Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Frank Gehry in Pop-Up
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Thank you Scientist Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
20
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 26, 2008
This book was very difficult to purchase. I pre-ordered it with Amazon but it never came. I tried to find it elsewhere and was not successful for about a year. When I finally received my copy I was extremely disappointed in the book. The pop-up pages of Gehry's great shiny structures are produced in gray and they lack the reflective quality that the architect's buildings have. The publisher should have found a way of creating those pages using a silver metallic paper which would have given them the flavor of Gehry's work. What a missed opportunity. I wrote to the publisher suggesting that they produce a deluxe edition as I outlined but never got a response. This book made me sad.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2009
its an ok pop-up book although the "pop-ups"leave much to be desired. I realize some of gehry's work can be difficult to animate as a pop up, but it almost seems just a cursory vision of his work.
Too much text v.s. actual built work in my opinion.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2008
FRANK GEHRY IN POP-UP provides extraordinary 3-D creations through paper engineering that is outstanding: architectural marvels in pop-up replica accompanied by commentary on structure's history, design and construction. From colorful photos discussing Gehry's contributions to the extraordinary pop-ups themselves, FRANK GEHRY IN POP-UP is a unique achievement perfect for pop-up book fans.

Diane C. Donovan
California Bookwatch
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2010
A pop-up book for adults isn't something you come across every day but "Frank Gehry in Pop-Up" achieves its basic mission of adding perspective to some of the famed architect's masterpieces.

Five of Gehry's works: the Guggenheim museum in Bilbao, Spain, the Norton House in Venice Beach, Calif., the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, Experience Music Project in Seattle and The New Customhouse, in Dusseldorf, Germany are shown here.

The pop-ups are accompanied by several colorful photos, a history of each building, and rich design and construction details. The text traces Gehry's career as each project establishes its own identity. Anyone interested in architectural details or knowing more about the architect will find this book helpful.

But the pop-ups seem to get in the way. Several of them snagged on their various pieces and had to be untangled to stand upright. More important, they just didn't seem all that enlightening. Part of the problem may be that the sites are complex: they aren't just a matter of a tower or a building with the usual corners. Most of the multiple pieces and angles of Gehry's works just don't seem to work well in this presentation, except for a couple of smaller pop-ups accompanying the main artwork depicting Experience Music Project.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
Gave 2 of them away to the King & Queen of Armeinius, that wore Frank Gehry-style royalty costumes. They loved the book more than any other gift that they received.nice pop-ups! A great talk-piece book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2013
Nothing against the book itself - it is exactly what it is advertised as - but I think the reason it wasn't a 5 star has to do with Gehry himself. It is just hard to contain something like this in a small format. My son commented that we just need to go see the places up close and he is right. This is a great way to get the feeling for the architecture though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2009
My wife has been practicing architecture for over twenty years and she loved it. How often do you find a pop-up book for adults? Informative and fun. It gets more use than the other three hundred books on architecture lining our shelves.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2009
My daughter was thrilled with this book and she is an architect. I thought it was much smaller, but is more coffee table sized. A great value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2009
A GREAT FUN 'INTRO' INTO THE AWE-INSPIRING WORK OF FRANK GEHRY. WHILE NOT A COMPLETE CATALOGUE OF GEHRY'S WORK THE BOOK SHOWS SEVERAL OF HIS MAJOR BUILDINGS IN A BEAUTIFUL POP-UP FORMAT THAT IS BOTH FUN AND EDUCATIONAL WITH SUFFICIENT WRITTEN TEXT TO GIVE A NICE UNDERSTANDING OF THESE ARCHITECTURAL WONDERS. A MUST-HAVE FOR ANY GEHRY FAN. THE BOOK IS LARGE AND BEAUTIFULLY DONE AND WOULD DO ANY COFFEE TABLE PROUD... WOULD HAVE LOVED TO HAVE HAD MORE 'GEHRY POP-UPS' INCLUDED BUT CERTAINLY ENJOY THE BOOK AS IS...AM DEFINITELY READY FOR THE NEXT GEHRY 'POP UP' FEATURING MORE SELECTED WORKS SUCH AS THE TEAM DISNEYLAND ADMINISTRATION BLDNG,A 330,000-SQUARE FOOT BEAUTY IN YELLOW AND STAINLESS STEEL.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2011
This was a gift for my sister - I think it was one of her favorite one. Gehry fans will love it. Popups well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.