Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Franklin's Christmas Gift, December 14, 1999
As a mother of three small children, I love all of the Franklin series books. This book was particularly poignant at this time of year when children get focussed on the recieving part of their holidays. It lead us into a discussion about giving and how that can feel just as wonderful as getting. After that, my children were actually eager to participate in donating toys to our local church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming Franklin Christmas Story, February 10, 2006
By 
George Buttner "Agent0042" (Dayton, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
In "Franklin's Christmas Gift," Mr. Owl tells Franklin and his classmates that they should pick out a toy to donate to the school toy drive. Franklin gets home, but can't seem to find anything he wants to give away except an old, rusty truck. But when he starts to see what everyone else is bringing and learns how important it is, he reconsiders.

Another great "Franklin" story about sharing what you have to make others happy. Featuring the same sort of warm illustrations as other books in this series and a neat character --- Franklin's Great Aunt Harriet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gift of Giving!, December 14, 2010
Any book- children or otherwise- that stresses the importance of giving is definitely worth reading!
In this holiday seasoned book, Christmas is approaching and the students in Franklin the Turtle's class are donating gifts for families and children who do not have any. Franklin has three days to choose a toy of his own to donate but is having a hard time choosing. His friends seem eager to give and are picking out appropriate toys while Franklin feels comfortable only giving away one of his old, rusty, broken trucks. Obviously, this will not do, a lesson Franklin learns when he shows up to school and sees the collection of almost new toys with which his friends are willing to part.
By the end of the book, Franklin comes to terms with what it means to give and on his own, without any undue pressure, he chooses a gift that is both cherished and almost new. He also makes a gift of his own for his favorite aunt and realizes that the act of giving the gift feels as good, if not better, than receiving a gift.
As far as style, content, and reading level, this is a your typical worthwhile Franklin book. Little attention is given to Christmas with regards to Santa, reindeer, vacation, etc, in this book. Instead, the focus is on giving and the joy it brings.
An excellent Christmas read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Book, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Franklin's Christmas Gift (Classic Franklin Stories) (Kindle Edition)
It has nice, colored pictures and my small children really like this book. We enjoyed reading it together this Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book!, December 24, 2012
This review is from: Franklin's Christmas Gift (Classic Franklin Stories) (Kindle Edition)
As a parent I loved the theme of thinking of others at Christmas. My child loves Franklin so as a gift this was awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re-release of a Classic, February 4, 2012
By 
Glenajo (Rockwall, TX) - See all my reviews
Franklin's Christmas Gift is the re-release of a classic from the enduring Franklin series by Paulette Bourgeois. At Franklin's school, Franklin's teacher, Mr. Owl, tells the students to begin thinking about what they will bring to donate to the classroom toy drive for needy children and the excitement begins. When Franklin goes through his own toys, everything seems too special to give away, but after receiving a gift from his aunt, Franklin realizes that nothing is special enough. After much thought, Franklin settles on a gift and in the process learns much about giving.

Franklin's Christmas Giftt is an excellent addition to the Franklin series. The students relate to the familiar stories and the beautiful illustrations. Christmas Gift helps students understand the joy of giving, using well-known characters. Pre-K through second graders will enjoy this addition to Franklin.

Received Galley from NetGalley.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Lesson for Kids, January 26, 2012
This is a wonderful Christmas story. I love how Franklin faces a dilemma. He needs to pick out one of his precious toys to give to another child for Christmas. His class is taking donations for less fortunate children.

Franklin learns a lesson on charity and not being selfish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Inspiration!, January 25, 2012
What a sweet reminder to all children this holiday, that no matter what we have it's still more than what others have. A terrific reminder for our children - and us - of the unselfishness of Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it immensely, January 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Reading Franklin's Christmas to my son, made him realize that he is fortunate enough to donate some of his unused toys to the poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Christmas Story to Give and Get, December 19, 2011
Franklin loved Christmas. He could name all of Santa's reindeer. He could ties ribbons into bows and play "Silent Night" on his recorder. Franklin liked to give presents and receive them. But this year he couldn't decide what to give to the Christmas toy drive.

Each year, Mr. Owl's class donates new and gently toys for needy families. This year, Franklin cannot decide what to give. The only toy he will part with is his more than gently used truck. Franklin has three more days to donate. The next day he receives a gift from his Great Aunt Harriet, who knows how to give special gifts. Excited over the present, Franklin forgets all about a gift for the toy drive. On the eve of the third and final day, Franklin's Great Aunt visits. Finally, Franklin gets to open her gift. Franklin's time with his aunt inspires him take action.

Franklin's Christmas Gift is an inspiring story of love, giving, caring, and sharing. Children will learn the true meaning of Christmas - giving is better than receiving. Franklin found that his gift to Great Aunt Harriet gave him as much joy as it gave her. This is so true, especially this time of year. Picking out that one-of-a-kind gift, then watching the recipient open it, can be exhilarating. That feeling is the cause of cries heard in every home with a child. "Open mine! Open mine!"

The illustrations are Christmas bright; happy and joyful hues of green, red, blue, gold, and other sparkly colors. The drawings are cute. The words are an inspiration. I liked the tone of giving and the uncertainty Franklin shows in not wanting to part with any of his treasures. The items that we have, the things we collect, become more important than people do. We cannot part with any of our stuff, sometimes even when that thing has out lived its usefulness. Christmas is a good time to put those priorities in order. Franklin does just that, and it will instill the gift of giving in those who read Franklin's Christmas Gift.

Note: received from netgalley, courtesy of the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.