Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great how-to book
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:39 Mins
There are probably no other books around that covers composition with emphasis on storytelling as well as Framed Ink. This is a whole book devoted to the subject, as compared to other books (on storyboards) that usually have only one or two chapters.

Although the illustrated examples are mainly movie composition, the techniques can be...
Published on October 2, 2010 by Parka

versus
8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book of cliches. Mediocre, no depth, no new insight.
Whenever you watch a movie and have that feeling of déjà vu, when the lame movie you're watching reminds you of that other lame movie you saw that other time, it's because they are using the clichés found in this book. Clichés are craft without thought and what they produce is mindless entertainment, see Clash of the Titans remake. It's...
Published 19 months ago by A. Navarro


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
This book should be mandatory in design and illustration classes. If you are thinking about working on a project or building a portfolio, put it on hold until you read this book. I guarantee you will go back and revise your project if you have already begun. This is a rare book that examines the thought process of composition and design and relates to psychological aspects which are rarely touched in other school and tutorial curriculum. This book is a great find for those that are serious about education with substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable reference on visual storytelling, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
If you've any interest in learning the craft either for film or sequential art, this is a fantastic guide to beautiful and dynamic style by a master of the form. It is not, however, a how to draw manual. Mateu-Mestre assumes the reader already has a great deal of drawing ability it is instead a guide on how to think critically about visual storytelling, framing and camera movement. Consider it an advanced class but well worth your time if you're a more serious/adept student of the craft. Filmmakers would also, in my opinion benefit a great deal from reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, January 1, 2013
By 
Rogerio Caetano (Juiz de Fora - MG - Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
I bought this by recomendation and didn't regret! A book with a great resources and infos about storyboard and composition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than I Expected, July 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
It took about a month for this book to arrive, but it was well worth the wait. When I flipped through the pages, I was somewhat impressed with the artwork, but not very. A second flip-through (double-take) proved that the book was mostly made up of inking and not a whole lot of text. I began to worry if I'd been duped and wasted my money. What could I possibly learn from a bunch of black and white images with a paragraph or two thrown in? It reminded me of some the art books my university lists as required reading that cost an arm and really don't deliver. I could've gotten more artistic education out of a graphic novel.

However, I finally found the time to sit and actually read it. It is an amazing book. Upon attentive study I realized the inkings weren't somewhat impressive they were incredible. It seems that the author, Mateu--Mestre, has a very minimalist approach to both art and instruction; yet, both his art and his lessons are immensely informative. The lessons are short and oh-so sweet. I learned new things just reading the first few pages because Mateu-Mestre isn't just trying to convey an academic sense of storytelling, but the very spirit of it. And I can tell you that is one of the major issues I have been tackling with my artwork i.e. breathing life into it, creating mood and emotion.

Mateu-Mastre's book is a very good complement to two other books I bought, both by James Gurney - who does take a more academic approach to instruction and whose art is detailed and vibrant. I wish I would've come across these guys when I first began art college.

Marcos Mateu-Mestre has created an excellent learning tool here, especially if you are a novice or mid-level artist. I so highly recommend this book that I would go as far as to say that it is a must have in any artist's library who is interested in narrative art e.g. comics, graphic novels, storyboarding, illustration, concept art, etc...

I also recommend James Gurney's Color and Light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To be better, should be thicker, February 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
This is an excellent, simple, but powerfull book. The autor knows two things:

-What he writes about
-How to comunicate it in the most effective way

So, if you have a seasoned professional in the top of his game, explaining you what is important to know, in a very direct, graphical, easy to understand way....then you have gold...if you pay $17 for it...is a robbery practicaly.

So, get one copy and enjoy.

The only thing i could like more about this book...i would love to pay twice and get twice the pages (with similar quality content of course...is a rather short lecture book since illustrations takes 70% of the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, there needs to be a part two, February 9, 2012
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
this is an amazing book that will show you how to make a "drawing" visually interesting and then how to sequence the drawings so that you get good pacing and flow. i've read hundreds of books on drawing and non of them are as good or as concise as this. this is a must buy, unless you want to stay at an amateur level of visual composition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for sequential art, January 24, 2012
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
The book is laid out in a clear and comfortable style and has really fantastic artwork that's easy to follow. One of my favorite illustration books. It has a large section on compositions that's really great and a little bit on character design, camera lens, ect. Really good for any kind of sequential art, I use it for helping come up with more creative compositions for my storyboards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The theory of composition is explained amazingly well, December 20, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
Probably one of the best books out there explaining the theory of composition. Many books try but most of them fail. Composition and story telling are tough subjects to explain and most books don't explore the subject fully. This book gives many visual examples. All examples are presented in greyscale for a reason, and that's to focus the instruction on simple shapes. My advice for advanced illustrators is to get this book now before it goes out of print...because any art book that appeals to such a select audience rarely gets printed more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One-Stop Composition Shop, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
The best explanation of how composition really works. No more pictures of the golden ratio/spiral overlapping some master's painting cryptically demonstrating good composition. This book doesn't just help comic artists, the concepts apply to any fine art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers (Paperback)
every artist should buy this book.

composition is really important for any 2d/3d art and this book explain it really well, the writer really knows composition, the book is instructive and inspiring at same time.

highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers
Framed Ink: Drawing and Composition for Visual Storytellers by Marco Mateu-Mestre (Paperback - August 31, 2010)
$24.95 $15.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.