Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection of songs showing love is all around
With a title like Four Weddings and a Funeral, it's no surprise that the majority of tracks here deal with love. It's a mixture of cover songs, previously released songs, oldies, and new songs that really mix well. The theme of the movie, which was later recycled yet revamped in Love Actually, also starring Hugh Grant, is underscored by Scottish popsters Wet Wet Wet,...
Published on January 8, 2005 by Daniel J. Hamlow

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pop song collection but not really the film's soundtrack
An okay collection of pop tunes, at least one of which took on some further significance, when Richard Curtis parodied the success of "Love Is All Around" in Love Actually.
The problem is that the album leaves out almost all of the evocative and haunting music written for the film by Richard Rodney Bennett, a first-rate British concert composer who wrote a number of...
Published 19 months ago by C. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection of songs showing love is all around, January 8, 2005
With a title like Four Weddings and a Funeral, it's no surprise that the majority of tracks here deal with love. It's a mixture of cover songs, previously released songs, oldies, and new songs that really mix well. The theme of the movie, which was later recycled yet revamped in Love Actually, also starring Hugh Grant, is underscored by Scottish popsters Wet Wet Wet, who scored their biggest hit with their cover of the Troggs' "Love Is All Around," which spent 15 weeks on top of the UK charts. It's nice strings one instant, blaring rock guitar the next, but a worthy cover.

Elton John has three songs here, one of them being an old chestnut, "Crocodile Rock." The other two are cover tunes and bookend the movie, his great cover of George Gershwin's "But Not For Me" opening the film. The light strings and leisure arrangements lends the feeling that many might feel: "They're writing songs of love, but not for me." Finally, his cover of the Dixie Cups' "Chapel of Love" is played during the photo montage happy ending of the film. It's done with a rocking style reminiscent of his 70's period, and along with the Gershwin track, make these musical highlights of this collection.

Along with "Crocodile Rock," the other song played during the dance scene of Angus and Laura's wedding was that classical disco chestnut, "I Will Survive" by Gloria Gaynor, which had Simon Callow's character doing an OTT dance to it. Nu Colours' smooth R&B rendition of the Kern/Harbach classic "Smoke Gets In Your Eyes" is played during the party of the second marriage.

There are some tunes I didn't catch in the movie, but maybe next time. One was Sting's "The Secret Marriage," originally from his Nothing But The Sun album. In context of the movie, it shows how two of the characters were actually married, of sorts. Swing Out Sister lend their smooth jazz-pop sound on the Delfonics' "La La La (Means I Love You)." And Canadian duo One 2 One, who later became incarnated as Artifical Joy Club, do the bounciest song here, a soulful Stock-Aitken-Waterman-type bubblegum soul number "The Right Time." Another is the light soul of Squeeze's "Loving You Tonight," original on their Some Fantastic Place album.

The final track is dialogue taken from Matthew (John Hannah) during the memorial service of Gareth (Simon Callow) and is a reading of W.H. Auden's "Funeral Blues" with the score accompaniment. After all, this wasn't merely called Four Weddings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Weddings, November 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was made on a very small budget, and I don't think it was expected to do much for those who watched it. However, the great array of characters are fantastic! You can't help but laugh at the script and how it is played out. Great movie! You will be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pop song collection but not really the film's soundtrack, June 22, 2013
By 
C. Smith (Buffalo, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An okay collection of pop tunes, at least one of which took on some further significance, when Richard Curtis parodied the success of "Love Is All Around" in Love Actually.
The problem is that the album leaves out almost all of the evocative and haunting music written for the film by Richard Rodney Bennett, a first-rate British concert composer who wrote a number of fine scores, as well. (For example, Murder on the Orient Express, Enchanted April, and Far from the Madding Crowd, among many others.)
It's a sad comment on our pop-obsessed world that Polygram has released, in lieu of this excellent score, which is available nowhere else, a collection of songs, all of which can be found elsewhere. And, even more sadly, this seems to be what people want out of a soundtrack album, 10 complete songs, each of which is heard for just a snippet in the film.
They've thrown serious students of film music a slim bone. You can hear a bit of Bennett's music under the superb recitation of Auden by John Hannah, as a short last track on the CD. All it does is serve to remind us of how much glorious music they have omitted in favour of Elton John and Sting, whose delightful songs we already have on other disks.
What a waste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1 wedding, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the cd. It needed cleaning when it arrived, but now works great. It came sooner than predicted and was so inexpensive that I can't complain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful little movie for the romantic at heart, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got this one really fast! Wonderful little movie for the romantic at heart. I loved the music featured so I felt compelled to pick up the soundtrack. I was mostly interested in the songs by Sir Elton John. Couldn't be happier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous!, May 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
beautiful movie! I loved it and its characters: actors too were fantastic and the music is quite important to complete the frame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this movie and the music!, July 23, 2013
By 
Kelly W. Gaisford (MANITOU SPRINGS, CO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you love Four Weddings and Funeral you will LOVE the soundtrack. One of my favorites to play when I want to feel good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, May 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Terrific movie ... no doubt will turn out to be a classic. Especially loved the music soundtrack. You cannot
go wrong adding this to your movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Four Weddings And A Funeral, June 20, 2014
Didn't like it at all! I expected the move and it was a Motion Picture Soundtrack and that's all I have to say about it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Total Favorite, October 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wore out the first CD........absolutely adore the music from this wonderful film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Four Weddings and a Funeral
Four Weddings and a Funeral by Various (Audio Cassette - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.