Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A B-Movie Extravaganza Featuring Plenty Of Gore, Macabre Humor, And A Terrific Array Of Monsters
When you're going to make a movie and call it "Frankenstein's Army," you'd better be willing to serve up something that lives up to the title! Director Richard Raaphorst draws from the real life experimentation conducted by Nazi scientists to create a movie that goes bat guano crazy with the idea. And I mean that as a huge compliment. The film may not have an intricate...
Published 10 months ago by K. Harris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not So Many Scares For Horror: Not So Much Blood For Slasher: A Perfect B Movie Experience
This is the kind of film that half stars should be around to honor. True, this is a low budget film, and they do try to do a lot for cheap and don't always get the biggest bang. But that is the mystique of B Films: the mesh of different ideas, even genres, in the attempt to make something new and amazing. While this isn't the most earth shaking of films, it does...
Published 4 months ago by cardking_01


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A B-Movie Extravaganza Featuring Plenty Of Gore, Macabre Humor, And A Terrific Array Of Monsters, August 30, 2013
When you're going to make a movie and call it "Frankenstein's Army," you'd better be willing to serve up something that lives up to the title! Director Richard Raaphorst draws from the real life experimentation conducted by Nazi scientists to create a movie that goes bat guano crazy with the idea. And I mean that as a huge compliment. The film may not have an intricate plot or complex characterizations, but I doubt anyone approaching "Frankenstein's Army" is expecting a thoughtful drama. What it does present is an elaborate and macabre world of engineered monsters that are both scary and funny. It is like a vision of steampunk technology combined with biological carnage, and it makes this film a visceral sensation. The movie combines over-the-top acting, unsettling visuals, and deranged humor to create something that feels startlingly fresh. Perhaps this isn't a great movie, but I admire the thought and creativity that went behind these fantastic monsters. And at the end of the day, if you fall for these creations than you'll get swept up into the experience. If you don't like the "army," you won't like the movie. Simple as that.

The film employs the increasingly tiring "found footage" style of filmmaking, meaning that one of the characters is holding the camera that records the action. Although this is a less expensive way to shoot a movie, it can become problematic when the camera needs to film a sequence where it doesn't make sense for the character to stand there and do so. Surprisingly, "Frankenstein's Army" actually handles this tricky technique quite well. The film is a historical document following a band of Russian soldiers as they traverse across German territory in World War II. Because the footage is supposed to be older and shot on a handheld apparatus, the movie has a choppy and old time film feeling that serves the piece well. As the movie opens, we get a brief introduction to the soldiers but no one is really distinguished with any clarity. Responding to a Russian distress signal and with their radio blocked, they get to a desolate camp that will hold many unpleasant surprises.

At this point, hidden agendas are revealed and a mad scientist and his unearthly creations are discovered. It may have taken a little long to get to this point, but now the action starts to kick in. As our motley crew of soldiers fight an strange array of unexpected foe, the film has plenty of gore, a few quite scary encounters, and a firm sense of the preposterous. Ultimately, we will meet Dr Frankenstein and he is played with demented glee by Karel Roden. While much of the picture can be horrifying, the final scenes are wickedly funny instead. I thought the movie looked like fun and it is. If you go in with moderate expectations, this B-movie extravaganza serves up plenty of twisted delights. As I said, "Frankenstein's Army" may not have the most sophisticated plot line but it scores where it counts the most! The monsters are great, scary, funny, and (most of all) memorable. KGHarris, 8/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gloriously traumatized and talking to myself for 10 minutes..., October 5, 2013
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army (DVD)
I just now got up off of my couch to come and write this. After watching Frankenstein's Army, I lay on my couch and stared at my ceiling and talked out loud to myself at intervals, every minute or so..
I've watched hundreds of horror films. Believe me, i have seen so many; Indie, 80's, The French films (which have a knack for disturbing me so after "Inside" i said no more, LOL) and 'some' Hollywood flicks. I have an affinity for the 70's where heavy atmosphere and suspense was a staple of that era in horror movies, e.g; "Magic", "Death dream" and "Black Christmas". You see, Im not the teenager i once was, growing up in the 80's, so i cant handle aimless, plotless brutality and graphic violence any more, although the 80's stuff had suspense and plot as well as gore. Yes I might be a bit weak nowadays as far as what i can stomach and enjoy, thats why i wouldn't watch the Human Centipede or even a film like Martyrs, even if the latter is said to be very good. Im not judging these films I just get PTS very easily, BUT, this was not the case for this flick, the savage happenings here, served a purpose, which is to draw you into this insane world..
Frankensteins Army was one of those brilliant nightmares that kept my heart beating hard beneath my ribcage as if i had just smoked a joint of "too-powerful weed" all to myself in one sitting.
The monsters were nightmares. Creeping, clanking, crushing metal nightmares.. Jesus. The camera view of the film was key, it definitely puts you into that chaos, too damned real. The violence was there, but aside from mine-carts and rooms of thousands of body parts, it wasn't so graphic that it became overwhelming. It was those horrific images of Frankenstein's monsters, experiments and utterly bizarre and intimidating creations that stay with you, long after the film ends.
Well acted, well filmed, brilliant creatures and effects, and a claustrophobic, maze-crazed thrill ride that had me laying on my couch talking to myself for 10 minutes saying "WTF..???"
Who really cares if it was unrealistic that they had a "hi-def" camera in the 1940's.. Is that really a major issue for people in some cases? After 15 minutes i couldn't have cared what kind of camera the Russian soldier held..
Frankensteins Army was a snowball turning into a huge ice boulder, that never stopped. What a superb effort this was. Once again I am deeply traumatized. Damn it. I gotta watch Abbot and Costello or something just to relax.

P.S. This really might be all you need to watch for Halloween. My goodness...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Makeup FX! No computer cartoons here!, July 26, 2013
By 
G. Greeson (Oakley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are a true fan of Practical Effects and Gore you will enjoy this film. I enjoyed seeing all of the different creations. It feels like you are along for the ride through a psychotic house of horrors! The first 20 minutes or so are slower, but it gets crazy after that. Watch it if you want a fun, disturbing, bloody, good time like they used to make in the 1980's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I don't do acid anymore..., September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
WOW! Every once in a while a movie comes along that afterwards I kinda wonder "did I really just see what I think I saw?". This was one of those movies. As a horror fan who grew up in the 60's and 70's I remember what films were like before all the CGI technologies came about and this movie is a great example of how to make a freaky and entertaining movie the old fashioned way. This is horror at it's best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally Decent Movie, March 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought that this movie looked really cool from the trailers, and it was. My only wish was that there were more monsters! The ones that were in the movie were pretty cool but I just wanted more! It's also pretty awesome how there are no CG effects...it's all real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of imagination here, August 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love monster movies so went into this feeling excited. It was a lot of fun . Not really scary but had moments that jolted and the monster creations were just fantastic. The director captured the insanity of this well insane situation and did a great job.Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Found Footage Freakshow!, April 17, 2014
By 
Rock~N~Rolla (Detroit Rock City, Michigan) - See all my reviews
If you are in the mood for a "Found Footage" freakshow then look no further because Frankenstein's Army is here!

In this nightmarish creepy little flick set during WWII, a Russian battalion of soldiers on a mission behind enemy lines in Germany stumble upon a workshop of unimaginable horrors and find themseves having to fight for their lives against a gruesome onslaught of bizarre creatures comprised of part man and part machine. As the soldiers try to find out the secret of who could be behind these abominable creations from hell they soon discover more than they ever bargained for.

Frankenstein's Army is one seriously sick, demented, movie that will have you jumping out of your chair one minute and nervously giggling the next. Featuring great gorey practical "real" effects, no CGI here, impressive sets and locations, and a bevy of bizarre monsters. This movie will take you on a rollercoaster ride through madness and beyond.

Warning: If shaky camera footage makes you queasy then stay far away from this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Frankenstein's grandson unleashes hell!, November 16, 2013
Very fun film. I was caught off guard by some of the practical effects and creature designs, just because it's been so long since I've seen them in a newer film!

The only real issue I had with this movie is the characters; none of them are particularly likable or memorable even though they're very well acted. Except for good ol Dr. Frankenstein of course, who is gloriously over-the-top and an evil madman, like he should be. His creations of course steal the show; they're not particularly scary, but they are menacing and have very sharp things attached to them and they're quite imaginative too, sometimes in ridiculous ways.

The most underrated aspect of this movie is how it establishes a dreary atmosphere from the start and really uses the environs as a character in itself. This makes the fact the filmmakers chose practical effects over CGI and really got creative with the creature designs even better. I really can't recommend watching this movie enough.

Also, for more Frankenstein "building creatures to take over the world" goodness, I recommend reading Dean Koontz's Frankenstein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's fun and the monsters are worth the watch!, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Though I'm not particularly a fan of found-footage movies, this one kept it period (WW2) accurate, and made sense for the plot. Though what really sucked me in, and the main factor I'm buying this on DVD when it releases: the MONSTERS! The creature design and costuming is TOP NOTCH! No CGI bull or easy way out effects. These guys really put their heart and soul into the production, and IT SHOWS! You can't find that kind of determination and love in films very often anymore, and it's a shame. But with Frankenstein's Army, it's a fun all-practical creature costuming extravaganza!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay With It, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Don't give up despite a slow first half. There is so much imagination and craziness in the second half that you'll be grinning with satisfaction knowing you just saw Frankenstein go steam punk. Then invite your friends over to watch it with you and watch their reaction. I saw this when it was in the Midnight competition at Tribeca - and had the chance to meet the filmmakers, the actors, even the Doctor. Just terrific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Frankenstein's Army
Frankenstein's Army by Richard Raaphorst (DVD - 2013)
$27.98 $12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.