the known universe! Uncompromising in his belief of evolutionary theory, Nick jumps at the chance to search for fossils in the previously prohibited hot spots in Iraq. He just didn't count on Katie James getting in his way.

Political intrigue and Iraqi governmental and religious rivalry set Nick and Katie against each other in a tantalising race to uncover the remainder of a whale fossil purported to be in the Al Muthanna desert. When Katie's team is attacked, Nick Murad is the last man on earth Katie wants to save her.

John B Olson's fourth novel is rip roaring hit! Katie is by no means your everyday heroine ~ she is gutsy, brilliant, passionate about her faith and career with a vulnerability brought about by her neurosis, which only adds to her appeal. Nick is an equally well drawn character, smart, attractive, fulfilled by his career, if not his choice of women, and requiring more than a brief pep talk to consider creation by intelligent design. Their interaction is entertaining and electrifying. Action, adventure and humour abound, scene descriptions are so detailed I felt myself sweating in the desert and the seamlessly interwoven discussion of scientific theory and intelligent design, stimulating and engaging. John's PhD in Biochemistry has been put to good use in this novel yet at no time did I feel confused by the jargon. Fossil Hunter will appeal to men and women and has my highest recommendation. I would love to see Katie and Nick hit the big screen one day ~ eat your heart out, Indiana!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and exciting romantic adventure!, April 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fossil Hunter (Paperback)
There's nothing I like more than a fast-paced romantic adventure/suspense novel with a little humor thrown in. This book certainly did not disappoint. I have to admit to being somewhat skeptical of male authors writing female characters, especially if there is any romance involved. However, I have read all of John Olson's books, and I am always surprised at how perceptive he seems to be. I hope you will like this adventure as much as I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fossil Hunter Review, May 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fossil Hunter (Paperback)
What a great book! It's an exciting adventure, a surprising mystery, a good romance and even manages to be educational, all at the same time. John B. Olson has done it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones-style adventure with a twist of faith..., May 30, 2008
This review is from: Fossil Hunter (Paperback)
I initially balked at the opportunity to review Fossil Hunter because on the back of the book there's an advertisement proclaiming the book is part of the "Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed campaign." Oh no...the dreaded threat of agenda-driven fiction! Thankfully, my concern has proven utterly unfounded. Fossil Hunter is a thoroughly absorbing thrill ride that takes readers from the halls of academia to the deserts of Iraq. Katie James is a renowned paleontologist who suffers from demophobia - a debilitating fear of crowds. That, plus her Christian faith, has caused her academic creditionls to come under fire. Believing her work and her faith can go hand-in-hand, Katie is desperate to prove herself and secure the funding her university needs in order to continue her research. She's sent into Iraq with the task of finding a potential new species of whale which could prove to be a new link in evolutionary theory. She finds herself in a race opposite her arch-rival Dr. Nick Murad. However, when a new fossil is discovered, Katie and Nick are forced to collaborate in order to survive warring factions in the Iraqi government and agenda-driven academics only interested in fossil finds that support popular (and evolutionary) scientific theories.

The action is briskly-paced and the characterizations are wonderfully rich and well-drawn. Olson puts his scientific background to good use (he has a background in biochemistry), but he never drowns the novel in incomprehensible lingo - all of the science is presented in such a way as to be fascinating and comprehensible by even the uninitiated reader. The inclusion of the present geo-political realities Katie and Nick face add tension and credibility to the storyline. Fossil Hunter packed with enough action and humor (and just a dash of romance!) to be worthy of a chapter in the adventures of another famous academic adventurer - Indiana Jones. What sets this novel apart is its intelligent, thoughtful, engaging discussion of the intersection of faith and science. Fossil Hunter is a action-packed thrill ride that begs for a sequel - I'd love to see the further adventures of Katie & Nick. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fiction, May 14, 2008
By 
This review is from: Fossil Hunter (Paperback)
I loved _Fossil_Hunter_. I thought the opening scene with Katie James was a total grabber - completely unexpected, and a great intro to a complex character.

The romantic tension totally worked, and I swear I worked up a sympathetic sweat reading about the desert. Don't get me started on the sand and heat rash.

With all due respect to an earlier reviewer, I felt the author immersed me in the scientific world of paleontology and told a great story - and I didn't need any more on Intelligent Design than what he fleshed out. In fact, I liked that I came away not knowing his opinion - nor his characters' really. Olson raised intelligent questions, and resisted the urge to preach or indoctrinate. If I want to know more about the real-life debate, I can read non-fiction.

I wanted a gripping, fun, realistic, thought-provoking ride.

And I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligently written - but not of Intelligent Design, May 9, 2008
This review is from: Fossil Hunter (Paperback)
This is an interesting adventure story of scientific ilk. The pace is brisk and there are some surprising twists in the plot. Not a bad read. However if you're looking for something that really digs into the intelligent design debate, this is not going to satisfy you. The specter of evidence manipulation is brought to the surface on both sides of the argument. However intelligent design does not seem to be woven into the plot - only sprinkled in here and there.
Donald James Parker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fair tale, but way too much "chase and hide" and more chasing and hiding., March 9, 2009
This review is from: Fossil Hunter (Paperback)
"Fossil Hunter" starts with a good premise, that of archeologist in competition to discover ancient whale fossils. In the end, the book loses the competition between the two groups and degenerates into race here, chase there, hide from bad guys, and does not really come to much of a climax. Some romantic elements were also here, but they came up lame, in my opinion.

When compared the "Oxygen" this book falls far short, and I was disappointed.

Also, I wish publishers would STOP putting advertising on their books. My copy of "Fossil Hunter" had a banner ad for a movie across the bottom of the back of the book. Tacky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Female Indiana Jones - Very Interesting, September 14, 2008
This review is from: Fossil Hunter (Paperback)
Reader Beware this is one breathtaking ride. Better buckle up get ready for some wild adventures. Author John B. Olson's book is filled with suspense, action and drama. Watch out Indiana Jones fans; Dr. Katie James will capture your heart! She is working at University of Mexico and is a legend in her own time. Katie James is a woman who really knows her stuff, works harder than most in the male dominated field she is in; and is being blackmailed by the head of her dept. to go to Iraq to make the biggest find in history which will allow the University to keep it's grant money.

Dietrich her Dept. head had given her strict orders not to share her faith with anyone anywhere. Can Katie take on this new assignment and not talk about how she feels regarding God? She soon will find out. "This was concerning her career which happened to be her only means of supporting her father. After what happened in Peru this was also Katie's only avenue in which she would be able to clear her name. She didn't have a choice." Or did she?

Katie James races to Iraq ahead of schedule. She is desperate to make the find of the century when she bumps into Dr. Nick Muard. What was he doing here? Wasn't he in Pakistan? How did he get to Iraq and why? It was her job - her discovery! It had to be that way - she needed the money. The competition was on. She had to find this fossil first so she could keep her grant. Katie was not afraid to go out and get what she wanted. She would follow her instincts and find that fossil - so much depended on her. Indiana Jones was afraid of snakes. Katie James was terrified of one thing and that was crowds. She feared lots of new people in the same location - shouting questions at her. The thought was frightening. She'd gladly take on a room full of snakes than a room full of people.

Nick and Katie are about the start the biggest challenge of their lives when the minister yells a warning , "Remember...you are in Iraq now. Nothing is ever easy, and nothing is ever what it seems!!"

Nick and Katie will keep you up late reading about their amazing fossil search; as they try to stay alive in such awful conditions. I totally enjoyed their adventures and think this book would make a GREAT movie. A female Indiana Jones I can see that and you will too after you read this exhilarating book.

Nora St. Laurent- Book Club Servant Leader
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wrestling with Truth, Scientific Contradictions, and Iraqi Hired Guns, May 13, 2008
This review is from: Fossil Hunter (Paperback)
Protagonist and Paleontologist Katie James is not your ordinary run-of-the-mill scientist. A closet Christian, Katie has spent the better part of her career wrestling with the question of Intelligent Design and how to reconcile her faith with her profession. Her competition, Nick Murad, is impressed yet skeptical of Katie's legendary reputation in the scientific community. When Nick and Katie are thrown together in a risky collaboration, they realize how tenuous their standing is among their colleagues - especially when their research runs contrary to the theory of evolution. A chase in the desert, spies, secret agents, a ring of artifact thieves, and armed guards make John B. Olson's latest novel an exciting ride, and one not to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent Mystery, June 1, 2008
This review is from: Fossil Hunter (Paperback)
Well written and easy to understand, even for the scientifically challenged. Could not put this page turner down. I enjoyed every bit and it created several debate filled lunch hours for my family. Thanks for another brilliant book, John!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fossil Hunter
Fossil Hunter by John Olson (Paperback - April 16, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.