Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than adequate alternative to Canon's hood.
I recently picked up a Canon 18-200mm lens and wanted the tulip hood (which should come with the lens but doesn't for some reason). However, the cheapest price I could find for the hood was $25 and most places had it listed for much more. I simply couldn't justify spending that kind of cash for what amounted to a tiny piece of plastic. So, I did some research (which...
Published on July 1, 2011 by Rick H.

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the Same Quality as the 28-135mm Lens Hood
Photo is NOT THE SAME AS illustrated, the item received states QUOTE: "C - EW-78D" vs. the Amazon illustration of "for Canon EW-78D". While this did not make much of a difference in a Generic Lens Hood to me the following did:

1- When attached for storage or use on the lens, it clicks into place but wobbles loosely.
2- The Fotodiox 28-135mm Canon Lens...
Published 23 months ago by Consumer


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than adequate alternative to Canon's hood., July 1, 2011
By 
Rick H. (Tennessee, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated (Bayonet) Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, EF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6 (replaces Canon EW-78D) (Electronics)
I recently picked up a Canon 18-200mm lens and wanted the tulip hood (which should come with the lens but doesn't for some reason). However, the cheapest price I could find for the hood was $25 and most places had it listed for much more. I simply couldn't justify spending that kind of cash for what amounted to a tiny piece of plastic. So, I did some research (which included reading the other Amazon reviews for this product) and decided to pick up the Fotodiox unit.

Some other tulip hoods which claim to be compatible with the Canon 18-200mm lens aren't actually bayonet models. Instead they screw on to the front of the lens making it a pain to store when not in use. The bayonet models, like this one and the stock Canon, allow for a quick removal and reversal of the hood for simpler storage. This works superbly on the Fotodiox hood with one exception: there is no "red dot" to help you align it with the "fat" flaps on the top and bottom (as other reviewers have mentioned). However, once set, the hood uses a quarter-turn to lock in place so this is hardly a problem.

My one complaint is that this hood is a good bit wider than the lens on which it is installed. It does not hug the lens when put on in reverse. This obviously isn't a problem when actively shooting and doesn't seem to cause trouble when storing the lens when it is mounted on the camera. The extra diameter does come into play when storing the lens separately from the body. One plus to this extra width, though, is that it does make it easier to reach your lens cap if you forget to take it off before sliding on the hood.

Overall this hood from Fotodiox is a great alternative to Canon's hood. It is significantly cheaper and retains basically all of the same features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied w Canon 18-200 lens hood, April 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated (Bayonet) Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, EF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6 (replaces Canon EW-78D) (Electronics)
Very satisfied. Hood is wider than expected but has benefit of giving your fingers enough room to insert the lens cap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the Same Quality as the 28-135mm Lens Hood, August 31, 2012
By 
Consumer (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated (Bayonet) Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, EF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6 (replaces Canon EW-78D) (Electronics)
Photo is NOT THE SAME AS illustrated, the item received states QUOTE: "C - EW-78D" vs. the Amazon illustration of "for Canon EW-78D". While this did not make much of a difference in a Generic Lens Hood to me the following did:

1- When attached for storage or use on the lens, it clicks into place but wobbles loosely.
2- The Fotodiox 28-135mm Canon Lens Hood, was flocked on the inside of the hood, this one is NOT, and is of a reflective black plastic, and WILL PRODUCT Ghosting in your Photo's.
3- The thickness of the Plastic is of a lesser grade than the Fotodiox 28-135mm Canon Lens Hood, lighter, and not completely rigid but a little flexible

All in all Fotodiox must have switched the Manufacturers of these hoods, as this one is NOT UP TO THE STANDARD of previous purchases from this Company.

Disappointed to say the Least!

Suggested Optional Lens Hood that I ended up purchasing as a replacement for the Fotodiox Lens Hood: Adorama Dedicated Lens Hood for Canon EF 28-200 USM Lens (EW-78D)

This item fits properly, is thoroughly Flocked on the inside, and is of durable not flexible or flimsy Plastic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lens best friend, August 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated (Bayonet) Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, EF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6 (replaces Canon EW-78D) (Electronics)
I purchased the hood as an option and it turned out to be money well spent! I'd always recommend using a hood, however make sure it is the proper one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very well made lens hood!, July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated (Bayonet) Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, EF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6 (replaces Canon EW-78D) (Electronics)
This lens hood fits my Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm lens perfectly fine.

1. Threads are right on.
2. The bayonet style makes it super easy to put on, super easy to take off and store. No problem taking the lens cap out and putting it back on.
3. Even though it does not have any dots to let you align the hood with the lens, it is not a problem because once you have the hood in place correctly, it only needs a quarter turn to lock it in place. When installing the hood, make sure the 2 shorter petals are aligned top and bottom when holding the camera in horizontal shooting position. Turn the hood anti clockwise for a quarter turn and it will lock the hood in place. Now, the longer petals are top and bottom, shorter petals are on the sides.
4. No vignetting at all.

The one and only complain that I have is if you reverse the hood and attach it back to the lens when not in use, the hood falls off easily.

Overall, this is a very good lens hood and you are definitely getting a big bang for the buck.

Until then, peace to all, happy shopping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lens Hood Review, June 2, 2012
By 
D. Rea (APO, AE United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated (Bayonet) Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, EF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6 (replaces Canon EW-78D) (Electronics)
Putting the hood on the lens, it sits very loose on the rim. It also moves even when fully screwed in place. Will likely return this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Hood, September 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated (Bayonet) Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, EF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6 (replaces Canon EW-78D) (Electronics)
Nice hood from a good company, only thing that stinks is that I had to buy it in the first place. It should have came with the canon lens but unless your buying L glass at $$$ canon is to cheap to give you a hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works & much cheaper than original, June 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated (Bayonet) Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, EF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6 (replaces Canon EW-78D) (Electronics)
This is a cost-effective lens hood that works! Inside of hood is black & matte rather than smooth & polished (guess this is better in terms of light reflection). Hood can be reversed and snapped on front of lens when not in use.

Only set-back is that the red dot underneath the text is missing - where it would be much easier to align the hood with the lens. But after 2 or 3 attempts in fixing and removing, the red dot issue goes away.

Happy with this hood given the price I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective lens hood, January 27, 2013
By 
Shirley L. Carson (St. Helena, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated (Bayonet) Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, EF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6 (replaces Canon EW-78D) (Electronics)
While the cost is cheap, the lens is defective. It threads on incorrectly. I wish I had paid attention to all the other similar reviews prior to buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, Bad Fit., January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated (Bayonet) Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, EF 28-200mm f3.5-5.6 (replaces Canon EW-78D) (Electronics)
Got what I paid for, but it is loose and sloppy fitting on the Canon 18 - 200 lens that it said it would fit. Sigh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.