Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful!
A well written book. I think it's going to be very helpful for me on an upcoming trip to Frankfurt. I'm not sure how "untouristy" the info is, but there are tons of helpful links and some handy information on getting around.
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 148 pages? Really? Not!
What a complete rip off...

There is very little information... Most of the book is filled with simple German sentences and their translations (each page of those contain less than 100 words)... Then there are pages filled with links (many that don't even take you where they are supposed to)... Yep 10 links per page.

This so called book is nothing...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 148 pages? Really? Not!, September 4, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What a complete rip off...

There is very little information... Most of the book is filled with simple German sentences and their translations (each page of those contain less than 100 words)... Then there are pages filled with links (many that don't even take you where they are supposed to)... Yep 10 links per page.

This so called book is nothing more than a cut and paste job of phrases, a small section of hotels and restaurants and a few links.

Terrible... and definitely not an "UN-Tourist" guide by anyone's definition... You are better off just searching the web yourself.

The author should be ashamed of himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A minimalist guide book, April 28, 2012
By 
Aaron C. Brown (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankfurt for the Un-Tourist!: The Ultimate Travel Guide for the Person Who Wants to See More than the Average Tourist (Paperback)
If the title led you to expect information about Frankfurt that you would not find in other guidebooks, you will be disappointed. This book contains abbreviated versions of the standard information. I found it handy on my Kindle, and the price is fair, but the information content is about the same as the stuff on a rack of brochures free in my hotel lobby.

There are lists of hotels, restaurants, museums and other places in Frankfurt, with one-sentence taglines like this one for Wiesenau 1: "A delectable selection of steaks and meats, served with a smile." Buffalo Steakhouse gets: "The only thing better than a delicious steak is a delicious sauce to accompany it, both of which you will find here." There's no information here other than the fact there are both steak places. There are no bad reviews, or indeed anything to distinguish one restaurant from other. All the steak place reviews sound the same, as do all the Italian reviews, all the German reviews and so on. There is no information about hours, telephone numbers, reservations or credit card policies, kid-friendliness, accessibility; anything but the type of food served.

More than half the book is a list of phrases translated into German. It does not concentrate on things actually useful for a traveler, or indeed anyone else. What occasion outside of a language class do you have to say "I have cold feet," (no indication of whether the German translation is literal or idiomatic) or "Have you ever made a cruise" (the English versions do not appear to have been written by a native speaker, but are all intelligible). There is a pronunciation section, but no phonetic information about the phrases, and no coverage of German alphabet letters that are not used in English.

Overall, it is a stripped down version of a standard guidebook whose main virtue is that it is short so it's easy to find stuff on a Kindle (and I assume the physical version is easy to slip into a pocket).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money., May 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frankfurt for the Un-Tourist!: The Ultimate Travel Guide for the Person Who Wants to See More than the Average Tourist (Paperback)
Not much information to be attained from this book. One hour wasted reading this thing, that I'll never get back. The local library now has a new book in its catalog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, May 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frankfurt for the Un-Tourist!: The Ultimate Travel Guide for the Person Who Wants to See More than the Average Tourist (Paperback)
This isn't so much a guidebook as an 8.5x11 book of printouts from different websites. Half of the book is devoted to German/English translations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frankfurt for the Un-Tourist!: The Ultimate Travel Guide for the Person Who Wants to See More than the Average Tourist (Paperback)
Not worth buying or taking the time to review. I was expecting some insights, history, do not miss see sites. Instead there was references to websites that you can find with any google search.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful!, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A well written book. I think it's going to be very helpful for me on an upcoming trip to Frankfurt. I'm not sure how "untouristy" the info is, but there are tons of helpful links and some handy information on getting around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.