Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Deradoorian $5 Off Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Shop Popular Services gotS5 gotS5 gotS5  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Metal Gear Solid 5 Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation STEM Toys & Games
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Franz Schubert: Orchestrated
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Franz Schubert: Orchestrated

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, May 30, 1995
"Please retry"
$84.38 $7.98

1. Sonata In C Major, D. 812, 'Grand Duo': Allegro moderato
2. Sonata In C Major, D. 812, 'Grand Duo': Andante
3. Sonata In C Major, D. 812, 'Grand Duo': Scherzo - Trio
4. Sonata In C Major, D. 812, 'Grand Duo': Finale - Allegro moderato
5. Fantasia In F Minor, D. 940: Allegro molto moderato - Allegro vivace
6. Six German Dances, D. 820

Product Details

  • Orchestra: American Symphony Orchestra
  • Conductor: Leon Botstein
  • Composer: Schubert, Joachim, Mottl, Webern
  • Audio CD (May 30, 1995)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Koch International Classics
  • ASIN: B000001SIF
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #289,453 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By J. R. Trtek on October 22, 2012
I very much enjoy listening to piano transcriptions of orchestral works or, more often, orchestrations of chamber or solo instrumental pieces. Some renditions, such as Ravel's orchestration of Mussorgsky's Night on Bare Mountain and of his own (Ravel's) piano works are now heard more often than the originals. A few others, such as Schoenberg's orchestration of the first Brahms Piano Concerto, get played or recorded now and then. Anyway, this disc has music of Schubert originally for composed for piano. The largest chunk is devoted to an orchestration of the Grand Duo Sonata, D.812, by the 19th Century violinist Joseph Joachim. It starts out well, sounding very Schubertian, but to my ears begins to drag a bit after a while, and by middle my interest has largely evaporated. I think the reason for the failure is that the music itself doesn't seem to lend itself to interpretation by a full orchestra in the first place, and then Joachim doesn't seem to have the orchestration skills to make it interesting. On the other hand, the second work on the program is Felix Mottl's energetic arrangement of two movements from the Fantasia in F minor, D. 940, for piano four-hands. Here the original music and Mottl's treatment of it play off one another quite well -- it's too bad, perhaps, that he didn't try to orchestrate the entire work. Mottl's fine 18 minutes almost make up for Joachim's largely wasted 39. Bringing up the rear of this release is Anton von Webern's orchestration of Schubert's Six German Dances, D. 820, for solo piano. These seven minutes end the disc with relative softness, and Webern's arrangements are in the spirit of Schubert, with perhaps the slightest of 20th Century flavor. My final verdict on this disc is mixed.Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category