Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Recomended!!
Original Thumb Grip is over $100 some of them with option to use the hot shoe. This product simply dose the job. Fit perfectly and you can still access any part of the Fujifilm X20 Silver 12 Digital Camera with 2.8-Inch LCD (Silver). Black looks very nice on silver body:) It was in some simple small box from lens adapter but it's really not a big deal:) once you take it...
Published 17 months ago by EliR

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars okay.. poor fit for XE-2
My Thumb grip arrived for my Fuji XE-2 today, the box label says "Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2 E-PM1
it appears that this is a universal "fit" thumb grip and it foes not fit well on the Fuji EX-2 at all.. there is wiggle in the grip, and I trust it may actually fall out at some point.. not recommended for the XE-2
Published 10 months ago by S. Boyle


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Recomended!!, June 18, 2013
By 
EliR (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip for Mirrorless Digital Cameras (Type-A; Black), fits: Fujifilm X100S, X20, X-E1, X10, Olympus XZ-2 iHS, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7, Pentax Q, Olympus PEN E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2, E-PM1 (Camera)
Original Thumb Grip is over $100 some of them with option to use the hot shoe. This product simply dose the job. Fit perfectly and you can still access any part of the Fujifilm X20 Silver 12 Digital Camera with 2.8-Inch LCD (Silver). Black looks very nice on silver body:) It was in some simple small box from lens adapter but it's really not a big deal:) once you take it out of the box and put it on your camera you dont' need the box anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip for Mirrorless Digital Cameras (Type-A; Black), fits: Fujifilm X100S, X20, X-E1, X10, Olympus XZ-2 iHS, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7, Pentax Q, Olympus PEN E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2, E-PM1 (Camera)
This thumb grip is well-priced for the money and works well for most part.. The only downside is that it fits too loose that it will accidentally fall out of the hot shoe....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fits perfectly on Fuji X100s, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip for Mirrorless Digital Cameras (Type-A; Black), fits: Fujifilm X100S, X20, X-E1, X10, Olympus XZ-2 iHS, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7, Pentax Q, Olympus PEN E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2, E-PM1 (Camera)
I just had this for 2 days but it fits perfectly on my X100s.
It is a great addition to my set-up. I am happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really usefull, August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip for Mirrorless Digital Cameras (Type-A; Black), fits: Fujifilm X100S, X20, X-E1, X10, Olympus XZ-2 iHS, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7, Pentax Q, Olympus PEN E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2, E-PM1 (Camera)
This thumb grip makes the x100s much easier to hold securely. Works on my Hexar AF, too, and even my Leica llf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars okay.. poor fit for XE-2, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip for Mirrorless Digital Cameras (Type-A; Black), fits: Fujifilm X100S, X20, X-E1, X10, Olympus XZ-2 iHS, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7, Pentax Q, Olympus PEN E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2, E-PM1 (Camera)
My Thumb grip arrived for my Fuji XE-2 today, the box label says "Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2 E-PM1
it appears that this is a universal "fit" thumb grip and it foes not fit well on the Fuji EX-2 at all.. there is wiggle in the grip, and I trust it may actually fall out at some point.. not recommended for the XE-2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Addition to Your Fuji X-mount Camera that "Magically" changes It's Handling Characteristics, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip for Mirrorless Digital Cameras (Type-A; Black), fits: Fujifilm X100S, X20, X-E1, X10, Olympus XZ-2 iHS, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7, Pentax Q, Olympus PEN E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2, E-PM1 (Camera)
Many people who have Fuji X cameras love them, but one of the difficulties with a number of the models is the lack of a deep hand grip to make holding the camera more comfortable and safe. My X-A1, for example, is a wonderful camera that I really enjoy using, but most people who hold it (including myself) will immediately notice the inherent difficulty in gripping it well due to the shallow side grip (just pick one up, and you'll probably see what I mean). Similarly, the X-M1 (same exact physical format as the X-A1), and the X-E1, X-E2, and others in the line. What this little guy does is actually a bit ingenious (although not a fully original idea): you simply slip the piece into your unused flash socket, and the little curved piece that will now protrude in a direction towards the photographer completely changes the handling characteristics of the camera. Simply looking at a photo of this part, which is composed of a single piece of machined aluminum and anodized in black, is not sufficient to fully comprehend how this works. But once you slip it in place and pick up the camera, its amazing to see the transformation that occurs.

This is a high quality component of machined aluminum, and I don't suspect there will be any quality issues with it. That said, mine fits smoothly, albeit a tad loosely, into the Fuji's flash mount, and it's just slightly loose enough to where you might wonder if it will always stay in place. However, because your thumb is pushing INTO the part, I don't anticipate any operational issues. (But remember, you may have to remove it to fit into your camera's case, or to prevent it from falling off when the camera is in your backpack, etc. I can highly recommend it for functionality, price, and quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NIce, but not a Lensmate...good for a low price, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip for Mirrorless Digital Cameras (Type-A; Black), fits: Fujifilm X100S, X20, X-E1, X10, Olympus XZ-2 iHS, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7, Pentax Q, Olympus PEN E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2, E-PM1 (Camera)
Just know that you are not getting a Lensmate replacement/substitute with Fotodiox upfront. It's not a bad device and for the price it does represent a good value. I use this on my X10 and X100....I have a Lensmate on my X-E1. On the X10, it fits pretty loose, it "may" fall out with a bump. On the X100, it fits super tight and it's very hard to remove. The thumb part also sits up pretty high above the camera body vs. Lensmate...not as sleek and "custom" looking. However, it is VERY functional. It does not have the same comfort, soft padding of the Lensmate either, but that's not a huge thing. Overall, if this is for your PRIMARY camera, get the Lensmate and be done with it. If this is for a secondary camera (like my X10), then it's a great inexpensive option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too short, May 9, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip for Mirrorless Digital Cameras (Type-A; Black), fits: Fujifilm X100S, X20, X-E1, X10, Olympus XZ-2 iHS, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7, Pentax Q, Olympus PEN E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2, E-PM1 (Camera)
I have tried a couple of these knockoff thumb grips. They are generic despite being described as "fitting" the X100s or X20. IMO this one is too short. The actual Lensmate model, which I also have, may cost four times as much but it is a far better fit to keep your thumb in a natural position with a solid grip on the camera. This too short version leaves your thumb partially obstructing the LCD and over stretched (and I have big hands). There is another different generic el cheapo knock off (the one with the set screw) that is too long. My advice is to just fork over the extra for the Lensmate version which is equally comfortable on the X20 and X-E1. I'll be ordering a second so I don't need to switch it out. I tried the two cheaper alternatives and both failed to come close to the Lensmate.

Two stars because while it is too short, at least it is well made. It does lack the silicone pads that the real Lensmate version has however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem: perfect for Fuji X-E2, January 2, 2014
By 
digerati "digerati" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip for Mirrorless Digital Cameras (Type-A; Black), fits: Fujifilm X100S, X20, X-E1, X10, Olympus XZ-2 iHS, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7, Pentax Q, Olympus PEN E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2, E-PM1 (Camera)
This simple and cheap add-on makes a big difference to the usability of my Fuji X-E2. It's so much easier to have the thumb grip right there -- makes the camera much easier to pick up and hold -- and it stops me from accidentally turning the exposure compensation dial.

And the price is right: have seen these selling for considerably more. It's well-made, machined from metal, perfectly smooth and fits into the hot shoe snugly. The hot shoe on the X-E2 is very solid and designed for mechanical stress (flash guns can be heavy) so I am not worried about that. I regard this as a "must have" accessory for small mirrorless compact cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy with what I got, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Pro Thumb Grip for Mirrorless Digital Cameras (Type-A; Black), fits: Fujifilm X100S, X20, X-E1, X10, Olympus XZ-2 iHS, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7, Pentax Q, Olympus PEN E-PM2, E-P3, E-PL2, E-PM1 (Camera)
I was excited to order this because it is an order of magnitude cheaper than the Match Technical thumb grips.

It fit perfectly in the hotshoe of my Olympus E-P3 and Yashica GSN. In my Fuji X100S though it is a little loose, I may wrap it in little gaffer tape to tighten it up.

The only downside is that it doesn't touch the body for support at all, you're relying on the structural integrity of the hotshoe alone. It would be nice if the load were more distributed, but if you really want that buy something from Match Technical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.