Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book for Beginning Collectors
I started collecting and cultivating orchids about a year and a half ago and was overwhelmed by all the orchid books on the market. I purchased several, but this has been my bible. I like to have something in bloom at all times and by describing what plants bloom when the book helped me achieve my goal. It is also the best potting guide I have seen with step by step...
Published on June 13, 2010 by Hilldy Shaw

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Four Seasons Orchids
Not enough info for a new orchid grower. It's mostly pictures - and although they are beautiful, it wasn't very useful for everyday.I'd say it's better for someone who wants to identify a particular orchid.
Published 11 months ago by Shelley L Tate


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book for Beginning Collectors, June 13, 2010
By 
Hilldy Shaw (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Four Seasons of Orchids (Gardening) (Paperback)
I started collecting and cultivating orchids about a year and a half ago and was overwhelmed by all the orchid books on the market. I purchased several, but this has been my bible. I like to have something in bloom at all times and by describing what plants bloom when the book helped me achieve my goal. It is also the best potting guide I have seen with step by step instructions and photographs on how to transfer and pot several different types of orchids, even how to mount on cork. With notes on seasonal care and dealing with common pests, the book exceeded my initial expectations. On top of all of that, it has so many gorgeous (often full page) photographs it even serves as a choice coffee table book. If you're looking to collect, learn more about orchids, look at beautiful pictures of the many species, or if you're searching for a gift for the orchid fanatic in your life this is where it's at!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide for amateur gardeners, October 8, 2007
Featuring spectacular full-color photography of each orchid showcased in "Four Seasons Of Orchids", a superbly compiled 256-page compendium of information making this an excellent guide for amateur gardeners and horticultural professionals alike. Of special note for beginning orchid gardeners are the step-by-step potting guides for all the featured orchids from 'Phalaenopsis' to 'Cattleya'. The collaborative work of commercial photographer and orchid grower Greg Allikas and botanist and orchid expert Ned Nash, "Four Seasons Of Orchids" is a welcome and very highly recommended addition to academic library Horticultural Studies, and community library Home Gardening reference collections in general , as well as personal and professional reading lists for growing orchids in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Seasons of Orchids, May 31, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is great for the beginner and those who have been growing orchids for a while. I bought it for my orchid club. Simply written and beautiful pictures to illustrate. And the price was reasonable too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Seasons of Orchids, March 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The "Four Seasons of Orchids" is a gorgeous book. Anyone who loves flowers would benefit from receiving this book for a gift, or just buying it for the extensive information on orchids. I went to several bookstores in town before ordering off of Amazon and all the stores were out of it and it was on back order so it is very popular. My husband is an orchid lover and does quite well with his collection. Enjoy the book if you get a chance to see or purchase it.
K. Nance - San Diego
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great information, March 7, 2010
By 
Terryperry (Athens, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is a well written, beautifully illustrated and photographed book with extensive, useful information about orchids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & informative, October 29, 2007
This book is once again a masterpiece by Greg Alikas and Ned Nash. Tons of beautiful photographs and very helpful information on growing orchids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great value, August 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Seasons of Orchids (Gardening) (Paperback)
"Four Seasons of Orchids" is a great book for my purchase price. Great pictures, growing techniques and instructions how to re-pot the different types of orchids !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 4 seasons of orchids, September 26, 2013
By 
lynne slat (Webster, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Seasons of Orchids (Gardening) (Paperback)
This book was given to my mom for mothers day. She recieved after fretting about not knowing how to take care of an orchid I had purchased for Easter. The book was great- lots of pictures & explanations as to how to successfully grow orchids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orchid Book, January 6, 2013
By 
Dale P. Mathis (Pompano Beach, Fl) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Seasons of Orchids (Gardening) (Paperback)
Great book for anyone that is just taking up the hobby or has been into it for a while. Fantastic pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful photos, June 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Four Seasons of Orchids (Gardening) (Paperback)
The photos of the orchids are beautiful and there are lots of them, pages large, good illustrated potting instructions for several different types of orchids. It is arranged by the four seasons and I found this somewhat confusing when using the book as a reference. It would be easier to use if were organized by variety, however there is a lot of original and detailed information. The format of the book is too large to be easily portable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Four Seasons of Orchids (Gardening)
Four Seasons of Orchids (Gardening) by How-To (Paperback - May 5, 2010)
$16.95 $13.45
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.