Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affordable and handsome edition of Hemingway's four major novels
"The Library of Essential Writers" series of books are affordable and beautiful editions, not to mention sturdy [they are all in hardcover] and number about 31 works in all. In this collection of Ernest Hemingway's 4 novels, the works are "The Sun Also Rises", "A Farewell to Arms", "For Whom the Bell Tolls", and "The Old Man and the Sea". The works are preceded by a brief...
Published on May 7, 2009 by Z Hayes

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars short stories
Lots of interesting short stories about his war days, and bull fighting. He writes stories that descrisbe the environment, and really see the people how they interact in situations. He writes in short and clear sentences, and simple and easy to understand words, that get the variosu points accross. .He describes in detail places and actions, so you can visualize the...
Published on October 8, 2011 by Saul Wanetick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affordable and handsome edition of Hemingway's four major novels, May 7, 2009
This review is from: Four Novels The Sun Also Rises; A Farewell to Arms; For Whom the Bell Tolls; The Old Man and the Sea (Hardcover)
"The Library of Essential Writers" series of books are affordable and beautiful editions, not to mention sturdy [they are all in hardcover] and number about 31 works in all. In this collection of Ernest Hemingway's 4 novels, the works are "The Sun Also Rises", "A Farewell to Arms", "For Whom the Bell Tolls", and "The Old Man and the Sea". The works are preceded by a brief introduction by Eric Carl Link, the author of "The Vast and Terrible Drama: American Literary Naturalism in the Late Nineteenth Century".

This edition is complemented by "The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway: The Finca Vigia Edition".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal, January 20, 2009
By 
M. C Cardoso "marciohaas" (Berkeley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Novels The Sun Also Rises; A Farewell to Arms; For Whom the Bell Tolls; The Old Man and the Sea (Hardcover)
Let's cut straight to the chase: these are the four best longer-form stories from Hemingway, far and away. All in a single book, what a treat! Maybe technically the Pullitzer-prize winning "The Old Man and the Sea' is a novella, but it really doesn't matter: these are the 4 wonderful fiction books he wrote. If you have these novels plus the "Complete Short Stories" book you will be well-stocked with Hemingway magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hemingway, June 21, 2009
This review is from: Four Novels The Sun Also Rises; A Farewell to Arms; For Whom the Bell Tolls; The Old Man and the Sea (Hardcover)
If you are into Hemingway or you've never read his work before, this is the book to read. These are his four greatest novels rolled into one. If you want to be able to hold your own in a conversation about Hemingway, read these four books and you will know what his style is all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four of the best books you'll ever read, June 20, 2009
This review is from: Four Novels The Sun Also Rises; A Farewell to Arms; For Whom the Bell Tolls; The Old Man and the Sea (Hardcover)
It does not get much better than these four great novels by the 20th century's best writer of men and war - be it war with a woman, with an enemy or with the elements. For Whom the Bell Tolls is the finaest political novel ever written and you will not find a better story of the sea than The Old Man and the Sea. So read these books and see why Papa was the champ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hemingway's greatest work is his stories, September 22, 2011
This review is from: Four Novels The Sun Also Rises; A Farewell to Arms; For Whom the Bell Tolls; The Old Man and the Sea (Hardcover)
The choice of 'The Sun Also Rises' ' A Farewell to Arms' 'For Whom the Bell Tolls' and 'Old Man and the Sea' as Hemingway's finest novels seems to me correct. However Hemingway's work tends to lose something as it lengthens. His best work is by far his short stories, and not his novels. It even seems to me that the two shorter works here 'The Old Man and the Sea' and 'A Sun Also Rises' are the superior ones. '
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast shipper, March 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Novels The Sun Also Rises; A Farewell to Arms; For Whom the Bell Tolls; The Old Man and the Sea (Hardcover)
This was my first Hemingway book. Going on a trip to Key West soon and wanted to read some Hemingway to get ready. I enjoyed the book and I am not a avid reader by any means. I got the book used but I am sure it was new a plus for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars just this publication, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Novels The Sun Also Rises; A Farewell to Arms; For Whom the Bell Tolls; The Old Man and the Sea (Hardcover)
I'm not going to review some of the best works by one of the greatest authors. This is just a review of this publication.
I liked having all of these wonderful stories in one book, it makes it easy to travel with. The issue I had, was the censured "bad" words. Had I known this book was censured, I would not have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great set of books, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Novels The Sun Also Rises; A Farewell to Arms; For Whom the Bell Tolls; The Old Man and the Sea (Hardcover)
Hemingway is one of the literary genius' of all time. This is a set that I would recommend to anyone. The Sun Also Rises, and A Farewell to Arms should be required reading in high school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Novels The Sun Also Rises; A Farewell to Arms; For Whom the Bell Tolls; The Old Man and the Sea (Hardcover)
Hemingway is my favorite author an it's a great collection. Why more words, I like, like, like, like,like ,like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of Hemingway's best, September 27, 2011
By 
Senor Hotcell (California Bay Area) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Novels The Sun Also Rises; A Farewell to Arms; For Whom the Bell Tolls; The Old Man and the Sea (Hardcover)
There's no need to say anything about the four stories in this collection. This is a very nice, hardbound collection of four of Hemingway's best novels. Looks great in my library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.