Customer Reviews


341 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth The Price
I purchased this hood thinking it was an identical-functioning replica of Canon's official 50mm hood. While it functions well and is a great deal for a much lower price (than Canon's), please be aware that you cannot easily "unsnap" it from your lens/filter; it needs to be screwed on or off. That being the case, you also cannot apply your lens cap without unscrewing this...
Published on April 23, 2010 by DJ Esquivel

versus
209 of 225 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Canon f/1.8 Users Beware
I would suggest anyone who is considering purchasing this hood to strongly reconsider. A rubberized collapsible hood is the way to go.

While the 50mm f/1.8 is an exceptionally affordable lens and produces great photos, it has substantial weak points due to its plastic construction that prevent the use of a lens hood. The lens hood is very susceptible to...
Published on June 22, 2010 by C. Fisher


‹ Previous | 112 13 1435 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Got this at the same time as the Lens., May 18, 2013
By 
Mr. B (Honolulu, Hawaii, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens (replaces Canon ES-62) (Electronics)
If you purchase the lens, you should always get the hood at the same time in order to keep the glare from side light , etc. from distorting the image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens (replaces Canon ES-62) (Electronics)
This hood is what I need for my photos. before all of them were with to much light on photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No issues with it and it's a great price, May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens (replaces Canon ES-62) (Electronics)
I am a beginner to photography. I bought the Canon 50mm 1.8 lens and added this on based on customer review suggestions. It fits just fine with no issues. I haven't seen any flare on my photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good price and construction, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens (replaces Canon ES-62) (Electronics)
This is a perfect fit and has helped with the quality of photos that I can take on those too bright days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars does what it's intended, May 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens (replaces Canon ES-62) (Electronics)
nize size, does what I purchased it for, only con is that I cannot leave it on nor can I invert it, so have to unscrew every time for storing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens (replaces Canon ES-62) (Electronics)
This lens hood works perfectly and was WAY less expensive than it's competition. It's built well and I'm loving it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good product to have, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens (replaces Canon ES-62) (Electronics)
This is handy and good to have to bloc extra light coming through, I always carry it. A useful addition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lens hood for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens (replaces Canon ES-62) (Electronics)
This hood both protects from unwanted sun and it also protects the lens. I do wish it could be more easily stored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens (replaces Canon ES-62) (Electronics)
This lens hood does what it is supposed to. The build quality is cheaper than Canon's, but what do you expect for the price? Overall I am happy with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works well with the 50mm lens, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Dedicated Lens Hood, for Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens (replaces Canon ES-62) (Electronics)
Works really well with the Canon 50mm. I was pleasantly surprised when the lens cap fit easily on the hood. It screws on to the threads on the lens and seats snugly and securely. I don't see any weird shadows or vignetting like with some other third party hoods. Works as advertised and inexpensive, what else could you ask for?

Bonus: It looks pretty cool on the camera to! Impress your friends and relatives at the next get together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1435 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.