Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great fraction that's really 3 lessons in one.
In my third grade classroom, I used the first part of this colorful book to introduce fractions, both equivalent and adding fractions. They loved the hands-on Pizza Math! We also used the last half of the book to introduce a weighing activity and a discussion of money. The students gave it a definite thumbs up. As a teacher I found the colorful illustrations helpful...
Published on April 7, 2000 by Diane Rausch

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a workbook!
I was looking for a fraction workbook when my son showed some interest in fraction. However this is not a workbook! It introduces the concept of fraction and so on. I kept it because it's not worth the return shipping, but it's totally useless to us.
Published 4 months ago by Xiaochao Zheng


Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great fraction that's really 3 lessons in one., April 7, 2000
By 
Diane Rausch (Leander, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fraction Fun (Paperback)
In my third grade classroom, I used the first part of this colorful book to introduce fractions, both equivalent and adding fractions. They loved the hands-on Pizza Math! We also used the last half of the book to introduce a weighing activity and a discussion of money. The students gave it a definite thumbs up. As a teacher I found the colorful illustrations helpful to the students and appreciate the simple presentation of each concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fractions, a delicious but weighty concept, October 30, 2004
By 
This review is from: Fraction Fun (Paperback)
Fraction Fun is a great picture book to introduce fractions to a classroom. David Adler explains the concept of fractions by using slices of a pizza pie. Then by engaging the reader into a simple and fun activity, called Pizza Math, the children learn how fractions can be more than, less than, and equal to each other. Next, the children learn how to use fractions in weight. The children are encouraged to weigh pennies, nickels, pencils, and tissues, all to determine their weight in fractions. Sound complicated? Not with Adler's colorful illustrations, clear directions and the simple, hands on activities. The children learn without much effort and have fun too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Jumping Off Place for Fractions!, March 13, 2006
This review is from: Fraction Fun (Paperback)
This book had several hands-on activities that were very useful as an introductory lesson for any students or remediation for students who are struggling with the concept of fractions. The activities are also very visual and worked well with the special education students with whom I used it. I easily thought of several extensions of the activities as well so I thought this book was well worth the money. It did proceed very quickly from one type of fraction example to another so I just broke up the activities over several days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oops! Confusing for kids used to metric system, September 26, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fraction Fun (Hardcover)
A great book which covers both concepts and applications in a colorful yet simple format.
But...international customers should think twice if they use metric measurement and currency systems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another for my collection of math books!, November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fraction Fun (Paperback)
A great book for teaching fractions that helps students learn about fractions and enjoy reading at the same time! Very enjoyable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 7, 2001
By 
"gypsybegger" (Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fraction Fun (Paperback)
This book has colorful illustrations and is an excellent in content. It is a great source for children who are trying to learn the concept of fractions/math. A great book and a fun way to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, May 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fraction Fun (Paperback)
Another great read for introducing fractions even for my students who are in seventh grade special education. Great great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Storybook on Math!, November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fraction Fun (Hardcover)
Awesome book, I wish I had known about it years ago. I think all the kids books should be about something they will have to eventually learn. I love this book, and it will be a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a workbook!, March 8, 2014
By 
Xiaochao Zheng (Newport News, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fraction Fun (Paperback)
I was looking for a fraction workbook when my son showed some interest in fraction. However this is not a workbook! It introduces the concept of fraction and so on. I kept it because it's not worth the return shipping, but it's totally useless to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fraction Fun
Fraction Fun by David A. Adler (Paperback - September 1, 1997)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.