Customer Reviews


280 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Best Romantic Comedy
"Four Weddings and a Funeral" may not be the greatest movie in the history, but it surely is the best modern romantic comedy I ever saw. The only film that can possibly surpass this delightful one is, perhaps, "When Harry Met Sally ..." Maybe tied.
Hugh Grant has starred in many films since then, but his best role is still Charles of this film,...
Published on January 25, 2002 by Tsuyoshi

versus
52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Witty Romance, Weak DVD
This film starring Hugh Grant and Andie MacDowell was quite a popular hit when released in theatres and was nominated for Oscars. The characters are well developed and the supporting cast is terrific. There are many great one-liners and the accompanying music is enjoyable. I consider this movie one of the best romantic comedies of the 90s. However, MGM has only...
Published on January 14, 2001 by mikemano


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Best Romantic Comedy, January 25, 2002
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Four Weddings and a Funeral" may not be the greatest movie in the history, but it surely is the best modern romantic comedy I ever saw. The only film that can possibly surpass this delightful one is, perhaps, "When Harry Met Sally ..." Maybe tied.
Hugh Grant has starred in many films since then, but his best role is still Charles of this film, who unwittingly finds his love in Carrie, an open-hearted American played by beautiful Andie MacDowell at his friend's wedding. One miatake is, he foolishly couldn't realize it before he let her go after one-night stand. But as the number of ceremony goes up (including one funeral), he gradually comes to notice that he threw away the best thing in his life. And while he is wondering what to do, friends around him start to search for their real love, including his own brother David, his timid friend Tom, Tom's sister Fiona, and Charles's eccentric roommate Scarlet. But where should Charles go? Going back to his countless ex-girlfriends? Or, Carrie? But she got already married.
To be honest, a little abrupt ending of the film damages an entire movie's strength a bit, but all comedies have to pay the price to end the show within an appointed hour. What is incredibly splendid about "Four Weddings" is that the characters are all so lively and sparkling with witty dialogue that you think they are not acting at all. Actually, on top of Hugh Grant, many actors are still associated with the roles in this film even if they got more populality after this film; Kristin Scott Thomas is later to be nominated Oscar for her turn in "English Patient," but she will be remembered as deliciously aristocratic Fiona. John Hannah made his name popular through the Hollywood blockbuster series of "Mummy," but still he is kind-hearted Matthew to those who have seen him recite W H Auden (most touching moment) in "Four Weddings." This is that kind of film that changes the cast's life. It happens once in your lifetime.
With this great ensemble cast, we have fantastic script by Richard Curtis, filled with funny lines uttered by completely believable characters. He does not fail to take great care of minor characters, and give them equally good moments. Look how Serena, in love with handsome David who is hearing impaired, learns sign. Trying to impress him, she mixes up "nice" with "mice," but, you know, when boys and girls are in love. nothing can stop them from understanding each other. Cute.
Brilliantly written, "Four Weddings" is a superb model of romantic comedy. If you like this type of movie, you surely will fall in love with it; and if you're not, your mind will be changed just like mine (I didn't expected much from it, so I didn't go to theater until the last day). And the film never forgets the sad side of life as the title implies. Sad thing is one of the cast Charlotte Coleman, who played most unconventional bridesmaid Scarlett, has passed away recently. She is terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Witty Romance, Weak DVD, January 14, 2001
By 
mikemano (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Four Weddings and a Funeral (DVD)
This film starring Hugh Grant and Andie MacDowell was quite a popular hit when released in theatres and was nominated for Oscars. The characters are well developed and the supporting cast is terrific. There are many great one-liners and the accompanying music is enjoyable. I consider this movie one of the best romantic comedies of the 90s. However, MGM has only occassionally produced outstanding DVDs. Unfortunately, this DVD has some artifacts, pixelation, and bare bones content. I was disappointed in the visual and sound quality for a film made so recently (within the last ten years). I would recommend this DVD only if you are a big fan of this film or don't demand quality and rich content in your DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, Bad DVD, February 18, 2001
By 
Morris (NY, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Four Weddings and a Funeral (DVD)
This was a very good movie. Hugh Grant is charming and funny in a clumsy way. Andie MacDowell is cute and charming as well. The cast as a whole is terrific. I recommend this movie to all. The DVD on the other hand, was very poor. I have watched a lot of DVDs in the past year and this was one of the worst. I felt like I was watching a VHS tape. The picture was very bland and the colors were muted. I know the English are pale, but this DVD transfer did not do them any justice. On top of the poor video quality, the sound was just as awful. The volume was very low, and jumpy at times. The dialog at times didn't come through clearly and there was no use of the surround channels. This movie could use a thorough update to the entire pakage. A new video transfer, a new audio 5.1 channel mix and some extras would have made this a top DVD. Instead MGM decided to skip all the goodies technology has to offer to keep the price of this DVD down. Too Bad, Its a Great Movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Romantic Brit-Comedy!, May 3, 2006
By 
The 1994 movie, "Four Weddings and a Funeral", was an international box office hit and the pioneer in the film genre known as the 'Romantic Brit-Com'. This is a genre of usually small budget, comedic films, that are about the romantic lives of good looking, young Brits (usually with a close group of witty, quirky, supportive friends), who must overcome self-doubt and bad timing to make true love happen. A good number of these films star British actor, Hugh Grant and have been written (and sometimes directed) by Richard Curtis ("Notting Hill" "Love Actually," "Bridget Jones"). Curtis has been so involved in this genre, that he's basically been annoited "King of the Romantic Brit-Coms". "Four Weddings" was pretty much the first of these films. This movie mostly takes place at public events, which are of course the "Four Weddings and a Funeral" in the title. In the film we meet Charles (Hugh Grant) and his close knit group of quirky, witty, supportive friends. We never find out what they do for a living, what their backgrounds are and only get hints of how they know each other. It's as though we are guests at a wedding meeting these people for the first time. What we do find out is that Charles seems to be a perennial wedding guest/Best-Man. He has great doubts about his troubled romantic life and wonders if he is ever destined to meet, that one special person, who he might actually marry. He also always seems to be putting his foot in his mouth and getting into embarassing comic situations (I love the scene, where he gets stuck at a table filled with all his ex-girlfriends!) At the first wedding he meets a glamorous American named, Carrie (played by a luminous, Andie MacDowell). They meet, flirt, even wind up in bed with each other over the course of the different public occasions. But of course because of self-doubt and bad timing, these characters can never really seem to get it together and declare their true love for each other. It's not hard to figure out how this all ends, but the long and winding road over the course of the four weddings and a funeral are quite funny, sad and interesting for all. This is due to the very funny and poignant script from Richard Curtis and sure direction from Mike Newell. The cast is top notch. Hugh Grant has a star making performance in the lead role. Other standout performances include actors Simon Callow as the gregarious, full of life, Gareth and John Hannah as Matthew, who just stops the film with an emotion filled eulogy. Kristin Scott Thomas is also very good as Charles' friend Fiona, who secretly pines for him. Finally, mention should be of British Comedian, Rowan Atkinson's short, but drop dead hilarious turn, as a very nervous, new Vicar, who can't seem to get the wedding vows right! ("Do you take Lydia Jane Hibbert to be your Awful wedded wife!") Originally, this film was released in a pretty primitive bare bones release. It has now been released in a newly minted, 'Deluxe Edition'. The picture is cleaned up and presented in widescreen. I thought the sound in this edition left a lot to be desired. The extras are wonderful. They include a full length commentary track from the filmmakers and a number of short documentaries and featurettes on the making of the film, that prove to be very interesting. But best of all are the deleted scenes (with commentaries), that flesh out the backgrounds of the characters a little more. This film is a wonderful romantic comedy, that leaves you wanting more. Great film! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, bad dvd transfer, November 6, 1999
By 
This review is from: Four Weddings and a Funeral (DVD)
As a movie I will rate it 4 stars, but the video quality is very bad, lot of artifacts, blury images, MGM transfer is really a big disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For The Romantic In All Of Us, September 23, 2002
This review is from: Four Weddings and a Funeral (DVD)
"Four Weddings and a Funeral" is one of the few romantic comedies I appreciate. It's a lovable, hilarious look at the wackiness of love and weddings. Andie MacDowell and Hugh Grant are fine leads, though MacDowell's character is written rather weakly. There really isn't much for her to do, except perform the duties of "unrequited love interest". The other characters are very vivid, though. Hugh Grant truly shines in the role of his career as bumbling bachelor Charles, whose main characteristics consist of being late to weddings, stumbling over words, and fear of commitment to one woman. Grant is romantic and sympathetic without being coy, and I found myself falling in love along with Andie MacDowell! But the best part of the film is the supporting cast. I think it is responsible for the film's status as a comedy classic. Charlotte Coleman is perfect as fiery Scarlett, David Bower is hilarious as David, a bumbling bachelor like Charles, but lacking his suave charm, and Simon Callow is fondly memorable as flamboyant Gareth, perhaps the funniest of them all. My favorite performance, however, is that of Kristin Scott Thomas. As the icy, longing Fiona, she's an understated revelation. Director Mike Newell has called her performance the best of the film, and I agree. Scott Thomas is a great ensemble player (see "Gosford Park"), and here's hoping she lands another comedy soon.
There is a pitiful lack of special features on this DVD, but at half the price of most, it's still worth owning. A movie this fun doesn't need lots of extras to justify its purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, Funny & Sad, May 25, 2000
This utterly charming, little British film took me completely by surprise the first time I saw it. I did not know what to expect going in, but I quickly found myself falling completely in love with it.
The plot is structured around the five events mentioned in the title. A magnificent group of seven dear friends attends a string of weddings, none of them, unfortunately, involving any of the principles. Our focus is on Charles (Hugh Grant), a devilishly handsome man who is completely incapable of committing to marriage. He is, as an ex-girlfriend describes him, a "serial monogamist."
There is some hope, however, that that might change when Charles meets Carrie (Andie MacDowell), a beautiful American woman. He falls in love with her, and we suspect she might love him, too, but instead she gets engaged to Hamish (Corin Redgrave), a boring, but rich man, twice her age. Our hearts break along with Charles' because we know that she is making a mistake. He is too disappointed, though, and too afraid to do anything about it.
There is something so pleasing about friendship in a movie. When it is done right, as it is here, it involves the audience in a way that most stories cannot. While watching this film, I could not help but wish that I knew them all better. Who wouldn't want a group of such trusted and wonderful friends? Because we like them, and because we feel we know them so well, the events in the film aren't just happening to somebody else. They are happening to us as well. That is why "Four Weddings" is so touching and so moving.
The acting is nothing short of brilliant, especially the work done by Hugh Grant. Not since Cary Grant has an actor displayed such suave, British charm and natural good looks. He is a delight to watch and, no doubt, has an excellent future ahead for himself. Andie MacDowell is equally enchanting. She has never appeared as lovely in a movie before as she does here.
The screenplay by Richard Curtis is extremely well written. The scenes have the ring of truth to them; the characters feel as real as anyone we know. The writing always hits just the right note, striking a delicate balance between moments of great humor and romance, as well as deep sadness.
Mike Newell's direction is fine, never distracting us the center of the film: the characters and their words. At the same time, there are moments of inspired visual artistry. The sight of Charles arriving late for Carrie's wedding, standing alone in a broad, Scottish moor, is touchingly sad. Even better is the funeral chapel, stranded in a bleak, industrial wasteland, overlooking the dull, gray Thames. It is a very evocative and poignant moment.
I do not want to give the impression that this is a sad film because it is not. At times it is rather hilarious, the romance is always enticing, and it does have a happy, if unexpected, ending. More importantly, all of its emotions are genuinely earned. "Four Weddings and a Funeral" is one of the most delightful films I have seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great supporting characters, puzzling story, January 30, 2002
By A Customer
It is worth it to watch this for the wonderful, warm portrayals of Gareth and Matthew, the zingy Scarlett, the brittle but brilliant Fiona.
But what an odd storyline. We're supposed to believe that Charles truly loves Carrie. Er, what for? The character Fiona has a one-word dismissal of Carrie that should have stopped the action right there.
Interestingly, Fiona, for all her bad luck in her love life, is the best judge of character, with the most insight, in the film. She alone of the main characters knows that Matthew and Gareth are in a couple and is comfortable commenting on it, she alone has the courage to criticize the woman (who turns out to be a jerk)that Charles initially plans to marry. When the writers went to so much work to show us that Fiona knows people and then expects us to suspend that knowledge it is difficult to root for Carrie and Charles as a couple.
Reviewer after reviewer blames Andie for making Carrie bland and uninspiring. I think it is the fault of the writers. We don't know what Carrie does for a living, what her family is like (except for a brief speech she makes at her own wedding--no interaction, just the actress talking--again), anything about her except that she is a pretty tease (to be polite about it). In contrast, we know that Charles is devoted to his brother, that he has remorse about past relationships, that he can live with a woman without sleeping with her but wants a real relationship. "Carrie" never had a chance, no matter who played her.
So, three stars for the subplots, none for the silly main plot, leaving us with an enjoyable but not great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious delight!, March 26, 2005
By 
Susan Fong (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four Weddings and a Funeral (DVD)
One of the best romantic comedies ever, "Four Weddings and a Funeral" follows a close-knit group of unattached British thirtysomethings whose major diversion is attending other people's weddings (while hoping to find their own true love during the course of four weddings).

Romantic connections are made, lost, and rediscovered amongst the guests at the weddings plus a tragic funeral. These entanglements are buoyed by a funny, observant screenplay which includes references to David Cassidy and the Partridge Family as well as an hilarious stretch in which a nervous novice minister adds a new twist to the nuptials by referring to the bride-to-be as an "AWFUL wedded wife" or by concluding the rituals "in the name of the father, son, and holy GOAT". Rowan Atkinson aka Mr. Bean plays the bumbling minister to side-splitting perfection.

This is the movie that elevated Hugh Grant to major stardom and familiarized American audiences with a strikingly beautiful, gifted young actress named Kristin Scott Thomas. Miss Thomas, elegant, witty, and world weary steals most of the scenes she's in. The entire cast is superb. They negotiate the movie's comic and melancholy turns masterfully.

"Four Weddings and a Funeral" is a serious delight. See for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe Edition of a Well-Loved Movie Worth Having, March 18, 2008
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
"Four Weddings and a Funeral," (1994) a British romantic comedy/drama, caused something of a sensation upon its release. It broke all records for worldwide box-office take by a British picture: and not very many British pictures since have done as well. It was received rapturously by many important critics, and was nominated for a "Best Picture" Academy Award. It boosted the careers of its director, Mike Newell, and most of its talented cast members. It also made its star, Hugh Grant, flavor of the decade - and counting -- as leading man of any English-speaking romantic comedy. It put its author, Richard Curtis, at the head of what has since become an English cottage industry, the creation of romantic Brit-coms (see "Notting Hill,""Love Actually,"etc.) Yet, when it was made, the budget was so tight that those glorious Scottish wedding scenes were all filmed in Hampshire, a Home County near London. And the numerous wedding scene extras were required to wear their own evening dress.

Most everyone knows the plot, but here goes. Charles (Grant) is one of a group of young friends looking unsuccessfully, it seems, for love. Charles is commitment-phobic; yet he, his roommate, Scarlett (Charlotte Coleman), and the crowd seem to spend every Saturday going, late, to weddings, where they are frequently members of the wedding parties. Disastrous best man speeches are made, rings are forgotten. Then Charles spots the beautiful American Carrie (Andie MacDowell) at a wedding, and much yearning ensues. Carrie announces her engagement to, and marries, a rich, older Scot, Hamish (Corin Redgrave). But, of course, true love triumphs and triumphs and triumphs. There are viewers that consider MacDowell's performance too passive, but everyone agrees Grant created the perfect romantic English lead, shy, stuttering, hair in his eyes. Coleman, who unfortunately died much too young, in an asthma attack, made Scarlett touching and real. Redgrave, well, of course.

The supporting cast was also uniformly excellent, and funny. Rowan Atkinson is hilarious in a small part as Father Gerald, priest in training. James Fleet does good work as Tom, the crowd's millionaire. Kristin Scott Thomas is beautiful, beautifully-dressed, witty, touching and intelligent as Tom's sister Fiona, who's unfortunate enough to love Charles. Theater stalwart Simon Callow shines as the gay Gareth; and, as for John Hannah, playing his lover Matthew; well, it's all been said, hasn't it. Though I'd add that I never yet have re watched this movie -- did so again last night--without being reduced to tears by his reading of WH Auden's "Funeral Blues" poem at Gareth's untimely funeral.

If you love the movie, the Deluxe Edition is useful. Its extras are very helpful: Audio Commentary with filmmakers, "Wedding Planners" Documentary, "Two Actors and a Director" featurette, and the featurette on the making of the film. The deleted scenes are uniformly funny, too, and give us a bit more back-story of the characters, which the movie doesn't give us a lot of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Four Weddings and a Funeral
Four Weddings and a Funeral by Mike Newell (DVD - 1999)
$14.98 $6.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.