Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for the true bboys/bgirls
This book really goes into great detail about bboying and everything bboying related. A must have for bboys/bgirls who are serious about this thing of ours aka hip hop culture. The author really done his "homework" on the bboying culture and doesn't sugar coat anything. Thank you Joseph Schloss for producing this well documented subject in the form of a well written...
Published on March 10, 2010 by dmiguelu

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cloud Reader won't let me read this book. Terrible service.
I purchased the Kindle version of this product for a class and was never able to view it on Cloud Reader. I asked support for help after waiting 12 hours to receive the book, and the representative told me that the transaction was still in progress. Now, weeks later, upon clicking on the title in my Cloud, I STILL get the same error message stating that "This title is not...
Published 20 months ago by DJElectric


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for the true bboys/bgirls, March 10, 2010
By 
dmiguelu (Vancouver,BC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foundation: B-boys, B-girls and Hip-Hop Culture in New York (Paperback)
This book really goes into great detail about bboying and everything bboying related. A must have for bboys/bgirls who are serious about this thing of ours aka hip hop culture. The author really done his "homework" on the bboying culture and doesn't sugar coat anything. Thank you Joseph Schloss for producing this well documented subject in the form of a well written piece. From a Bboy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, June 19, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foundation: B-boys, B-girls and Hip-Hop Culture in New York (Paperback)
Schloss has written another great book about hip-hop culture. This time, he tackles b-boying by participating in and interviewing key members of New York's b-boy scene. The real strength of the book are the many interviews he quotes from and summarizes. This is a must-read for anyone interested in b-boying.

Because he is countering a number of academic books that adopts a more asbtract or philosophical tone, Schloss really emphasizes the importance of listening to the voices of the builders of b-boying and its participants. The downside of this approach is that he sometimes does not really analyze their comments, leaving the reader with what seems like overly-heroic images of the b-boys he quotes. Nonetheless, I would recommend this book to anyone. It is in my top 10 books about hip-hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book for class, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foundation: B-boys, B-girls and Hip-Hop Culture in New York (Paperback)
I really liked the book. It was really interesting to read about hip hop culture and reading about what we see in the media of what hip hop is and reading about what hip hop looks like in urban cities like New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 9, 2012
By 
Spencer (Murfreesboro, Tunisia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foundation: B-boys, B-girls and Hip-Hop Culture in New York (Paperback)
Foundational in the study of hip hop. Early hip hop is is one of the most fascinating aspects of American popular culture. Unfortunately, until this book, a proper account of the seminal importance of dance didn't exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST book on the subject, November 24, 2012
This review is from: Foundation: B-boys, B-girls and Hip-Hop Culture in New York (Paperback)
This is by far the best book on b-boying/b-girling from an academic perspective. Joe Schloss remains one of the most consistent writers on hip hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cloud Reader won't let me read this book. Terrible service., October 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased the Kindle version of this product for a class and was never able to view it on Cloud Reader. I asked support for help after waiting 12 hours to receive the book, and the representative told me that the transaction was still in progress. Now, weeks later, upon clicking on the title in my Cloud, I STILL get the same error message stating that "This title is not available on Kindle Cloud Reader."

Absolutely terrible service. Also, I would still like to either read this book, or obtain a refund; however, since no actual human beings apparently seem to work for Amazon, I doubt that this will be possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Foundation: B-boys, B-girls and Hip-Hop Culture in New York
Foundation: B-boys, B-girls and Hip-Hop Culture in New York by Joseph Glenn Schloss (Paperback - March 5, 2009)
$19.95 $16.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.