Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of the record of fossils for children Ages 5 and up
Fossils tell of long ago is a good book for children. Brightly illustrated pictures help them grasp the facts of fossils. It includes a fun experiment, too, along with a clear explanation of how fossils were made. I give this book four stars.
Published on January 31, 2000

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad book.
This book is average in its explanation of fossils. Although described as appropriate for younger children, it is directed more toward older ones. Some of the material is explained in a way that is too complicated for four year olds which is the age for whom we purchased the book. We used it in a demonstration of fossils in a Montessori classroom lesson on fossils and...
Published 10 months ago by bette


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of the record of fossils for children Ages 5 and up, January 31, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
Fossils tell of long ago is a good book for children. Brightly illustrated pictures help them grasp the facts of fossils. It includes a fun experiment, too, along with a clear explanation of how fossils were made. I give this book four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I love this book." --my 5-year-old, September 9, 2009
By 
This review is from: Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
I'm quite taken with this one myself. We just picked the 1990 Revised Edition off the library shelves this week. What a find! It's 32 pages and just about every page is a home run. There's no fluff. The scientific content is spot-on. And the book is thick with fascinating stuff. We see rocks formed from mud, coal from peat, and amber from sap; geological changes; paleontologists at work --and did you know a whole woolly mammoth was found frozen in the Siberian tundra in 1901?

Usually I can take or leave Aliki's smiling schoolchildren and their cartoon speech balloons. Here, everything they say is interesting or illustrative, and their enthusiasm is contagious.

My 5-year-old is somehow able to read a little of this book at a time (by aggressively guessing at the longer words, I guess) but with words like "imprint" and "preserved" it's closer to a second-grade (7-to-8-year-old) reading level.

P.S. The famous fish-within-a-fish fossil described in the book is on display at the Sternberg Museum of National History in Hays, Kansas, USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit from Aliki, February 27, 2006
This review is from: Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
I love the Let's Read and Find Out science series, and Aliki is one of my family's favorite authors, so this book is a real winner for us. Clearly written text and lovely illustrations make for an enjoyable read-aloud for K-2 level students, or an informative read-alone book for older kids or early readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fossils for Primary Learners, November 3, 2006
By 
plcg "pcg" (Atlanta, Georgia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
My son and I enjoyed this book and used it to add to our study of fossils. The book was easy to understand the artwork was engaging. I recomend this book for primary grades 1-3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandma, January 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
There are lots of books for math and reading these days, but not that many for science. This series is well done--not too detailed, interesting for the kindergarten-plus age group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Teaching Tool, March 4, 2008
This is a great book for grades 1-4 as an introduction to fossils. It covers how they are made and where they are found in a very easy to understand way. It creates an interest in fossils and will probably send the children digging in the dirt! It even has simple instructions for how the children can create a "fossil" of their own hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad book., December 17, 2013
By 
bette (Beverly, WV, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
This book is average in its explanation of fossils. Although described as appropriate for younger children, it is directed more toward older ones. Some of the material is explained in a way that is too complicated for four year olds which is the age for whom we purchased the book. We used it in a demonstration of fossils in a Montessori classroom lesson on fossils and had to improvise quite a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fish Fossil at Hays, KS, July 15, 2010
By 
Legal Eagle (Western Kansas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
Great book! My daughter received this book as part of her 2nd grade curriculum through K12. The book details a specific fish-within-a-fish fossil. The original of this fossil is located at the Sternberg Museum of Natural History at Fort Hays State University located in Hays, Kansas. The museum has also has robotic dinosaurs and is located on I-70 halfway between Kansas City and Denver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT Introduction to Fossils, August 2, 2014
This review is from: Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
FOSSILS TELL OF LONG AGO is at the 3rd Grade reading level. It's also a good introduction to fossils.

The book discussion different sorts of fossils: footprints and creatures captured in amber, as well as the sorts of dinosaur remains that most children are familiar with--those found in sedimentary dirt.

One of the complimentary things that I really like about this book is that children of all colors and physical conditions (wheelchair) are shown happily investigating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) (Paperback)
Educational!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2)
Fossils Tell of Long Ago (Let's-Read-and-Find-O
ut
by Aliki (Paperback - March 21, 1990)
$5.99 $5.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.