Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wide selection of projects teaching design basics
This is a great polymer clay book for beginners. It is in full color & packed with many unique & inspirational artwork examples. With a wide variety of easy projects & techniques, you are sure to find one that suits your taste.
One of the great things about this book is that beginning artists get a crash course in the elements of design while creating...
Published on October 24, 1999 by Angel Lee

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful concept, badly written
This introduction to design principles for artists working in polymer clay is a useful book, and I learned a lot from it. McGuire discusses the elements of design, including value, color, form, shape, line, space and texture, and addresses more briefly design principles like balance, pattern, rhythm, emphasis, and unity. McGuire follows each section of the book with an...
Published on May 25, 2006 by Sasha Torres


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wide selection of projects teaching design basics, October 24, 1999
This review is from: Foundations in Polymer Clay Design (Paperback)
This is a great polymer clay book for beginners. It is in full color & packed with many unique & inspirational artwork examples. With a wide variety of easy projects & techniques, you are sure to find one that suits your taste.
One of the great things about this book is that beginning artists get a crash course in the elements of design while creating beautiful artwork. Projects teach basic principles such as color, shape, line, texture, pattern, movement, contrast, & unity.
Step-by-step examples with b/w illustrations guide you through each of 22 different projects. Some of my favorites include blended shell beads, barrettes, an egg with flower millefiori, & a stamped wall hanging.
The section on materials & supplies is very complete including many options for surface finishing. The resource & artist lists are a great bonus. This is a wonderful look at the detail, variety & creativity possible in polymer clay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Well-Rounded Approach to Design, July 29, 2001
By 
"renaultartgeek" (Kenilworth, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Foundations in Polymer Clay Design (Paperback)
Barbara E.McGuire's 'Foundations in Polymer Clay Design' is a great addition to both a beginner's and a more advanced artist's library, however, note that it is not a project book. The technical aspects of the clay are briefly discussed in the first chapter. The rest of the book focuses on the aspects and elements of design. Invaluable discussions on color, line, form, movement, etc., are contained within its chapters; as well as a stunning array of polymer clay artwork captured in beautifully executed photograpy.
While you will find plenty of inspiration gazing at the gallery of work in 'Foundations', you'll find little if any discussion of the techniques used in making them. The information offered is to be used as a guideline for refining your own unique style.
Working in polymer clay is more rewarding now that I've read (and reread) this book; it has served as a muse and a mentor. My work is more professional, more diverse and visually pleasing; my practice far more organized. The absense of step-by-step instruction does not limit the reader but helps them to expand by calling upon them to apply what they have learned to their own ideas.
This title is a perfect complement to Donna Kato's 'The Art of Polymer Clay', which is overflowing with technical instruction made beginner-friendly. I highly recommend a newcomer to the medium purchase both titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite polymer clay book..., August 8, 2001
This review is from: Foundations in Polymer Clay Design (Paperback)
Barbara McGuire's Foundations in Polymer Clay Design is a must have for every polymer clay artist. It has exceptional information to enhance one's design knowledge and how to apply this knowledge to polymer clay artwork. The photos are stunning and best of all, show evidence of today's talented pc artists. Barbara's examples of each design concept and how they apply to working in polymer clay are valuable to the serious artist.
This book has several wonderful easy-to-try projects that demonstrate the chapter's concept. These lessons help to satisfy the reader who is looking for practice, but may not be 'enough' for the person who is simply looking for a book of how-to projects.
McGuire's book will remain an excellent reference for the artist and one where new lessons can be learned each time the book is taken off the shelf to reread. Five Stars!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not typical, October 16, 1999
This review is from: Foundations in Polymer Clay Design (Paperback)
I pre-ordered this book and was surprised to find how much I really enjoy it. The author has collected many new artists work and approached this subject in a refreshing manner. I especially appreciate her focus using art and design terms to discribe the work and the possibilities of this medium. An inspirational book that makes sense to the artist in us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful concept, badly written, May 25, 2006
By 
Sasha Torres (London, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Foundations in Polymer Clay Design (Paperback)
This introduction to design principles for artists working in polymer clay is a useful book, and I learned a lot from it. McGuire discusses the elements of design, including value, color, form, shape, line, space and texture, and addresses more briefly design principles like balance, pattern, rhythm, emphasis, and unity. McGuire follows each section of the book with an exercise designed to allow the reader to experiment with the element or principle being discussed, and illustrates each section with excellent photographs of polymer clay art that uses that element or principle particularly effectively. Between the exercises and the photographs, I was able, as a design newbie, to gain some understanding of McGuire's topics. However, McGuire's writing is so muddy and vague that I learned almost nothing from the text itself. Indeed, some of the paragraphs--especially those defining the key concepts--were so unclear and confusing that I was completely unable to discern what McGuire was talking about. The editor of this book really fell down on the job!

So, while this book did help me get started thinking about the elements and principles of design, I will have to turn to other authors to gain a richer understanding of these ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as interesting as it looks, January 9, 2007
This review is from: Foundations in Polymer Clay Design (Paperback)
I was disapointed by this book. The cover is great and drew me to buy it but the contents is a bit all over the place and I'm not sure what the purpose of the book is. There aren't really any projects and the design foundation information is a bit hard to follow. I must admit that I haven't picked it up again since looking at it the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foundations in Polymer Clay Design (Paperback)
This book has excellent pictures and inspirations. I wish it had more in the way of actual demonstrations, but overall, I got a lot of ideas from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine resource for design and polymer clay, January 27, 2009
By 
S. B. Dunn (Denver, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foundations in Polymer Clay Design (Paperback)
Polymer clay is such a versatile medium that it's hard to know if you're really creating a piece of art or something your kids are going to hide in the attic. This book goes a long way toward answering questions about color, balance, and good design principles, all illustrated in enjoyable projects. For those of us who love the medium but didn't happen to study art, this book truly provides the foundation we should have been looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration, May 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Foundations in Polymer Clay Design (Paperback)
Great book. There is only so much one can put into a book and this one is full to the brim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for polymer artists, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a beautiful book to read, study and use. Wonderful photos, great projects, excellent directions. Very interesting and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Foundations in Polymer Clay Design
Foundations in Polymer Clay Design by Barbara A. McGuire (Paperback - Sept. 1999)
Used & New from: $0.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.