Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Movie Is Better The Second Time Around
Thre are a lot of things to like about this movie. The supporting actors to a person are perfectly cast. It's hard not to believe that the director just took over a Greek greasy spoon in New York and used its employees. You can literally smell the grease as the short-order cooks scramble the eggs and bacon. And you can feel the loneliness in the pit of your stomach as...
Published on July 24, 2004 by H. F. Corbin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love me some Frankie and Johnny; it's just everyone else I don't like...
My wife saw this movie years ago, and absolutely hated it. She found it boring and sleep inducing and so when I decided to rent it she was highly apposed. In the end, I wound up watching this all by my lonesome and I must say that I am on the fence at the moment.

I love so much and then again, there is this unsavory taste on my tongue.

The film is...
Published on June 7, 2012 by Andrew Ellington


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Movie Is Better The Second Time Around, July 24, 2004
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Thre are a lot of things to like about this movie. The supporting actors to a person are perfectly cast. It's hard not to believe that the director just took over a Greek greasy spoon in New York and used its employees. You can literally smell the grease as the short-order cooks scramble the eggs and bacon. And you can feel the loneliness in the pit of your stomach as these characters go home to their less-than-fine apartments. They are the people Barbara Ehrenreich writes about in NICKEL AND DIMED. Robert Frost would say they have nothing to look backward to with pride and nothing to look forward to with hope. Paul McCartney would call them Eleanor Rigby. Many of them will never rise about their minimum wage-plus tips jobs; yet they show a resilence and endurance and manage to find laughter in their dismal jobs that is heart-warming.

This film has as good a portrayal of gay characters as you are likely to see. Terrence McNally has created here two, believable, likeable gay men who act like real people. There is a quite funny scene when Al Pacino meets the gay couple for the first time and makes all the usual mistakes though well-intentioned-- he didn't realize, you would never know, he just found out that his cousin is gay-- to which Nathan Lane quips that he will check the cousin out in the new listings.

This movie says that a short-order cook (Al Pacino) recently released from prison can find happiness with a waitress (Michelle Pfeiffer) with broken dreams. That may be a tall challenge, but most of us would like to believe in that possibility. It's all about starting over, taking a chance, tearing down the walls that separate most of us from each other and taking a chance on love.

Michelle Pfeiffer cleans up well and is almost too pretty to be a down-and-out waitress. But then, nobody's perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pfeiffer and Pacino, May 25, 2005
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny (DVD)
This is one of the lesser known and appreciated screen gems of the 90's. It's a superior romantic-comedy-drama which stars screen legend Al Pacino and screen goddess Michelle Pfeiffer. The movie is so much more about the love story. It is a very perceptive movie about people who are lonely and people who are trapped into their own lives. The movie has an achingly melancholic mood.

The casting of Michelle Pfeiffer was controversial at that time because the original role on Broadway was played by Kathy Bates and a lot of people think Pfeiffer was too beautiful for the role. Bates reportedly laughed when she learned hat Pfeiffer got the role. Granted that the reason Pfeifer probably got the role was because at that time she was at the height of her popularity, she was the "it" girl then. But Pfeiffer was phenomenal and proved that she deserved the part. Her beauty was toned down to make her look as ordinary as possible. The character she played has so much depth and layer that is pretty uncommon for films generally regarded as romance films.

Pacino of course was good, this is his and Pfeiffer's second team up after Scarface of course I love the fact that he played the role with such ease and charm which is a lot different from his more serious roles before. The supporting actors Nathan Lane and Kate Nelligan stole some scenes

Of all the movies of Pfeiffer this is one of my all time favorites together with Fabulous Baker Boys, Married to the Mob, One Fine Day, and Batman Returns to name a few. I whole-heartedly recommend this film.

Grade: A-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-see movie with Passion and Romance!, September 9, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Al Pacino and Michelle Pfeiffer have wonderful chemistry! Pacino plays Johnny, an ex con who just happens to have gotten out of jail. Pfeiffer plays Frankie, a waitress with a really bad romantic history. Johnny meets Frankie when he applies for the short-order cook position at the diner, owned and run by Hector Elizondo's character. Instantly, he has a crush on her but Frankie rebuffs his advances. The two have remarkable chemistry...and there are some funny scenes that will make you laugh as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite of all time., January 15, 2002
By 
M. Dalrymple (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie means so much to me. The script, the acting, the directing-- it all comes together with a great story to offer up some really amazing moments. It captures the intrinsic quality of loneliness, the fear of being close to someone, the courage to be true to yourself. Al Pacino's character is almost creepy, and the elegant Michelle Pfeiffer is, believe it or not, downright dowdy. Even on the fifth viewing, I found myself feeling embarassed (alone in the room), my heart aching, and my idealism & hope returned to me.
For those of you who want a storyline: Al Pacino is an ex-con on his first post-prison employment. Michelle Pfeiffer is the main character, a waitress who catches his eye, and he persues her. But he's kind of creepy, and she has that post heartbreak love of being alone, so she rejects him. And so he persues her more, showing more of his creepy touchy-feely idealistic self, and a bunch of stuff happens, and they live happily ever after. It is a romantic drama, after all. Many funny moments, and an excellent cast-- early classic work for Nathan Lane in here as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great, overlooked gem, November 26, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny (DVD)
This is one of my favorite movies. Like other reviewers, I didn't see it until it went to TV. I caught it on WPIX one afternoon and have since rented it many times. Pacino and Pfeiffer are wonderful as the two protagonists, one who is out of just out of prison and looking for a better life and the other in a prison of her own making, disillusioned with her life and afraid to try again. The bedroom scene is sensual and sensitive without being graphic or predictable. Hector Elizondo, Kate Nelligan and Nathan Lane play their parts with panache and help create a wonderous world out of a seedy, rundown diner and neighborhood. If you're in the mood for a romantic comedy-drama, this is the movie to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Sweet, September 20, 2000
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I was channel surfing, and all of a sudden I see Michelle Pfeiffer, so I figure, "I may as well watch this". I am a great admirer of Michelle Pfeiffer and her work, and i thought that this movie was very sweet and sentimental. Michelle Pfeiffer (Frankie) is a waitress who isn't a very bright and cheery person. She has been burned by boyfriends in the past, and is very edgy about ever getting into a situation where she might be hurt again. Al Pacino (Johnny), has just been released from Prison, and is looking to start anew. He moves to NYC, and gets a job as a short order cook in a small greek diner, coincedentally, where Frankie slaves. He is the new guy, and is also the nice, but lonley guy. Johnny hits on Frankie in a touching and funny way, but she refuses to date him. Eventually, she and Johnny do get together, and Frankie tells all about how she was beaten, and oooh, you can find out the rest 4 yourselves. But the ending is touching, and both actors give very good performances. Very sweet, reccomened to the sentimental person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, relatable movie., March 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a story about lonely people constantly coming into contact with other people, but never really connecting. Everyone can relate to this movie! Al Pacino is fabulous, and you really feel like you're looking into another persons apartment window watching the events inside. This feeling correlates into the story as Frankie(Pfeiffer) stares out her window eyeing her neighbors going about their daily life. One man takes off his toupee, another couple eats dinner silently. This movie is wonderful, and the characters in it are strong, lonely, and loveable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We LOVE this movie!, February 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny (DVD)
My husband and I love this movie because of its unabashed romanticism --- and the clair de lune piece at the end. in fact, we loved it so much, we used clair de lune at our wedding 8 years ago. al pacino is lovable and earnest and perserving; michelle pfieffer (nothing can cover up such gorgeousness)is touching and sad and funny; nathan lane is hysterical;hector elizando is lovable; kate nelligan is just perfect; loved the rest of the cast. it's a dear story (don't need to repeat it here) about hope and taking chances and getting on with the rest of your life. i like to think that frankie and johnnie made it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoy listening to Debussy ..., July 2, 2008
By 
Chris (Sunnyvale, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny (DVD)
I absolutely love watching this movie even tough it has some painful moments. The story line is believable and the chemistry between Al Pacino and Michelle Pfeiffer is simply fantastic with their love making a real turn on. Even the restaurant scenes make me hungry. And how can you not enjoy Nathan Lane?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You gotta love this one, July 10, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Frankie & Johnny [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I believe that every woman, including myself, can relate to this type of relatinship. You believe that keeping to yourself is better than getting hurt. In reality we all want to be loved. That the time and effort he (Pacino) puts into trying to get her (Pfeiffer), to come around to his way of thinking, make him, and his qualities more desireable. Everyone wants to find that Mr./Ms. right. We all want to be loved and wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Frankie & Johnny
Frankie & Johnny by Garry Marshall
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.