Customer Reviews


384 Reviews
5 star:
 (241)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comfy and they fit!
I am a woman and I have very large hands, so finding women's gloves is a near impossibility for me. After much hunting these came and they fit perfectly! Feminine black leather gloves. Cashmere is a bit of a stretch. Some fairly soft knit lining but it works and I'm so happy to finally not have frozen hands in the winter. They probably aren't good for say, shoveling...
Published 24 months ago by D. Adams

versus
77 of 85 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected.
I bought these gloves as a gift for my girlfriend this past Christmas (I already owned a pair of Fowne's men's lambskin/cashmere gloves). I was assuming the two gloves would be almost identical; however, the men's lambskin is noticably softer than the women's. I was disappointed at the quality of the leather as compared to the men's.

If I were to do it over...
Published on January 21, 2011 by Jeff S.


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comfy and they fit!, December 4, 2012
By 
D. Adams (Northern Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a woman and I have very large hands, so finding women's gloves is a near impossibility for me. After much hunting these came and they fit perfectly! Feminine black leather gloves. Cashmere is a bit of a stretch. Some fairly soft knit lining but it works and I'm so happy to finally not have frozen hands in the winter. They probably aren't good for say, shoveling the walk or throwing snowballs, but for getting in the car on a frigid morning and not having your hands go numb as you scrap the car and get it warmed up, these are perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful warm winter gloves, November 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These are beautiful gloves: well made (I've been wearing them for several weeks and they are obviously strongly made), extremely warm (and the cashmere lining is very soft), and well fitting - they glide on and fit snugly. I am delighted with these gloves. Terrific value at the price (mine were on sale). I would recommend them to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 85 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected., January 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought these gloves as a gift for my girlfriend this past Christmas (I already owned a pair of Fowne's men's lambskin/cashmere gloves). I was assuming the two gloves would be almost identical; however, the men's lambskin is noticably softer than the women's. I was disappointed at the quality of the leather as compared to the men's.

If I were to do it over again, I would buy the men's gloves (one size smaller) for my girlfriend, as the leather is much better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gloves - nicely made but small, December 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The gloves are well made and look great and were delivered on time. However they are sized small so order up at least 1/2 size and maybe a full size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of fownes women's gloves, February 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These gloves are perfect for women with long fingers. They are elegant, as they are a rich looking leather and warm, thanks to the cashmere lining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frownes Women's Black Leather Gloves, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These gloves feel so nice and I can't wait to wear them when it gets cold. They fit me nice and snug around the fingers and they look good too.The cashmere on the inside though seems to shed a little bit when I take my hands out of them because I get small amounts of fur on my fingers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible experience with these Fownes leather/cashmere gloves, March 18, 2013
By 
My husband bought these for me 2 weeks ago (on amazon) and I don't like to leave negative feedback but feel I must on these gloves. First, all of the fingers are more than one inch (1") too long. Second, the gloves are so slippery, unlike good leather, that my hands slipped right off the steering wheel as if my fingers had been buttered. Fownes has been one of the very best brands of fine gloves for many decades (and made the ones which I had to discard after 30 years of use and why my husband bought these for me) so I'm assuming either this was a fluke or something's not right here and I suspect the latter is true as I notice that another purchaser of these gloves had a similar experience with the ridiculously long fingers (Edward Scissorhands would do well with these). Something's badly amiss on these gloves and my suspicion is that they're very poor knock-offs.
And, I forgot to add: there is no Fownes label in the gloves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gloves!, December 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gave these gloves as a gift. She absolutely loved them! They are soft and very fine leather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality, December 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These gloves split between the fingers (on both gloves) the first time they were worn. I will definitely return this product for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective? or cheap? Inner lining torn in about a month, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gave a pair of these gloves as a gift (given by mid-December). By late January, the inner lining of the left hand (the person's non-dominant hand) was torn through. This could be a defect. Or it could be the lowering of quality for this product. Regardless: This pair of gloves is practically useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.