Trade in your item
Get a $9.96
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Frank Gehry: The Houses Hardcover – October 22, 2009


Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$42.95 $25.50

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Fall Project Resources in Crafts, Hobbies & Home
Preserve fruits and vegetables, redecorate the home, or start a crafts project with help from books in the Fall Inspiration store.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Rizzoli; 1St Edition edition (October 22, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0847830608
  • ISBN-13: 978-0847830602
  • Product Dimensions: 12.3 x 10.1 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #201,345 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

The first book of the seminal residential works of Frank Gehry, from his earliest architectural ideas to today.

"Fans of Frank Gehry, FAIA—as well as anyone who primarily thinks of him as an institutional architect—will savor this unorthodox new book... By including homeowners' and collaborators' voices, Friedman provides a rich and candid look inside 23 of the starchitect's startlingly original midcareer houses." ~Residential Architect Online

About the Author

Frank Gehry has received widespread recognition for his work, including the Pritzker Prize, and many awards from the American Institute of Architects. Mildred Friedman is the editor of Rizzoli’s The Architecture of Frank Gehry (1986) and Gehry Talks: Architecture + Process (1999). Sylvia Lavin is professor of architectural history and theory at UCLA, where she was chairperson from 1996 to 2006.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Old Saratoga Books on March 27, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Gehry's a world-class architect renowned for his curvilinear buildings
and splashy, dramatic museums and concert halls. Early in his career
he designed many private one and two-family residences, and it is
these smaller projects that are the subject of Friedman's book.

The author does not merely produce plans, photos and analysis of these
residential works, but includes interviews with homeowners (including
the maestro architect himself about his ideas for his own house) and
Gehry's associate, Greg Walsh. One gains insight into how Gehry would
envision and change his architectural ideas and experiments with
various materials during construction. The projects sometimes
involved quite ordinary building materials, like chain link fencing,
asphalt shingles and plywood, used as decorative elements, and it is
intriguing to read how homeowners react to Gehry's design and
materials suggestions before and after their implementation.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Judith Kristen West on January 23, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book about Frank Gehry was a Christmas gift to a dear old friend who is a great admirer of the man. Well, I cannot tell you how thrilled and overjoyed he was to receive this amazing book!
Well-written, perfectly detailed, and beautifully presented... what more could you ask for!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?