Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Show Goes On...
This year represented the last year in Frasier's then-unprecedented and still-unequalled five-year Emmy streak for best comedic series. Although it's not quite the equal of its predecessor season, if only because the show never produced a funnier episode than "Ham Radio", this season comes darned close with "The Ski Lodge", which has the main characters changing scenery...
Published on April 2, 2005 by Adam Dukovich

versus
25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Paramount, shame on you! Great show, chintzy DVDs
What nerve Paramount has. The company has so little regard for the consumer. What could have been a great set is merely average. NO extras of any kind on this set. NO deleted scenes. NO bloopers. NO interviews with the actors or creators. NO commentary. What DO we get? ADS! Crass commercialism has spoiled the legacy of Frasier, a show that so many people worked so hard...
Published on June 16, 2005 by Mac in NYC


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Show Goes On..., April 2, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frasier: Season 5 (DVD)
This year represented the last year in Frasier's then-unprecedented and still-unequalled five-year Emmy streak for best comedic series. Although it's not quite the equal of its predecessor season, if only because the show never produced a funnier episode than "Ham Radio", this season comes darned close with "The Ski Lodge", which has the main characters changing scenery to a remote snow-packed location and finding love--just not with the people they wanted. The show's farcical humor is played here superlatively, with great result. The season also brings the final resolution to the Niles-Maris Marriage, in "The Maris Counselor", and it is resolved, of course, in the most embarassing way possible. The romantic unluckiness continued with Martin's breakup with Sherry, and the unfortunate exit of Marsha Mason from her Emmy-nominated role. Finally, the season ends with Frasier losing his job to Latino musicians. All in all, this season brought great tribulation to all the characters, but their misery translated into plenty of laughs.

I hope that this time around, Paramount includes at least some special features in the Frasier DVD set. Since I can't get Frasier on TV where I live, I'll probably end up buying it anyway, but I would really appreciate something more. Regardless, Frasier is a comic gem, and its fifth season is great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Season--annoying situation with ads, June 7, 2005
By 
This review is from: Frasier: Season 5 (DVD)
Season five is clever, warm, and funny. I'm so glad it's been released. My husband I excitedly put in the first disk. We were forced to sit through a long ad for Happy Days, and the disk is set up so the viewer cannot fast forward or jump to the main menu. We shrugged and waited.

Following the long ad for Happy Days were ads for Laverne and Shirley, Mork and Mindy, McGyver, Charmed, and if you can believe it . . . The Brady Bunch. These are not brief missives, and you cannot fast forward. We were stunned and more than a little annoyed.

My advice is to leave the TV off, and put the disk in the DVD player at least ten minutes before you're ready to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated, witty, and hilarious..., April 20, 2005
This review is from: Frasier: Season 5 (DVD)
Along with Friends and Seinfeld, Kelsey Grammer's Cheers spin-off, Frasier, dominated the prime time television landscape during the 1990's. Grammer plays the role of Dr. Frasier Crane who, fresh off of his divorce from Lilith, moves back to his hometown of Seattle where he lands a gig as a radio psychiatrist. Frasier's father, Marty Crane (John Mahoney), a Seattle cop recently shot in an attempted convenience store robbery is in need of physical therapy. Frasier and his brother Niles (David Hyde Pierce) make an effort to mend their relationship with Marty whose plaid shirts and penchant for sports and beer strikes a dramatic contrast with their wine club, opera house culture. After a little prodding, Marty and his dog Eddie (Moose) move into Frasier's upscale apartment, and Frasier hires Daphne Moon (Jane Leeves), a housekeeper and physical therapist to look after the two cranes.

The entirety of the show takes place in mostly three places - Frasier's radio station where he works with show producer Roz Doyle (Peri Gilpin), Frasier's apartment, and the favorite hangout of Niles and Frasier, Café Nervosa. A witty comedic exploration of the nation's clash of cultures (also illustrated by Frasier's run-ins with sports guy Bob "Bulldog" Briscoe), Frasier stands alone as one of the best-written shows in television history. Not a single episode can be considered a dud.

The Frasier (Season 5) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere "Frasier's Imaginary Friend" in which Frasier returns to Seattle from Acapulco where he enjoyed a blissful affair with a supermodel zoologist who, for personal reasons, asks him to keep their relationship a secret. But constant near-miss run-ins between Frasier's family and the woman lead them to question whether Frasier is involved in a relationship at all. Exasperated, he spills the beans - an action with profoundly negative consequences... Other notable episodes from Season 5 include "My Fair Frasier" in which Frasier finds himself as "the woman" in a relationship with a hard-nosed defense attorney, and "The Ski Lodge" in which the Crane family, Daphne, and her friend take a weekend trip to a ski lodge where romantic misunderstandings abound...

Below is a list of episodes included on the Frasier (Season 5) DVD:

Episode 97 (Frasier's Imaginary Friend)

Episode 98 (The Gift Horse)

Episode 99 (Halloween)

Episode 100 (The Kid)

Episode 101 (The 1000th Show)

Episode 102 (Voyage of the Damned)

Episode 103 (My Fair Frasier)

Episode 104 (Desperately Seeking Closure)

Episode 105 (Perspectives on Christmas)

Episode 106 (Where Every Bloke Knows Your Name)

Episode 107 (Ain't Nobody's Business If I Do)

Episode 108 (The Zoo Story)

Episode 109 (The Maris Counselor)

Episode 110 (The Ski Lodge)

Episode 111 (Room Service)

Episode 112 (Beware of Greeks)

Episode 113 (The Perfect Guy)

Episode 114 (Bad Dog)

Episode 115 (Frasier Gotta Have It)

Episode 116 (First Date)

Episode 117 (Roz and the Schnoz)

Episode 118 (The Life of the Party)

Episode 119 (Party, Party)

Episode 120 (Sweet Dreams)

The DVD Report
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No extras, but so what? The show's the thing., June 25, 2005
This review is from: Frasier: Season 5 (DVD)
No extras. Fine. Okay. There are ELEVEN seasons of this show. I doubt there are enough bonus materials in the vaults to pile a bunch into each of eleven season sets (assuming they plan on releasing all or most of them), so be patient. I'm sure we'll get some goodies eventually.

Season Five still has the writing in full comic swing. The season opens with an episode featuring Sela Ward (hubba hubba!), and if that doesn't get your season started on the right foot then nothing will.

Two of the biggest laughs I've ever gotten watching "Frasier" over the years came in Season Five, in particular the episode where Niles sleeps with Lilith ("Room Service") and the following episode where Frasier's cousin is to marry ("Beware of Greeks").

In "Room Service" the big laugh for me came from a simple line-reading: the room service waiter says "Okay" to Frasier's insistence that he might rekindle his relationship with his ex-wife, while unbeknownst to him (but known to the waiter) Niles is hiding in the bathroom. The actor nailed the line so beautifully.

In "Beware of Greeks", Frasier simply says "And we're back!" following a loopy non-sequitor by Daphne. Grammer nails the line. Big belly laughs all around!

The episode that always gets discussed in Season Five is "The Ski Lodge", a comedy of errors Blake Edwards would be proud to have orchestrated for one of his films. That episode is very funny, but still takes a back seat to "The First Date", the episode where Niles comes closest yet to asking Daphne out on a date. While it is not quite the same kind of humor that is in "The Ski Lodge", the "First Date" episode is both funny and tender. That is a hard line to walk successfully in a 22-minute script.

Late in the season, a pregnant Roz first meets the paternal grandparents of her unborn baby. The writer of that episode really had a nose for sniffing out the cheap laughs without being mean-spirited.

Don't know when Season Six will arrive, but I'm already ready for it. Season Six may be the first "Frasier" season to NOT win a "Best Comedy Series" Emmy award, but I hardly think that qualifies as a failure.

If you are collecting these season sets, or merely considering it, don't pass this one over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Paramount, shame on you! Great show, chintzy DVDs, June 16, 2005
By 
Mac in NYC (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frasier: Season 5 (DVD)
What nerve Paramount has. The company has so little regard for the consumer. What could have been a great set is merely average. NO extras of any kind on this set. NO deleted scenes. NO bloopers. NO interviews with the actors or creators. NO commentary. What DO we get? ADS! Crass commercialism has spoiled the legacy of Frasier, a show that so many people worked so hard on. The Seinfeld fans get extras galore. Seinfeld Season 4 has 13 HOURS of exclusive special features! We loyal Frasier stalwarts get nothing. This fan is very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The End of the Streak, March 30, 2006
By 
John P Bernat (Kingsport, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frasier: Season 5 (DVD)
The fifth season is quite good, really. It does not hit the heights established by Season 3, but there are some wonderful moments here.

"The 1000th Show" places us in Seattle, at a number of easy-to-recognize locations. It is a little contrived, but great to see the city's special places.

"Bad Dog" is a favorite of mine. The DVD lets you slow down the first "take" of the incident involving Bulldog, and see whether Frasier's instant analysis of the attempted holdup was accurate. It actually is...

"The Ski Lodge" is a favorite of many, but not my favorite. I like the Three Stooges, and I like Frasier, but I don't think they mix that well.

My personal favorite, actually, is "First Date." I don't want to spoil it by telling too much of the plot; it is "Frasier" at the show's best, though.

You'll enjoy it! And you CAN Fast Forward through the previews - you just have to use the fast scan button, not the jump button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Completely Fabulous Season...Am I Right?, June 10, 2005
By 
This review is from: Frasier: Season 5 (DVD)
Winner of five straight Emmys for Best Comedy, "Frasier" caps off that remarkable run with this collection of 24 shows highlighting the cast at the top of their game. In my opinion, only the second season tops this one for sheer entertainment.

From the first episode "Frasier's Imaginary Friend", everyone is in perfect form, especially Kelsey Grammer as he takes his character to new highs & lows all in one show.

Personal favorites include "Voyage of the Damned", where our happy cast gets stuck on a cruise ship. "Perspectives on Christmas" is done in a Rashamon-ish style where Martin, Daphne, Niles, & Roz tell four different versions of what happened to them. "Room Service" features the return of Lilith (a sexy Bebe Neuworth) who beds down with a Crane, just not the one she expecting. "Bad Dog" has Bulldog (a never better Dan Butler) becoming a city-wide hero for something he didn't do.

And the ribald "Frasier Gotta Have It" in which Frasier & his new girlfriend have only one thing in common, so naturally Frasier has to ruin it. This episode has one of the best reactions by David Hyde-Pierce when Daphne tells the story about her rooftop trist.

The standout episode is "Ski Lodge", a contrived but perfectly executed farce where the cast spends an eventful evening trying to get into each other's pants...well, everyone save Martin and a very dissapointed...well, you'll just have to watch to find out.

My personal favorite is "Beware of Greeks", a riotus episode with Frasier going up against his Aunt Zora, played with absolute charm and malevolence by Patty LuPone (who also did the voice of "Pam" in the first season episode "Dinner at Eight".

Although Roz's pregnancy seemed a bit forced at the time, I think it actually worked out pretty well. Having said that, it does become tiresome to hear Roz remind us in virtually every episode she's in that's she's expecting. Also, the bizzare episode "Sweet Dreams" leads to the entire KACL gang getting canned in favor of a new format. This represented a major shift of direction for the show that left myself yearning for the "good ol days".

Extras:
Sadly, there are no extras in this set either (as with Season 4), only the very annoying commercials for other DVD sets that appear at the beginning of disc one (you can skip through the commercials using your chapter advance button).

Once again, I am forced to dock one star from my review because of the presentation of the DVD itself. Why "Frasier", the champaign of sitcoms gets the Kentucky Deluxe treatment is beyond me, especially when compared to the Seinfeld DVD sets.

Overall, I highly recommend this collection as one of the most hilarious 24 episodes you'll ever see. If you're a fan, you gotta buy this today.

Tidbits:

- You probably knew that the episode "The 1000th Show" is also the 100th episode of "Frasier". But what's even more interesting is that the stinger, in which Kelsey Grammer sings the "Tossed Salad & Scrambled Eggs" theme live on stage is the first time we actually SEE him sing the theme in the show's history.

- "Beware of Greeks" features previously unseen members of Frasier's family, particularly Walt, Martin's brother. However, in the first season episode "Author Author", Martin declared that he never had a brother.

- Also featured in "Beware of Greeks" is a man with a camcorder named "Eddie". Interestingly enough, Martin's dog "Eddie" is not in this episode.

- "Sweet Dreams" is the first episode where Kelsey Grammer does NOT sing the theme song "Tossed Salad & Scrambled Eggs". Plus, it's sung in Spanish (appropriately enough) which is again interesting because Frasier is fluent in Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still funny after five series, January 5, 2007
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frasier: Season 5 (DVD)
Series 5 is not my absolute favourite, but it is still very funny and contains some classic episodes.

In 'Halloween', Niles gives a fancy dress party at his posh new apartment, and Roz discovers she is pregnant. Niles gets the wrong end of the stick and thinks it's Daphen who is pregnant, and proposes to her. In 'Voyage of the Damned' Frasier goes on a cruise to Alaska as a guest speaker and takes Roz, Niles and Martin with him. Then it turns out Maris is one of the other passengers, but she thinks Niles is seeing somebody else. The scene where Frasier, Martina and Roz all end up hiding in Maris's bathroom while Niles is trying to reconcile with her is painfully funny. In 'Zoo Story' FRasier has dumped his unscrupulous agent Bebe for a nice but hopelessly ineffectual man, and Bebe schemes to get him back (naturally she succeeds).

In 'The Maris Counsellor' Niles thinks he and Maris are going to be reconciled, but gets a rude shock when (as he thinks) he climbs into bed with her. 'The ski Lodge' is played like a classic French farce, with everyone running in and out of each other's bedrooms, and all ending up with the wrong person. And STILL Dopey Daphne doesn't realise that Niles is crazy about her! Probably my favourite episode from this series is 'Room Serivce'. Lilith returns to Seattle devestated because her husband has left her for another man, a contractor who was working on their mastre bedroom. "It's ironic, isn't it?" she says to Roz: "No sooner do I get the closet of my dreams than my husband comes out of it." Frasier fears that he may succumb to Lilith's attractions again, but in fact it is Niles who ends up spending the night with her, and the morning after bedroom scene is absolutely hilarious.

There are lows in this series as well as highs, some episodes are too sentimental for my taste, and the obtuseness of Daphen continues to irritate, but overall I would say this DVD is worth every cent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Hilarious!, November 8, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frasier: Season 5 (DVD)
This season of Frasier is the funniest one ever! Especially "The Ski Lodge" and "Beware of Greeks". I am only ten years old but enjoyed this season so much. Roz giving birth to a baby daughter, Alice, was a great plot. Although Niles does not tell Daphne his true feelings for her, I still laughed all the way through the episodes! And Frasier loses his job, too. Plenty of laughs are to come with Frasier, Niles, Daphne, Roz, Martin, and his beloved dog, Eddie! Buy this 24-episode, four-disc collection of Frasier: Season Five! You will absolutely enjoy watching it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plus and Minus, June 13, 2005
By 
Paul Binder (Clermont, Fl USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frasier: Season 5 (DVD)
Thanks again for another season of Frasier. I've watched about half of the episodes so far, and they are great. Its a big plus to be able to have all these episodes in full length to watch over and over again. Will Season 6 be ready for the holidays?

On the minus side...No cast interviews or special features! How about getting some current interviews from the cast reflecting back on certain episodes, thats one reason that I buy a DVD as well. Also, I have to agree with the other fans of Frasier. Enough of the advertisements!! Six ads before you get to the main menu is overkill. Part of the DVD experience is to watch content without all the advertisements. Just a note, you can skip over these by using the chapter fast-forward button on your remote. Despite all that, keep the seasons coming. Frasier is a great show to have on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Frasier: Season 5
Frasier: Season 5 by Sheldon Epps (DVD - 2005)
$29.99 $19.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.