Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback May4th



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 25, 2008
Frankie & Annette MGM Movie Legends Collection (Beach Blanket Bingo / How to Stuff a Wild Bikini / Beach Party / Bikini Beach / Fireball 500 / Thunder Alley / Muscle Beach Party / Ski Party)
I am a disabled man in his 60s but for a couple of hours, while watching these films, I am young again in the 60s. Once again I feel the excitement I felt and for a few minutes dreamed the dreams I had back then. I would give anything if a time warp suddenly transported m back to those carefree days.
55 comments|110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2007
These are the 4 Midnite Movie Double Features of AIP Beach Party films that were released a few years back. I enjoy being able to sit back and watch the surf nonsense. Eric Von Zipper is king. Shame they don't run these as afternoon flicks in the summer on WLVI in Boston. Also a shame they didn't create a double feature of Pajama Party and Dr. Goldfoot and the Bikini Machine.

MGM fixed How to Stuff a Wild Bikini. The original double feature release (with Beach Blanket Bingo) claimed it was a Scope transfer, but it turned out to be the pan and scan. Luckily the folks in quality control have put the Scope verion on this flipper. Enjoy the full version of Annette hiding her baby belly.
22 comments|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2007
These were my altime favorite movies to watch as a kid growing up. I always watched them on the Million Dollar Movie or Saturday Afternoon Matinee etc. What's more fun than Annette, Frankie and VonZipper romping around. Good clean fun. What's funny is how I remember the guys looked so vintage back in the 80's & 90's, now they'd fit right in today stylewise. The girls have the big hair to overcome, lol. Classic stuff.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2011
I love this compilation of Frankie & Annette movies because it brings me back to a simplier times. I love the innocence of the characeters and the times. I think baby boomers would love it.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2007
The movies ARE all in widescreen on dvd, BUT not all in 16:9 anamorphic widescreen, optimized for widescreen tv's. The movies "Bikini Beach" and "How To Stuff A Wild Bikini" are only 4:3 letterboxed widescreen, also not so good for a widescreen tv, unfortunately... But this is correct described on the case. The other movies are in good and crisp quality on dvd - better as the tv versions.

I missed the movie "Pajama Party". Why is this movie not in this collection?

Finally a fine collection, but the missed movie and the inconsequence with the 16:9 anamorphic widescreen optimizing brings one star to remove.
44 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2008
I Love these movies! They are silly, filled with young pretty girls in bikini's, a weak story line and God I'm old! They make me smile and full of clean fun.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2011
I loved these movies when I was a teenager and I still do. Brought back a lot of memories. My grandkids like them now and we can even let the young ones watch them. Glad I bought them.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2007
Just to let all potential buyers of this set know.This set is NOT entirely widescreen/letterbox.
It says the entire set is letterboxed/widescreen:
1.On the Amazon website
2.On the back outer cover of the set box
3.On the slipcase covers(inside)
4.And it is stamped on each DVD!!
The bad apple in the bunch is "How to Stuff a Wild Bikini".Specifically the DVD starts with the familiar box that this movie has been "formatted to fit your screen"....uh-oh.The credits then roll and they are letterboxed.....whew!!
But then the movie rolls......FULLSCREEN!!
I unfortunately have had to return my copy for just this reason.I can see Amazon not realizing this but MGM has to take the fall for this,plain and simply.Either a mistake at the factory OR a deception....you choose.
88 comments|89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
THESE MOVIES HAVE VERY LITTLE SUBSTANCE BUT A WHOLE LOT OF FUN AND THE MUSIC IS GREAT. I GREW UP WITH THESE MOVIES, ACTORS, AND MUSICIANS. PURCHASING THEM IN THIS GROUP GAVE ME LOTS TO LAUGH AT AND GREAT LOVE SONGS TO LISTEN TO. YOU CAN'T BEAT IT. THE YOUNG MIGHT NOT FIND ANYTHING TO THESE MOVIES, BUT THOSE OF US WITH HISTORY WILL HAVE FUN WITH THEM.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon March 28, 2011
Travel back to a more innocent time, the early 1960's when "fun" meant meeting your friends on the beach for a wiener-roast and jiving to the latest hit 45' on your portable record player. Frankie Avalon and Annette Funicello personified the image of the sunny, wholesome California beach-set in their series of BEACH PARTY films, cranked out in quick succession by American International Pictures between 1963-66.

The original BEACH PARTY was an unexpected drive-in smash, starring teen heartthrobs Frankie and Annette as Frankie and Dolores, who head down to the coast for a summer of swingin' and surfin', only to have their romantic getaway spoiled by Frankie's loud-mouthed friends who have decided to tag along. When a stuffy, whiskered anthropologist (Bob Cummings) and his assistant Marianne (Dorothy Malone) decide to study the teens' partying habits, they end up with more than they bargained for when Professor Sutwell becomes a pawn in Dolores' game to get Frankie jealous and propose to her!

The sequels are all mildly charming - the best of the bunch has always been the delightful BEACH BLANKET BINGO, which most fans single out as their favourite. Added to the winning Annette/Frankie musical mix is a pre-"Dynasty" Linda Evans as an airborne singing sensation called Sugar Kane, plus red-headed vixen Deborah Walley out to steal Frankie; and Marta Kristen playing a mermaid. Donna Loren belts out her classic "It Only Hurts When I Cry" as she roasts a charred wiener over the fireplace - that's symbolism for ya.

The BEACH PARTY films also provided steady employment for some of the 'Golden Age' Hollywood stars when, shall we say, the offers of good acting roles were no longer forthcoming. Keep your eyes peeled for the likes of Boris Karloff, Mickey Rooney, and most frequently Buster Keaton (usually accompanied by curvy cutie Bobbi "Ya, Ya" Shaw as his Swedish assistant).

Not officially part of the BEACH PARTY arc, but an attempt by AIP to get their stars into another franchise, the racecar-themed FIREBALL 500 and THUNDER ALLEY are notable in their attempts to inject a bit of realistic "grit" into Frankie Avalon; and Annette fans will appreciate her more mature screen personality.

This boxset is recommended because it's the only way to purchase MUSCLE BEACH PARTY and SKI PARTY (MGM's original double feature DVD is now out-of-print and commanding ridiculously high prices). SKI PARTY is more of a showcase for Frankie Avalon and Dwayne Hickman, with Deborah Walley and Yvonne Craig ("Batgirl") as their girlfriends. Annette is reduced to a mere uncredited cameo appearance as a Sex Ed teacher.

Each disc holds two movies (one on each side); extras are limited to the occasional trailer. It should be noted however that this box doesn't have the complete BEACH PARTY collection. "Pajama Party" (which is more of a starring vehicle for Annette who romances a martian played by her old Disney co-star Tommy Kirk, with Frankie in a small cameo role); and the later "Ghost in the Invisible Bikini" and "Sergeant Dead Head" sadly aren't included.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse