Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great how-to book
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:39 Mins
There are probably no other books around that covers composition with emphasis on storytelling as well as Framed Ink. This is a whole book devoted to the subject, as compared to other books (on storyboards) that usually have only one or two chapters.

Although the illustrated examples are mainly movie composition, the techniques can be...
Published on October 2, 2010 by Parka

versus
8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book of cliches. Mediocre, no depth, no new insight.
Whenever you watch a movie and have that feeling of déjà vu, when the lame movie you're watching reminds you of that other lame movie you saw that other time, it's because they are using the clichés found in this book. Clichés are craft without thought and what they produce is mindless entertainment, see Clash of the Titans remake. It's...
Published 16 months ago by A. Navarro


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great how-to book, October 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
Length:: 0:39 Mins

There are probably no other books around that covers composition with emphasis on storytelling as well as Framed Ink. This is a whole book devoted to the subject, as compared to other books (on storyboards) that usually have only one or two chapters.

Although the illustrated examples are mainly movie composition, the techniques can be applied to animation, movies and even graphic novels. Every technique comes with a concise breakdown. You get to understand how and why shots are framed in a certain way, or how to create compositions to create a certain mood. There are also tips on lighting and continuity.

Over 200 beautifully illustrated examples are included. And they are really good examples. Just by looking at the examples alone, without even reading the commentary, you already get a good idea of what's happening.

Marcos Mateu-Mestre has distilled his 20 years of experience and knowledge into an accessible package you shouldn't miss out on.

This is the essential how-to book for storytellers, or for anyone who needs to put images on screen or on paper.

Highly recommended.

-

You can check out more of his work on his website.

-

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Wait!!!, August 26, 2010
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
Just so we're all clear, I am a 20+ year vet working as a designer in the film industry. The author, Marcos Mateu and I are colleagues, and we work together at DreamWorks Animation. Does that mean I'm biased? Absolutely! Because I can tell you that Marcos is one of the best designers working in the film industry today, and this book gives anyone who's lucky (smart) enough to buy it, a glimpse at how he does it.

As for the book, it's one of the best, if not THE best books of it's kind out there. I've been waiting my entire career for a book like this...one that goes into detail about how to tell stories with pictures...one that doesn't just talk about how to draw, but how to think about drawing...one that explains how to create really powerful images, packed with emotion and dynamics...one that actually delivers the goods. And this book delivers!!! Yes, there have been other books on the subject, most of them with lots of abstract theories, and maybe even some good technical information. But they don't have what this one has...Marcos' drawings. Hundreds of them. And they're all to die for!

OK now for the down side: there's a bit of a wait to get the book. From what I understand, due to a printing glitch, there's been some delays getting the books to market. It was available at ComicCon, and Amazon had one shipment, which they sold out of instantly. But fear not, there are more on the way!!!

In other words, do yourself a favor and don't do what the unfortunate reviewer above did and just pass over this book because it's not available TODAY. Buy it now...because it's going to sell out...fast! Then you'll have to pay big bucks for it on eBay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars story and composition, September 16, 2010
By 
Corey D Holcomb-Hockin (Otis Orchards, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
Book is mostly about composition in story boards for movies. Last section deals about comics but is fairly short. The majority of the story board information can apply to comics too.

Content is very good. It deals with setting up composition in an abstract way before adding detail. Information is shown in a easy to understand way. Abstract versions of different shots are shown next to more detailed drawings. Text is easy to understand.

Its the only book on have that connects storytelling and composition. I have some books about fine art composition that deal with some of the same things but most of the information in the books is new to me. It also answered questions I had about applying perspective in ways that fit the composition.

I'd recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, December 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
The book "framed ink" is not a "How-To-Draw" book, rather than a "How-To-See" book. Those of you who search for maticulous step-by-step instructional book for comics and illustrations are recommended to search elsewhere (Burne Hogarth's books would be great for that, in my opinion). This book is all about the fine art of composition. Whether you're an aspiring animator, an experienced comic book artist or whatever - this book, brought by one of the most highly acclaimed artists in film industry (check the preface from Jeffery Katzenberg)is a masterclass in constructing a frame for any illustrative need (storyboard, animation sequence, graphic novel etc.).

You can draw the most beautiful, eye-dazzling imagery and still have no "life" or sense of belivability in your paintings and sequences. Once you get a hold of Mr. Mestre's concepts regarding proper division of a frame, direction and meaning within your composition, you are bound to improve your painting-narrating skills almost immediately.

I will most definitely acquire Marcos Mateau-Mestre's future books, once they're out. If you want to improve your paintings, make them more powerful and meaningful, this book would be a great start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one How to Comics Art book to Own, February 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
Five stars, all the way. As far as a comicbook art books: this is the cream of the crop.

He spends NO time on how you draw and all the time on how you SHOW what you draw. How setting characters up to seem more powerful and central. How to imply character relationship with spacial relationships. How to imply distance and movement. How to hint at many but draw few. How to dynamically frame action. This book really gets into the nitty gritty behind setting up the panel/page to give you the best coverage and easiest read.

His explanation of the 180 degree rule is phenomenal. He lays out some scenes then diagrams the camera moves. If you don't know the 180 degree rule he lays it out perfectly. If you do know the rule he illustrates why it works so well.

The section in the back is specifically for Graphic Novels but EVERYTHING is relevant. In fact the Graphic Novel section might be the least informative part of this book for comics.

I can't recommend this book enough. The amount of behind the panel information he gets you to think through will change the way you think about drawing your comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Teaching Non-Drawers Graphic Thinking, March 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
I teach Graphic Novel Writing, and I the biggest hurdle I have is getting students who are not visual artists to understand framing, lighting, camera angles and lens types (all virtual, of course). Any number of books out there can help you write a graphic novel script, or so they say. A graphic novel, though, begins, IMHO, with the image, the frame, the page, the choice of composition. Most of my students don't think that way. This book is excellent for teaching you, my students, your students, or anybody, how to think on a visual "shot" level. Mauria's examples are lucid, easy to understand, and offer inspiration to anyone trying to create a compelling visual story, be it film (live or animation) or graphic novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One-Stop Composition Shop, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
The best explanation of how composition really works. No more pictures of the golden ratio/spiral overlapping some master's painting cryptically demonstrating good composition. This book doesn't just help comic artists, the concepts apply to any fine art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and Clear, December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
Neat! Very fast and clear approach to the subject. Good for anyone who wants to know a little more about composition. Very solid foundations, good examples. Not very deep though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
every artist should buy this book.

composition is really important for any 2d/3d art and this book explain it really well, the writer really knows composition, the book is instructive and inspiring at same time.

highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check out Marcos Mateu-Mestre's Blog..., April 3, 2012
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
Now, this isn't really a review of the book, but rather the sharing of some pretty fantastic news. Please read on.

First off, awesome book (though I don't own a copy of one myself...yet)! So earlier this year I ordered a copy of 'Framed Ink' from amazon but my order was cancelled about a month or so later after ordering it (actually, it's been about a month now since amazon cancelled the order), because the book had now become out of print (...but not for long).

"Not for long" you might ask? So, has anyone checked out Mateu-Mestre's blog lately? Glad I did. There will be a reprint of the book that'll be coming out around mid-May or so (yes this year). He also has a new book coming out around the same time called: Trail of Steel - 1441 A.D.

Awesome and Awesome.

Thought I'd share the news and the link to his blog. :) Anyway here's his blog:

[...]

So for those that were sad or what have you because 'Framed Ink' is (currently) out of print-rejoice! You will soon have the chance to buy it again so this time around don't let it pass you by! (And hopefully amazon will sell it again at a reasonable price like it did before it went out of print; that and hopefully they'll sell Mateu-Mestre's new book as well!)

And you're welcome (to those of you that don't want to pay ridiculous prices for 'new' and used copies of 'Framed Ink' on this or any other site)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers
Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers by Marco Mateu-Mestre (Paperback - August 31, 2010)
$24.95 $16.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.