Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Fracture (Widescreen Edition)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 11, 2007
First of all, the movie starts off with a murder and you know who the murderer is. So it isn't a suspense story as much as a psychological thriller, the type that pits two very strong personalities against one another (played by Anthony Hopkins and Ryan Gosling).
Each is a control freak and each is ambitious. The whole thrill of this movie is watching the characters, seeing how they develop and change and wondering how this will all play out.
Looking at the reviews that others have written for this movie, it is clear that people tended to love or hate this movie -and I think I understand why. For one thing, you KNOW what happened -and why -almost from the start. But I happen to like character-driven movies and this one is definitely in that vein. Yes, Hopkins does seem to recreate his Hannibel Lechter personalty (or hints of it) but that worked out fine in this instance.
11 comment| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2007
Fracture is a great psychological drama that stars Anthony Hopkins and Ryan Gosling. Fracture is a film with qualities reminiscent of Alfred Hitchcock era that really left me guessing until the very end. Gosling's performance as a young smitten lawyer named Willie Beachum is something to applaud. I was not impressed when he was cast in a crime thriller called "Murder by Numbers" with Sandra Bullock a few years ago, but those thoughts are now erased from my memory. Beachum takes on the case of a successful engineer named Ted Crawford, who is accused of attempted murder. As the clues become less and less presentable, Beachum suddenly realizes that Crawford is playing some sort of game, and it is a game of chance and elaborate mind games that Beachum just might win.

Fracture did not douse me with puzzles, in fact it really held back in that area and yet the continual drama that played out between the two main characters was more than enough to keep me not just guessing, but simply interested in the film's story as a whole.
33 comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2007
If you like courtroom dramas, appreciate excellent acting and an expertly-filmed movie this is for you. Only once, I think, have I ever proclaimed something "best movie of the year" and all that, because it's all too subjective and also a cliché but that's how I feel about this movie unless something better comes along the last few months of 2007.

This is just a fabulous movie with Anthony Hopkins and Ryan Gosling playing characters who engage in a battle of wits. Hopkins plays a husband who discovers his wife having an affair, shoots her, confesses the same night and then has things cleverly arranged where it's almost impossible to convict him. Gosling plays a young, hotshot prosecuting attorney on his way to bigger and better things with a change of scenery to corporate law but gets stuck with this open-and-shut case right before he switches firms. The trouble is, it's a lot more than he figured and he isn't used to losing. Hopkins knows this, of course, and plays on his vanity.

Gosling evolves from a me-only lawyer to someone who really wants justice, even if it costs him. Both characters are cocky and smart and the twists and turns just add to the fun.

I enjoyed watching all the actors performances and was very impressed. The camera-work by Director Of Photography Kramer Morgenthau should also be recognized, along with director Gregory Hoblit, who seems to direct very entertaining films ("Frequency," "Fallen," etc.)

I could have watched this story unfold for another two hours and would have been happy to do so, am I'm not one to sit still for long periods these days. That's how good this was....just Grade A film-making and storytelling.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 26, 2007
Let there be no doubt, Anthony Hopkins plays a very good "bad guy". Obviously, his best role was in "Silence of the Lambs" where he was evil personified. However, in "Fracture", he is also excellent as the alleged killer of his philandering wife.

In brief, "Fracture" is a court room drama. Hopkins plays the part of Ted Crawford who has chosen to murder his wife in cold blood. The crime is to be prosecuted by Ryan Gosling playing the role of Willy Beachum. To Beachum, the case is a "slam dunk". Apparently, there is a signed confession, a murder weapon and a motive. However, as we soon learn, the case is far more complicated than it appears to be a first glance. Ted Crawford is a clever man who has left no tracks. Indeed, he is acquitted. But hubris then takes hold. If only he had chosen not to continue to press the envelope.

On small criticism I have of the movie is that the gun was never traced by its serial number. When you see the movie, this point will make sense. It's a clear weakness in the plot. If not, the police department involved was monumentally incompetent.

In spite of my criticism, the movie is worth seeing. Not great, but certainly good.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2007
Anthony Hopkins loves movies where he can wipe the floor with his costars. He is almost giddy in roles like Hannibal Lector. His character in director Gregory Hoblit's latest thriller, Fracture, is no different. Like the eggshell analogy that Hopkins makes to his costar Ryan Gosling, Fracture falls prey to the same smarmy advice the star gives out: everything, no matter how perfect it may look, has a flaw.

When wealthy and intelligent aerodynamics expert Ted Crawford (Hopkins) catches his wife in an act of infidelity with a Los Angeles homicide detective, he cooks up an elaborate plan to not only kill his wife, but to legally get away with it. What should have been an open and shut case for District Attorney Willy Beachum turns into a career ending nightmare as Crawford seemingly outsmarts the law at every turn.

Though the direction, acting and visual style in Fracture is fantastic, the hairline crack that splinters the picture is the film's attempt at creating suspense by relying on a twist ending that is easily predictable given the information that is presented early in the film. How exactly does Crawford shoot his wife in the face with a weapon that has never been fired? Given the revealing marketing for the film, which gives away the circumstances surrounding the murder, audiences can easily trace the steps that Hopkins takes early in the film, clearly giving them an idea of where Fracture is going.

In the best thrillers, when the inevitable twist hits, it is the little clues scattered throughout the picture which give the ending credibility. While all these details are within Fracture, they are so clear that if you don't see the crack in the villain's flawless plan immediately, you will be kicking yourself when the film finally presents it to you.

That being said, how does Fracture manage to hold the audience's attention despite its blatant reveal of the picture's number one mystery? While a less experienced director might rely heavily on this twist alone, Gregory Hoblit manages to see through what could have been a thinly veiled, plot driven movie and finds an intriguing character study.

While Hopkins chews up the scenery with his vast intellect and charming whit, Fracture is really the story of Willy Beachum. Considering the fact that Fracture consists of a cast which includes an Academy Award winner and two nominees, it was to be expected that Hoblit should have no problem drawing performances from his actors. The real surprise in Fracture is just how well planned out the story of Willy Beachum was.

Ryan Gosling's character begins the film as an arrogant, hot shot district attorney who has been put on the fast track, landing a job in the private sector. Thinking that Crawford's case will be the last in his short tenure serving the public, Beachum shrugs off what appears to be an easy win. His refusal to take the case seriously, combined with Crawford's meticulous planning, ultimately leads to Beachum's downfall. With his cushy job in jeopardy, Beachum's character develops a methodical obsession with Crawford, searching desperately to find the one clue that will put his nemesis away for good.

As the film progresses Gosling's character changes from cocky to heroic. At first it is fun to see Hopkins toy with him, but thanks to Gosling's surprisingly good acting and Hoblit's taught direction, as Beachum changes, so does the audience's expectations. We want Gosling to come out on top. This change, from selfishness to selflessness is what gives his character the roundness that carries Fracture past its faults.

Though predictable, it is the dramatic arc of Willy Beachum which separates Fracture from just another episode of Law and Order. While Hopkins' character begins the film as a smarmy antihero, he essentially pushes Beachum into becoming the unlikely champion of the story, and in some ways Fracture showcases one legendary actor passing on the torch to another.

-Joe Russo
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2007
How can one man be so darn masterful at acting? Sir Anthony Hopkins adds suspense and pinche to this murder mystery. Ryan Gosling plays a capable "good guy" to Hopkins "bad guy" but shows his youth and inexperience. The movie has several twists and turns that keep the viewer watching until the very end. Overall, it was a good movie. Much better than some of the crud coming out of Hollywood lately. Worth the price of admission or the cost of the DVD.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 23, 2007
As the story opens, wealthy Ted Crawford (Anthony Hopkins) discovers his wife is having an affair and promptly shoots her. Enter the police, led by a detective who just happens to be Mrs. Crawford's lover. Crawford confesses to the shooting and it looks like an open and shut case, or so thinks ambitious, young Deputy District Attorney Willy Beachum (Ryan Gosling). He agrees to take the case assuming it will be 1-2-3-guilty, but Crawford pleads not guilty, wants to defend himself, and, oh yes, where's the gun?

This movie is beautifully photographed in film noir shadows and dim lighting and looks great. The problem is the script that calls for such unremittingly monotonous and deadpan performances that when it's over, it's just an overwhelming downer. I didn't care about any of the characters and was disappointed that the wonderful Anthony Hopkins had so little screen time. It's all about Ryan Gosling's cocky, social-climbing character. Both Gosling and Hopkins go through the whole movie with poker-faces and the I'm-so-much-smarter-than-you act wears thin early on. In place of intense emotions, we get a subdued face-off between two smug equal adversaries (neither of whom is likeable) and even a brief office romance is played down and devoid of warmth. It's an OK movie that held my interest, but left me wishing there were more emotional sparks on the screen.
88 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 22, 2013
Okay, the title of this review supplies my only opinion of the movie itself. That's as much of a summary as I intend to give since all my reviews focus solely upon the actual quality of the transfer to Blu Ray itself and my rating is also based only upon that quality and not on my opinion of the movie.

VIDEO….
The quality of the transfer is really quite good with deep dark blacks which depend much upon the actual quality of the TV monitor you are watching it on. I saw no artifacting or background banding anywhere in the film's imaging. Color grading tends to be very warm with a soft focus but contrast is really very good. Mbps rate is very high averaging towards the high 30's and low 40s. I do believe that there is some real improvement between this Blu Ray and my Standard Def version though this is not a side by side comparison.

AUDIO….
You do have to go to the audio set up menu in order to set the audio to a lossless Dolby True HD setting, otherwise it will go to a default lossy audio. This is a mostly dialogue driven film so do not expect much use of your surrounds for in immersive audio experience. The LFE channel is rarely brought into play. Surprisingly, some nice foley fx in the front surrounds were present here and there. Dialogue is clear and transparent though initial audio levels were a touch low. Raising my volume level a bit settled that issue and I did not have to roller coaster my remote's volume once properly set.

EXTRAs….
There are several additional scenes and two alternate endings. Once watched, glad they picked the ending they did. I enjoyed the additional scenes. A trailer is also included.

I do hope that this review, which focused solely upon the quality of the actual transfer to Blu Ray has been of some help to you in deciding your purchase.
Thanks for reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
FRACTURE (USA/Germany-2007 is one of my favorite Anthony Hopkins movies, one in which he's a calculating, cold-blooded killer who plays an elaborate courtroom game with hotshot Asst. DA Ryan Gosling.

Knowing his younger wife is having an affair with a police detective, Hopkins awaits her arrival home and shoots her in the left cheek. The bullet travels through her brain and lodges against the skull, but she doesn't die.

The cop boyfriend arrives to investigate a reported shooting, not realizing who the victim is. Naturally he's upset when he sees his lover lying near death. Hopkins cooly admits to shooting her, has the weapon nearby. At the police station he willingly signs a confession.

Meanwhile, Gosling is a lawyer on the way up. He likes nothing better than to win in court, and his 97% success rate shows he's good at it. After destroying in trial the case of a top-notch defense attorney, Gosling is hired by the loser's law firm, the most prestigious in L.A. He's given his two weeks notice at the DA's office, but has a chance to rack up another courtroom victory before leaving the City's employ, an open-and-shut case of a man who's confessed to the attempted murder of his spouse.

Hopkins takes legal procedures in a most cavalier manner, even acts as his own lawyer. At one point before the trial he offers Gosling a great deal of cash if he will defend him, with a warning that things will become messy if he remains prosecutor. These words of caution go unheeded by the young DA who has, in his mind, already moved on to a new career with that big money firm. Besides, this case is a slam dunk, right? He's got the weapon, a verbal confession and a signed one. The trial will be over before it starts.... or will it?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2015
As a huge fan of Sir Anthony Hopkins, I must say that this film is one of my favorites. Hopkins plays wealthy engineer Ted Crawford who we watch in the opening minutes of the film approve of a new design with confidence before going on a sunny drive to a hotel where he watches his wife participate in an affair with Lt. Rob Nunally. We then see his wife come home where he tells his wife he love her to which she replies "I know." And of course, then, Crawford shoots her in the face. Her lover, Nunally, shows up on the scene to work the case, realizing at the last second, that Mrs. Crawford is his lover!

Ryan Gosling plays attorney Willy Beachum. While Beachum works for the District Attorney's office, he has a big opportunity around the corner with the prestigious law firm Wooten Simms. He just has one last little case to work before he heads off into the sunset- the state vs. Ted Crawford. Representing himself, Crawford insists he wants Willy to work the case. Beachum, seeing that he has a signed confession, accepts with ease but Lt. Nunally warns him that he is up against a very worthy opponent in Crawford.

This film intrigued me and excited me. Hopkins' acting is superb as always. Gosling does excellent as well. I wouldn't mind seeing these guys have another film together as they seem to work well off one another. If you are a fan of either of the actors along with legal thrillers, this is definitely a film you will enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.