Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
  • List Price: $22.95
  • Save: $5.06 (22%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 19 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
The San Francisco Ferry P... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: A well-cared-for item that has seen limited use but remains in great condition. The item is complete, unmarked, and undamaged, but may show some limited signs of wear. Item works perfectly. Pages and dust cover are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine is undamaged.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The San Francisco Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market Cookbook: A Comprehensive Guide to Impeccable Produce Plus 130 Seasonal Recipes Paperback – February 23, 2006

4.7 out of 5 stars 15 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$17.89
$2.71 $0.01

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book
$17.89 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 19 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • The San Francisco Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market Cookbook: A Comprehensive Guide to Impeccable Produce Plus 130 Seasonal Recipes
  • +
  • Cowgirl Creamery Cooks
Total price: $45.09
Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Chronicle Books; 1st edition (February 23, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0811844625
  • ISBN-13: 978-0811844628
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1 x 7.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.6 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #271,155 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I live in the Bay Area, so I was really excited to buy a book that would help me make the most of the embarrassment of local food riches. This book is OK, but I don't use it often, since the majority of the recipes are for sides, soups, or desserts--none of which I generally prepare from a recipe. Also, lots of the recipes are more time-consuming than I can manage on a regular basis. And, though this book does tell you what to do with your armload of kale, it doesn't even mention most of the AMAZING plethora of "ethnic" ingredients that you can get around here, many of them also locally grown or caught, nor does it have many recipes beyond the European/yuppie wholesome farmers' market palette.

What I do like about the book is that it is divided into seasons, and then organized by key ingredient. For each ingredient, there are tips for selecting and storing. Nice photos throughout. I would just like more actual recipes, especially for main dishes.

Bottom line: you might find a few gems in here, but you have to make a point of using this book and making the time for it if you want to get much mileage from it. As for taking advantage of local produce, I've found that the America's Test Kitchen books and magazines, plus a few great cookbooks (Louise Pickford's "Fast & Fresh," a healthy Indian cookbook, etc.) get me into the farmer's market or produce aisle a lot more often than this one does.
Comment 16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
"The San Francisco Ferry Plaza Farmers' Market Cookbook" is filled with fabulous photographs, appetizing recipes and excellent tips about seasonal fruits, vegetables, herbs, meats, cheese, eggs and fish!

Peggy Knickerbocker has done an excellent job at researching seasonal foods and the San Francisco Ferry Plaza Farmers' Market! She is a food and travel writer that has written for Gourmet, Food & Wine, San Francisco Chronicle, Los Angeles Times and Saveur.

Christopher Hirsheimer is a photographer whose work has appeared in Saveur, as well as cookbooks written by Lidia Bastianich, Rick Bayless, Julia Child and Jacques Pepin.

California is a state bursting with flavor. In such a large state, virtually anything can grow there. Kiwifruits, rice, wine, olives, tomatoes, corn, strawberries and much more! The influx of other cultures help infuse their produce and culinary contributions.

Excellent recipes in this book are: Avocado and Grapefruit Salad with Frisee, Fried Zucchini Blossoms, Shaved Raw Asparagus with Lemon Vinaigrette and Roasted Halibut with Braised Artichokes and Potatoes.

This entire book reminds me of my previous life in California where food never tasted fresher. Where ingredients are fresh, recipes are simple, yet the result was sophisticated and intoxicating.

Great book!
Comment 23 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The subtitle's "A Comprehensive Guide to Impeccable Produce Plus Seasonal Recipes", but it's oh-so-much more than that. Filled with recipes culled from dozens of cookbooks, plus personal interviews with favorite farmers and purveyors... a must-have for Bay Area residents and a fantastic gift for anyone who loves San Francisco.
Comment 10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This is a spectalarly colorful cookbook with innovative tasty recipes for items found at a Farmer's Market. I use it all the time. Excellent.
1 Comment 9 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I bought this book to replace a copy that I had that was lost when I moved and it has so many good recipes. My favorite is "Ruth's Grilled Quail" and the reason for that is because the person who provided that recipe was my grandmother Ruth Hoffman who recently passed away. This is a favorite cookbook of mine and I recommend to anyone who wants to know about the Ferry Plaza Market or try recipes provided by the vendors.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I go to the Ferry Building on a fairly regular basis. This cookbook makes you feel like you are right smack dab in the middle of the ferry building even when you are not. Just tried the strawberry jam recipe - it's fabulous. All the recipes I have tried have been fantastic. I like to give this cookbook as a housewarming gift along with a few tea towels. Even if you are not a cook, the pictures in this book are awesome.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I love going to the Farmers Market in SF on Saturdays. This wonderful book provides plenty of tips of what to buy each season, with fabulous suggestions on how to prepare a variety of items, as well as informative tidbits about some favorite vendors. Excellent!!
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is an excellent source book for fresh food recipes in the Bay Area. Plus some family friends are in it (the Webers, of Della Fattoria in Petaluma, CA). Highly recommend this interesting and different cookbook.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The San Francisco Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market Cookbook: A Comprehensive Guide to Impeccable Produce Plus 130 Seasonal Recipes
This item: The San Francisco Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market Cookbook: A Comprehensive Guide to Impeccable Produce Plus 130 Seasonal Recipes
Price: $17.89
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: chayote seeds, add coats