Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection
Lionsgate deserves plaudits for their excellent four film collection series on DVD. I usually buy only blu rays now, but at this great price this was too good an offer to pass up. Even with international shipping, it was highly affordable.

I was surprised to find that the four films came in four separate discs, instead of two-fers or flippers. Disc art is...
Published on February 3, 2011 by Pramod

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars get it right
I have recieved 2 defective cd's from this company and am now waiting for the third try to arrive here. I am not hopefull
Published on April 11, 2011 by Gary J Elliott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, February 3, 2011
By 
Pramod (Colombo, Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2) (DVD)
Lionsgate deserves plaudits for their excellent four film collection series on DVD. I usually buy only blu rays now, but at this great price this was too good an offer to pass up. Even with international shipping, it was highly affordable.

I was surprised to find that the four films came in four separate discs, instead of two-fers or flippers. Disc art is minimal though. Lionsgate has not skimped on the extras either, with a decent amount of valuable supplemental material. One of the films had four commentaries, in fact. Again, I did not expect any extras or even SDH subtitles at this low price for all four films. Lionsgate has somehow managed to fit in all four discs in one standard DVD case, so do not worry about shelf space.

As for the movies themselves, the price of admission is worth for Cabin Fever and Descent alone, both excellent movies. The fact that their not-so-well-known sequels are included is a real bonus. Again, don't expect the sequels to live up to the originals, but they are nevertheless a good way to spend 90 minutes or so. The picture and audio quality of all four films are very good, especially if upsampled on a blu ray or an upconverting DVD player.

If you are a true horror/thriller fan and do not have any of the films featured in this collection, you should add this to your cart post-haste. This box set is highly recommended for all movie fans out there. I can hardly wait to sample the other four film collections issued by Lionsgate, which really has an excellent slate of horror movies. Note that some of the films are available on BD and DVD individually for perfectionists, but this is a real bargain that you will not want to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hahah great quad, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2) (DVD)
I wouldn't necessarily put Cabin Fever in the same quality bracket as The Descent, but I'm all about any thriller movie, ridiculously bad, or pretty good. And you have both in this packet. Although, Cabin Fever one isn't terrible. It's your typically young folks in the woods getting slayed or dying grotesquely type film. It's the second Cabin Fever that's the gamechanger.... and not in a increasing quality way. Cabin Fever was a B+ exaggerated typical teen thriller... but Cabin Fever 2 went downhill to like... a C... It had fantastic moments of sheer DISGUSTINGness that I will admit were completely unique to horror movies, good and bad.... but everything else was a mishmosh of your typically low budget funnier than scary movie (I like those, though...). The Descent is one of my favorite thrillers in the past 15 years definitely. Both the first and the sequel are pretty darn good. It's a bit refreshing from your typical plague/home invasion/slasher films and has AMAZING ass kicking scenes, both. This quad is SOOO worth the money. I would have easily paid the price for just the Descent of a Descent 1 and 2 duo... but I was very pleased to pay 4 for the price of one refurbished movie (even though these are actually new).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Descent is Great!, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2) (DVD)
The Descent is definitely a horror film that sticks with you, horror films made in different countries are really stepping up (yes, I know this film is old). I enjoyed this 4-pack because I would have paid that $8 (including shipping to Alaska) for the The Descent and/or Cabin Fever alone, but this panned out to $2/movie! Although The Descent 2 didn't get great reviews, I just viewed it as a free extra. After watching The Descent, though, I was desperate to see more and feel more closure, and even though The Descent 2 wasn't nearly as great, I enjoyed the opportunity to get more out of the film and watch a good, well-made horror film as well. The only film I haven't watched is Cabin Fever 2 simply because I saw the trailer during the Cabin Fever credits and am definitely going to wait for a horribly boring rainy day to pop that in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great packageing, great deal, great movies, August 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2) (DVD)
Cabin Fever 1 could have stood alone as a great horror movie but they made a second one. Diffrent from the first in the tone and all around flow. Part 2 does not take place in a cabin (so what). Best part, as in scean that sticks with you is the ooooozy wee wee.....yeah, life like wang dropping puss out. Don't wuss out just watch it. It'll put hair or hives or some thing on your chest. Descent 1 and 2 go together very nicely. try watching them back to back to make one big bloody, slimey, gorey scream fest. It's hot chicks fighting monsters and doing a great job at it. Side note: don't like your mother in law catch you watching any of these. It's hard to explain what's going on when people are pukeing blood (I belive that's in all four films)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy, June 10, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2) (DVD)
Cabin Fever 1 & 2 are B movies but are great none-the-less. Watch around the Witching Hour, it'll be more exciting.
The Descent 1 & 2 are awesome, just awesome, once you get past the Scottish accents of the girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2) (DVD)
Great deal!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome combo set., June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2) (DVD)
Both movie sets are awesome. Cheaper to buy the combo pack. Add another dvd to the movie collection on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal!, March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2) (DVD)
While I'm not as big a fan of the Cabin Fever movies, the Descent 1 and 2 are some of my favorite horror movies!!

I would definitely give the Descent movies a HUGE recommendation for any horror fan. (Especially if you're looking for a movie that is able to deliver the thrill and gore of a horror movie without relying on sex to sell. Since there is literally NO sexual situations in the entire movie - though there might be a light shower scene, though I can't rememeber 100%.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY MOVES, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2) (DVD)
I CANT WAIT FOR THESE TO GET HERE I LOVE THESE MOVIES I CANT BELIVE U GOT ALL FOUR OF THEM ON ONE DISK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Compilation, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2) (DVD)
It's hard to beat The Descent for sheer "Holy s***" moments. It's a great flick, & the sequel was pretty good too. Cabin Fever is more silliness, particularly by the time they get to the second movie. Still, the Cabin Fever movies are fun to watch with friends on a Saturday over some beers & popcorn (if you like that sort of thing).

To recap:
1. The Descent (Awesome very scary movie).
2. The Descent 2 (Good movie in its own right, but not nearly as scary as the first one).
3. Cabin Fever (Weird, but enjoyable, backwoods flesh eating zombie disease horror comedy).
4. Cabin Fever 2 (See above, but this time the disease that turns you into a flesh eater is loose at a high school dance).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Four Film Collection (Cabin Fever / Cabin Fever 2 / Descent / Descent 2)
$14.98 $7.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.